Chevron Left
Volver a Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Internet of Things: How did we get here? por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

3.9
estrellas
1,005 calificaciones
316 reseña

Acerca del Curso

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Principales reseñas

DR
7 de mar. de 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

FH
28 de mar. de 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 302 revisiones para Internet of Things: How did we get here?

por Victor V

7 de dic. de 2018

Good course, but I reckon the quiz should correspond to the lessons material.

por Maciej W

11 de dic. de 2016

The task not matched to the devices in Poland, not every use iPhones.

por hicas e t

9 de jul. de 2020

COURSE IS VERY INTERESTING BUT ASSIGNMENT CONTENT IS VERY DIFFICULT

por Steve A

9 de abr. de 2016

Fairly good overview of events and technologies leading up to IoT.

por Zied N

8 de nov. de 2015

the questions were too easy in my opinion. everything else is fine

por YANG G

4 de dic. de 2015

内容详实而且深入浅出,基本涉及了网络基础、TCPIP、CS和PS和应用。

课件整体显得短小但精致实用,价格实惠,因此给予四星的评价。

por Jose M V A

2 de nov. de 2016

Good background for non-experts but just an introductory course.

por SHIJU

19 de ago. de 2019

Good course to learn.Upgraded lot of information related to iot

por Muhammad i R

18 de ene. de 2020

Indeed it was a good course, but very less related to IoT.

por Carlos H P

16 de nov. de 2020

Quizzes of Week 1 should follow the content given.

por SFUA

8 de ago. de 2016

NB-IoT is not discussed while getting upto here.

por Han Y

8 de may. de 2019

wonderful course, but weird quiz...

por Abhishek B

8 de oct. de 2015

Good Course for Evolution of IoT

por Susan C

9 de may. de 2020

week 2 module 5 is interesting

por Deryck C

4 de abr. de 2016

Good review of the history.

por Akash N

8 de oct. de 2020

the course was very good

por Suraj B Y

12 de jun. de 2020

Proper info provided

por NALLA V V S D S R

21 de sep. de 2017

this course is good

por GADDE R

10 de nov. de 2016

it's very usefull

por Chetan

22 de jun. de 2017

Interesting!!

por Shailaja S

30 de may. de 2016

very good

por Benjamin Q W X

2 de jun. de 2020

The mid portion is a little disconcerting; module 3 & 4. The lectures in no way corresponded to its quizzes and the questions asked were extremely confusing and difficult. Resorting to Google was really the only option as both lectures and slides were not really providing anything substantial. I spent hours at end trying the quizzes again and again, but to no avail, and even after getting the answer right, some of them did not make any sense. It certainly did not help that an additional 8 hours would have to be wasted just to try again. Overall, I do not recommend this module to those unfamiliar with the History of the Internet.

por Alex M

22 de mar. de 2017

Focused a little too much on telephone history, though some was interesting. Perhaps spread out to other modules as short background material.

Would have preferred history/overview from Internet age with focus on various protocols/technologies that were introduced (IP, TCP, UDP, MQTT, Thread, Bluetooth, Zigbee

Module 6 made up for its more dynamic and more germane presentation. May be make it the 1st module, with other modules going back for a brief historical overview

por Nisha R

9 de mar. de 2018

Questions posted at the end of the module are way out of what's being taught in the course. The starting lecture are like going back in time and reading/learning about people who made difference in the world of networking. I am still not sure, how that helps you gain the strong foundation for IoT. I lost interest in the course the moment the questions went way out of sync with the lectures.

por Lokesh G

10 de sep. de 2016

While the last module of this course is very interesting and kept with the specialization, the first 5 modules are a waste of time for the most part. Why would I want to learn about AT&T for two weeks? The amount of useful concepts introduced in the first 5 modules won't take more than 15 minutes if unnecessary things were removed.