Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems por parte de Universidad de Colorado en Boulder

4.6
estrellas
1,059 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Principales reseñas

KS

30 de jul. de 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

PM

5 de nov. de 2020

This course is very basic level and I encourage all the electronics students must take this course. Thank you Timothy Scherr Sir, he explained all the concepts with detailed explanation.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 260 revisiones para Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

por Greg H

18 de dic. de 2022

This was a fun class.  I learned a lot. There was a good mix of lectures and hands-on.  You got a lot of stuff thrown at you in a short period of time.  I really got a great intro to FPGAs. A couple of the problems don’t give the learner a good sense of what exactly is needed.  I probably overthought a couple.  If it is at all possible, use Microsoft Windows rather than Linux.  In my opinion, the course instructions should no longer recommend Linux.  I spent a couple of work days along the way attempting to get Linux to work and gave up.  Linux binaries aren’t provided by the class.  The newest version of Quartus doesn’t have Modelsim.  Modelsim is a 32-bit executable.  You’ll learn that the NIOS II EDS, that you’ll use later, is tightly integrated into an old version of Eclipse that only runs on old versions of Java (that Intel only supports under SUSE 12).  All that aside, I really did enjoy the material. 

por Khalid J

28 de ene. de 2020

This course is very helpful for FPGA learners, engineers, computer scientists, and hardware geeks. You will find everything you need about FPGA conception and architecture. You will learn about how to use Altera Quartus Prime, how to select the best technology based on your projects and assignments, FPGA design and analysis, and many more techniques that will upgrade your domain skills. But this course is not about programming FPGAs using VHDL or VERILOG. I really liked it and the tutor is amazing. Thanks Coursera for such helpful programs.

por Andy K

8 de jun. de 2020

I thought the class was very useful and I am confident I can select the proper device and design for it in Quartus and Qsys. The quizzes during the videos were very effective in keeping my focus on the video and cementing the ideas. Really good pace and level. Some of the books and the demo boards sugested were not used much or not used at all. It took me to the end of the class to get the hang of submitting and grading assignments. The best online class I have had.

por Filip K

17 de may. de 2020

Course is a good introduction.

Knowledge of Boolean algebra is a plus for the first exercises.

The Altera BeMicroMax10 is used as reference in this course.

FPGA dev board is not needed for this course. The suggestion of the Terrasic DE10-lite is a bit misleading, as it's referred to for future courses.

Certain parts of the course are not working as shown in the Quartus II. (bug in 16.1 196 build?)

por Steven K

1 de ago. de 2020

Enjoyed the course and found it useful and challenging. There were a few minor but annoying bugs in the material that should have been fixed long ago, however. Also, it appears as if the forums where students can ask questions are unmonitored, since questions often go unanswered, and the same questions seem to pop up repeatedly.

por Joshua R

12 de ago. de 2019

It was a nice course. But I feel the Designing part could have been taught more slowly so that those who are new to FPGA might understand a little bit better. Regardless, the syllabus was very nice, covering everything. I thank the course instructors also for taking effort to provide such a nice course.

por Jason C

4 de feb. de 2021

This class feels a bit dated in that it doesn't mention Xilinx Zynq. It is also less useful to individuals focused on FPGA platforms other than the Altera platform used in the exercises.

Nevertheless, it is a good class that provides perspective that one might not get elsewhere on the web.

por David G

29 de abr. de 2021

It is a nice course! I did learn lots new things and quizzes and homeworks are properly aligned with the content. Though I don't believe this is an intermediate course, this is more close to an almost beginner course, maybe upgrading it to have more of a challenge would be good :)

por Muhammad S A

21 de jun. de 2020

It was a good one overall as it provided new ways to design and improve on FPGA which is not taught in most undergrad universities. Although, if they made assignments a little engaging and challenging, It will be really good for whoever comes next.

por K S

12 de jun. de 2020

The Course was very good, But Week 3 was only regarding FPGA by various companies. I would rather suggest to limit that two 2 or 3 videos and get some more insights on FPGA in that week. Other than that the course was great. Thank you So much!!

por Artur K

21 de ago. de 2022

Quite a good course, unfortunately, after 5ish years, it's a bit out of date with respect to the tools (course Quartus version 16, current Quartus version 21 - v.16 isn't even available for download anymore on the official website).

por Parker O

10 de abr. de 2021

I think my biggest complaint with this course is need for memorization during the exam. There is a lot of dense information in this course and you will be expected to retain a majority of it to do well on the final.

por Hanming Z

8 de abr. de 2021

Overall pretty good introduction course. The 2nd week survey of products was boring, not particularly useful. The quiz could be better designed to rely less on memorization of what's covered in lecture.

por Ali A

8 de nov. de 2018

The course was great. I learned a lot about FPGA architecture and choosing the right kind of tool for a particular task. The week 2 peer assignment needs a bit of some fixing, but the rest was awesome.

por John S

12 de ago. de 2020

Some procedures through the tutorials in the course are told without explanation, why we use this or why we do that.

But overall this is an amazing course, and I learned a lot from it. Thank you all ❤️

por Karthik P

16 de nov. de 2018

It had been quiet a knowledgeable course with the best aiding CAD tools and elobarate walk-through to work with it. Definitely a good starter into world of FPGA design.

por Mohamed R H

22 de jul. de 2021

Great course for who wants to start FPGA learning. The most effective weeks I have learned from are two and four. I am looking forward to start the second course.

por FARHANA S J

5 de jul. de 2020

Bit harder course, but after finishing it, will surely improve knowledge on FPGA. Have few bugs on graded submission part. Overall great experience.

por Husam k

4 de oct. de 2018

awesome course, hope there would more courses similar to it and if possible it would be great if you provide a step-by-step VHDL programming course

por Thierry

19 de feb. de 2019

Very good introduction to fpga design! I regret recommended hardware is not on the market anymore and some recommended lectures are outdated.

por Kaijun F

27 de dic. de 2017

Good course. Could improve by giving a little bit more background information or project goal of the circuits we build in the course.

por Jasper H

17 de nov. de 2017

Good introduction to FPGA design, programmable logic and use of the Quartus II software. Can't wait for the follow-up modules.

por Dylan L

12 de ene. de 2022

Software versions used in the course are no longer available but there are workarounds to this but they are not documented.

por Kyle H

28 de nov. de 2017

Material is introductory, but thorough. Quizzes had some issues, and the 'correct' answers need to be rechecked carefully.

por Arjun A P

27 de jul. de 2020

Found this course very useful. But the explaination of circuits could be improved as it is a beginners course