Chevron Left
Volver a Intellectual Humility: Theory

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Intellectual Humility: Theory por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.5
estrellas
298 calificaciones
78 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Principales reseñas

GL

Jun 04, 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT

Jul 01, 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 77 revisiones para Intellectual Humility: Theory

por Lojain A

Dec 29, 2016

worth every minute of my time!

por Ricardo V

Sep 06, 2020

Outstanding, really very good

por Abdulrahman M

Jan 07, 2019

This is an eye-opening course

por Daniel F

Jun 08, 2020

Un curso muy expectacular

por Mehrdad M

Jun 20, 2017

I learned a lot!

por Tolulope V K

Aug 14, 2017

its top noch

por Vishakha V J

May 24, 2020

Good course

por kerry a

May 24, 2020

loved it

por Oky T S

Dec 11, 2016

Superb !

por DrSHAIK L

Sep 05, 2020

Good

por Sebi K

Mar 15, 2017

The course gives a good basic insight to the topic of intellectual humility although in the beginning it fails a little in telling why intellectual humility is so important. (roughly the message was: "you get along better with other people and yourself")

As the question "what is (intellectual) humility" is more a philosophical question than a practical experience this course cannot provide you with a tool that helps you to be more humble within a few days, to improve your humility and to measure someone elses humility but the course helps you asking yourself the right questions. ("Is social status important to me? Can I accept different opinions?...)

It was my first coursera experience and I am satisfied with it. However, the videos are a bit oldfahsioned in style - if it was intended to give the videos an antique look - well done ;-)

por Carey N

Feb 02, 2019

This was a somewhat difficult and challenging course for me. I felt it was more technical than I expected. I really liked it a lot. This is my first Coursera course so the four stars is more to leave room for future courses that I take that might exceed this one. This was a great course and I would highly recommend it.

por Robert S

Apr 22, 2020

This course was a wonderful change of pace. I really enjoyed taking a look at humanity in a different perspective. It arms you will another way to look at individuals and yourself to understand if you can justify their take on information in regards to looking at subjects with an epistemic view.

por Georgios K

Mar 25, 2017

A very good short course on an important intellectual trait, the intellectual humility. The videos were very informative, and the lecturers did not require a prior knowledge on philosophy or psychology. I managed to complete the course even though I did not have more than 2-3 hours per week.

por Miguel M

Dec 23, 2016

Very interesting subject and well structured course, with good exposition of the subject. Looking forward into Part 2! Knocked one star off (would be half if I could) just because there is some discontinuity between the three sections/speakers and still a couple of rough edges to smooth out.

por Stuart M

May 25, 2020

Topic and course are quite interesting. Lectures are clear and easy to follow, but don't have much spark, so not a five stars.

por Henrique d M

Jun 26, 2017

It is a great course. Looking forward to the next two modules.

por Amy J V A

Aug 07, 2017

first on-line course - enjoyed myself

por Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Hmmm ... the concept was great, and it really is an important aspect of intellectual pursuits in an age of fake news and internet facts (both comments are sarcastic), there must be honest deliberation on such issues. But as a course, it seems lacking in the mature "punch" needed to convey the right concpets to the learner, gets lost sometimes in the mundane aspects. But overall, worth while, just not a spectacular course experience.

por David F

Dec 22, 2016

Some interesting ideas but not entirely convinced by the concept of 'humility' in this context. Is it really any more than simple openness to new ideas and the possibility of being wrong. That is not really 'humble'/ Smacks at times of academic pretension. You need to follow carefully what is being said - not a course to do while doing something else!

por Jason A

Jun 30, 2020

I enjoyed exploring the content behind the course, but the material was a little dense for someone without any type of philosophy background. I was familiar with some of the content due to my psychology education.

por Terry C

Jun 06, 2017

Interesting topic. Reasonable lectures, but poor study aides. Interesting fora and discussion groups.

por Katherine J

Mar 12, 2017

Great Course, but much too fast paced

por Joy S

Feb 19, 2017

rather hard to understand

por Steven G

Dec 15, 2016

Not so inspiring