Chevron Left
Volver a Intellectual Humility: Theory

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Intellectual Humility: Theory por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.5
estrellas
298 calificaciones
78 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Principales reseñas

GL

Jun 04, 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT

Jul 01, 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 77 revisiones para Intellectual Humility: Theory

por Sabīne

Jan 03, 2017

This course was quite informative and pleasurable. The short format perfectly fit the scope of the topic.

por Sabrina B

Oct 17, 2018

Brilliant course, a plethora of information on offer. Really thought and discussion provoking concepts.

por Darko

Aug 13, 2017

Useful in every aspect.. for a better and creative livning, with the right understanding of yourself.

por Tatiana M

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting and well explained course with nice material and plenty of additional readings.

por Wes D S

Aug 16, 2018

I think I learned a bit that I'll keep with me for a long time. Really enjoyed the course. :)

por Nikki J

Jun 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. I'm going to try and put some of the things I learn in practice.

por Alice J

Feb 16, 2019

Very interesting course, even better if you pair it with the others on Intellectual Humility

por Edi d

Sep 03, 2017

This is one of the most timely courses I have taken. It applies very much to my life.

por Paulo R V P

Dec 23, 2016

Excelente base teórica sobre a humildade intelectual, com aulas, textos e atividades.

por Verónica L R R

Feb 20, 2017

Well explained by all instructors, easy to understand and even entertaining.

por PRAJJWAL D

Jul 13, 2020

Great course for those who want to learn deeply into intellectual humility!

por Felipe A Á O

Aug 21, 2018

a very good introduction to virtue epistemology and cognitive science.

por Narasinga P P

Jul 29, 2020

Fantastic Course. I will complete the Science part also.

Thanks a lot.

por Marilyn S

Sep 06, 2020

awesome learned so much...makes me want to learn more. thank you

por Jay M R

Aug 11, 2019

Great course to get you thinking about your claims to knowledge.

por Pascal D

Jun 26, 2017

great course. enjoyed the videos and of course the material

por Courtney W

Jan 19, 2017

It was my first Coursera class and I liked it very much.

por Jürgen B

Mar 29, 2020

It's a short course, but very well done and worthwhile.

por Derrick J R

Mar 18, 2018

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

por Howard C

Jun 10, 2017

Excellent course to go through and learn from.

por Asif S B

Mar 14, 2017

One of the most important courses in Coursera!

por Mobashir A

Aug 26, 2020

Wonderful approach. Wonderful examples.

por Alma D

Apr 25, 2017

Very interesting and great course!

por Ionut M C

Apr 10, 2019

Great content, enjoyed the talks.

por Roberto R

Jan 14, 2018

thanks,everybody should do it :-)