Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Cyber Attacks por parte de New York University

4.7
estrellas
1,974 calificaciones
520 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Principales reseñas

PH
27 de jun. de 2020

Ed is a very engaging instructor and tries to make the content applicable and understandable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is looking for an introduction to the world of cybersecurity!

HI
3 de mar. de 2020

I'm so glad I could complete this course as I look forward to continuing other courses on Cyber attacks. Its been helpful as it gave me the background knowledge as to what is needed in Cyber Security.

Filtrar por:

401 - 425 de 520 revisiones para Introduction to Cyber Attacks

por Liam C

12 de nov. de 2019

Honestly everything was amazing and better than face to face courses I've taken my only reason to remove a star is I was constantly being frustrated that even when I passed a quiz it wouldn't let me see the answers to questions I may have missed, I felt like that was detrimental to my learning experience as I was never able to attain the correct answer to certain quiz questions that I may not have fully understood, the other thing is the final quiz says there are no wrong answers just justifiable yet I was told my answers were wrong over and over again

por Noah Y

8 de mar. de 2018

Prior from taking this course I was learning Python and pen-testing skills using Kali Linux. I am an aspiring cyber security expert who wanted to enhance my perspective on the realm of cyber security. Taking this course not only helped me set a real foundation to the realities of cyber attacks but also helped me gain an understanding of this career field from a business perspective. Great introduction class and I will most likely take the followup course.

por Ramji V

20 de jul. de 2019

One thing I found was the reading materials the papers were quite old. It will be good to have an older paper supplemented by a newer one. This will help us keep us abreast of the latest happenings. Or the course should be title to read that it talks about cyber attacks from historic perpective. Also the quizzes most of the time emphasized on the intricacies of English at times - difference between maybe and always. So difficult to get things right.

por Derek E

24 de jul. de 2019

Overall, a nice course with solid content from diverse sources. The Prof is very engaging. Agree with the other reviews that noted a lack of quality control. Someone from NYU should check forums and fix issues. Final quiz instructions do not match the marking. (Plus the answers are not justified.) Some of the links to resources are broken. Module quizzes are oddly worded at times. Still, worthwhile taking and learned a fair amount.

por Horacio M

11 de sep. de 2018

A really good introductory course.

It covers both the basic "tech" aspects of cybersecurity (worms, trojans, botnets, etc.) and frameworks (CIA models) to map threats-assets then risks.

It sets a fundamental stress on the approach to cybersecurity. Not only on the most advertised aspects, but on the way the industry -CISOs- work -or should work :-)

The instructor does know a ton, and transmits his knowledge quite easily.

por Stanimir S

10 de may. de 2021

Content was quite good and interesting.

There were a few frustrating parts though - more than a few additional reading items were given shorter duration than they would need - 50 min video marked as a 20 min task etc. This overall was interrupting time planning.

A few of the week's quizzes were referencing material only shown in the next week, which made it difficult to answer some of the questions.

por Nick A

3 de jun. de 2018

Great course, It would obviously be much better if it was more exhaustive. Perhaps if there was actual coding that illustrated a patch to basic and outdated bug or security flaw. I enjoyed the paper on the ethics. I plan to use those counter arguments in the future, if I retook this course I would like to see more thoughtful papers like that.

por Heinz D

21 de jul. de 2019

Good intro to the subject. Comprehension questions are built-in and each module ends with a quiz giving instant feedback concerning comprehension. Nevertheless, some of the quiz questions seem to belong to a later module and some of the 'correct' answers are not correct. At the end of the day this course was a good experience for me.

por Brian H

25 de may. de 2020

I am loving this course. however some of the links to further reading do not work for me. i am having to watch ten you tube clips just to make sure i am getting the subject covered . also the reading of books is taking me a lot longer than the time predicted ( a lot longer) but i still am enjoying the course. Thoroughly Absorbing.

por Mark M

9 de ene. de 2018

Excellent start to Cyber Security Methodology. My only criticism is for lack of hands-on practice exercises for conceptual mastery in understanding risk. The course seemed executive level, which is fine...I'm weak in this area. This being said, perhaps it will be explained deeper and more hands-on in the next course.

por RUBEN P B

20 de dic. de 2017

I am very happy with this course. The content and approach is very much what I expected. Ed Amoroso is an excellent communicator.

However, questions were raised in the forum during the course and they were not answered. I would have appreciated more attention from the teaching team.

por Hugh D

8 de jun. de 2020

I love it. Professor Edward is the man. He makes things interesting to the point that I was hoping the course lasted longer. Its really a 4 1/2 star because the case study which is really the meat of the matter came at the end instead of in the third week. Great job nevertheless

por Sumeet J

10 de jun. de 2020

The instructor is really good I hate the reading part sorry but that's the truth and I loved the examples and explanations. Also if possible please add the study material for the Book which is part of this course for free. Will be doing other Courses by the same instructor.

por Deleted A

14 de ene. de 2018

I really like the content however the Quizzes in the latter part of the course were very tricky. It was difficult to select the right answer and I had to retake the quizzes and it felt like the DMV tests where it had a little bit of a subjective nature.

por Rahul S C

26 de jul. de 2020

Good Course.

You won't get bored and the style of teaching is very effective.

You'll get to read papers that are important from the Cyber Security Point of View.

The Instructor will surely change the way you look at Cyber Security and Hacking.

por Lukas M

10 de abr. de 2020

I enjoyed every moment of it and the readings were great. The final test could use some love, as it says that there are no false or right answers (but just "Justifiable" ones) but it does compare the answers to a set of right answers.

por priyam p

4 de ago. de 2018

the course is just an introduction to cyber security ..for those who have no prior knowledge about cyber attacks.It mainly highlights some classical crypt methods and more about the risk of attacks and vulnerabilities.

por Muhammad A A

19 de jul. de 2020

There are few questions (MCQs) in Assignments in each module where language is not clear i.e. the options of question answers does not appear to be matched.

Overall, it is a good introduction to the Cybersecurity.

por Chigozie A

13 de jul. de 2019

This is a very enlightening course outlining various types of cyber attacks and also showing the approach security experts could take to prevent and mitigate the harmful effects of these attacks.

por Noah Z

27 de jul. de 2019

通过这门课程,我了解到了Cyber Security的方方面面。不同于其他课程的直接就开始教导技术细节,Edward博士先让我对于Cyber Security有了一个更高层次的理解。

不足之处在于教授的很多东西其实会根据不同的情境、以及不同人的理解会有结果上的偏差,因此对于这方面思维的锻炼,个人感觉稍显不足。

另外,Amazon中国上没法买到From CIA to APT这本书鸭!

por Hari P S A

17 de abr. de 2020

It was really a cool course to do and it mainly aims to have a brief intro to cyber attacks which happens around us and thanks to Prof.Ed he took the course to another level with his smile

por Robert H

21 de feb. de 2021

In this course you get an understanding of Cyber Attacks. The course is very theoretical, but it lays the foundations for the future courses to deep in the world of cyber security.

por Adrian A

2 de mar. de 2018

There's an issue with the final quiz. The directions indicate a figure to be referenced, but the figure is not available. How can the quiz be properly completed without the figure?

por Shikhar G

29 de nov. de 2019

the course was awesome, it helped me to learn the basics of cybersecurity analysis which as a beginner's mistake thought to be not necessary.

thank you coursera.

por Ken S

18 de jul. de 2020

Many of the test questions rely on semantics so can be very confusing. After passing exam the incorrect answers should be shown with explanation.