Chevron Left
Volver a Intellectual Humility: Theory

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Intellectual Humility: Theory por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.5
estrellas
298 calificaciones
78 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Principales reseñas

GL

Jun 04, 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT

Jul 01, 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 77 revisiones para Intellectual Humility: Theory

por Kristin H

Apr 26, 2017

For me, this class was a fantastic introduction to the wonderful world of MOOCs! Not only was the content well-delivered and dynamic, with a variety of speakers, short and easily manageable video lectures, great discussion forum topics, and a wealth of optional supplemental materials, but I really appreciated how the experience was organized. As a first time MOOCer, uncertain of how much time I could dedicate to my learning schedule, I appreciated the three level track system that allowed me to allot my time accordingly as desired and able - the mere existence of "Learn," "Engage," and "Go Deeper" tracks reassured me that I could get the required work done, and explore further at my leisure. In fact, I tended to get through all the levels, but I appreciated the opportunity to customize my learning experience.

A great introduction to an important concept, and a superb overview of philosophy, psychology, and sociology - none of which I have studied in depth before. Excellent course for the Beginner all the way to the Advanced student. I have already registered for the follow-ups on Science and Practice, to be launched this summer and fall. Really well done!

por Ian S B

Feb 05, 2020

It was great. I learned a lot about the philosophy and psychology of intellectual humility in a simple and organized way. It could be more in depth, but now it's up to me to keep studying the subject and to take the next two courses on humility. I really appreciated doing it, although i would be better if it counted as credits for university. Anyway, it was my first online course and i surely want to do the other two on intellectual humility and many others. Thanks for the oportunity.

por Brian J

Dec 19, 2017

This is an excellent course. I took it because I know that I am not very intellectually humble, and I would benefit personally from taking it. I found the course very useful in providing definitions for intellectual humility, and descriptions of why it is useful in developing more accurate views of the world by understanding the limitations in my own knowledge, accepting that other people have valuable things to say and understanding the dangers of intellectual arrogance.

por Tomek C

Feb 02, 2017

This course is really well put together. The lectures are easy to follow and explain all points very clearly. I appreciate the supplementary quizzes to help me cement the knowledge from the lectures. The course provides tons of extra resources, so that you can entrench yourself in the learning as much as you like--or you can just follow the lectures to learn the essential. My only recommendation would be to add more in-video questions.

por Evy V

Aug 13, 2020

This should be a part of every college and university curriculum. Well organized presentations. Everything is presented in a simple and concise manner. Being someone who has only taken introductory philosophy and psych courses, I was a little worried that this course might be too advanced for me. I was pleasantly surprised at how accessible the content was. I am recommending this to all of my friends.

por Jose A S

Feb 01, 2018

I have words of recognition and admiration for those scholars who have had the courage to face and teach this subject. What we see in the academia , in the government and in the business and in the press is pride, contempt and arrogance. Many thanks to make this subject available in an honest and humble mode.

por Richard H

May 06, 2020

The lectures all showed some of their personality which made listening more enjoyable and less boring than other courses. The graphics were very effective at conveying and organizing information.I very much enjoyed the additional reading and content and appreciate that you took the time to make it available,

por Luke P

Dec 15, 2016

I found this course to be insightful and fair in it's teachings and understanding of what is a new developmental field of Philosophy. I also believe that much more research should be done into this and that many people could benefit from it and especially this course! Thanks!

por Steffi T

Jul 23, 2020

I have had a wonderful experience learning this course, it has helped me understand and self-evaluate myself better. I have also understood point about myself I need to improve upon as in my personal opinion Intellectual Humility is the utmost need of the hour.

por Hazel O

Oct 02, 2019

This topic is so important and I feel so fortunate to have access to it. It's hard for me to find new learning opportunities relevant to my personal and professional development. This was a very rich intellectual resource for me. Thank you.

por Viktar K

Jul 19, 2020

The course gives a good insight into its topic, the videos are easy to understand even for a layman, and the production quality is the best I've ever seen on this platform. The only downside is that some of the videos are a bit repetitive

por Stefanie H

Dec 30, 2017

thank you so much, this was a wonderful overview over concepts and measures of intellectual humility, useful to me to keep myself on track in the face of peer-pressure. I wish you much success with on-going research, and teaching.

por maria n c s l

Dec 31, 2018

I loved this course, and others. now I'm sad because the coursera has changed platform and I can no longer copy lessons to study later. as I know almost nothing English I copied and then translated to study.

por Gia S L

Jun 04, 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

por Carla T

Jul 01, 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

por Scott M

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

por Joanne M

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

por Antonio B

Jul 04, 2020

Superb course really had to think my way through this one plenty of quizzes to keep you engaged and a self evaluation at the end made it all worthwhile. enjoy.

por Rebecca M

Jul 09, 2018

This was a very helpful introduction to an area I wanted to know more about. I found the lectures enjoyable and the quizzes made sure I was paying attention!

por Muhammad Y

Dec 11, 2016

I have learnt a lot from this course. it has opened my eyes about my own self. it will serve as reformer of my self. I am thankful to the learned faculty.

por Víctor R H M

Nov 07, 2017

It was a very refreshing view on a topic that it is not usually thought about in a philosophical way. It was a clear and constantly engaging course.

por Chinami O

Aug 12, 2019

This course has given me an opportunity to reflect myself as well as others. Highly recommended if you are interested in communication.

por Diego B

Jan 20, 2017

Excelente curso, debemos lograr que cada día sean más los humildes intelectuales, de esa manera cambiaremos nuestro mundo.

por Peter C

Oct 24, 2017

I think this is a course for our time. Given the lack of civil engagement and thoughtful expressions of opinion.

por Calvin J K

Aug 21, 2020

Well-done! Very important course to have for anyone wanting to pursue the academic stream of their career!