Chevron Left
Volver a Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
892 calificaciones
312 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Have you ever wished you knew how to program, but had no idea where to start from? This course will teach you how to program in Scratch, an easy to use visual programming language. More importantly, it will introduce you to the fundamental principles of computing and it will help you think like a software engineer....

Principales revisiones

ED

Apr 05, 2016

the course is what the name says it is, an introduction to programming, great course for any code beginner. Lecturer is doing amazing job and keeping the lectures interesting, easy and understandable.

KD

Sep 20, 2015

I love the way this course is designed! It's a really wonderful breath of fresh air.\n\nScratch is a wonderful tool for understanding programming before jumping into courses in programming languages.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 306 revisiones para Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

por Nicholas Z

Apr 25, 2017

Very good

por Bassem S

Sep 16, 2015

Excellent

por Patrycja K

Sep 14, 2015

Loved it!

por Sebastián S

Sep 09, 2015

Very good

por gabrielle f

Oct 19, 2015

it is ok

por Tamara S

Aug 21, 2015

Exelent!

por Aparna M

Aug 22, 2017

AWESOME

por Hyt G

Nov 13, 2015

great

por Robert B C

Aug 15, 2015

Good

por Afraz G

Sep 19, 2016

Fun

por Deleted A

Jan 11, 2016

E

por Foong Y L

Dec 15, 2015

f

por jarrod j

Sep 18, 2015

i

por mariko

Feb 13, 2016

You will have to make a Scratch account (free) for this course.

Areti is a very clear instructor that explained concepts very well for complete beginners into programming, like myself and I found the course insightful.

1) Presentation - I couldn't help but wonder whether they had a lower target age (teenagers or younger) in mind, which was entertaining at some points but also distracting at other times. // Also, I only realized halfway through the course that it is in fact possible to see what Areti is doing on the Scratch program once the quality of the video is adjusted.

2) Projects/Time Commitment - Going through the lectures and quizzes are not time consuming at all, but the projects (especially the final project) takes a lot of time. It took longer than expected because I felt like much of the practical instructions on how to use Scratch for specific purposes were not provided during the course, leaving me to work by myself.

3) Discussion Forum - When I took the course, the discussion forum was close to being dead (especially compared to some of the other courses that I was taking simultaneously on Coursera). Gerry (mentor) did an amazing job responding to my inquiry, but I noticed that although there were a lot of students talking at the beginning, introducing themselves, there weren't that many discussions concerning the final assignment, making me feel like I was working alone. It would be great if there was more time to work on the final project, and perhaps a way in which students can collaborate and help out others when faced with a bug (ie preliminary project submission and feedback session).

I recommend taking this course, but realistically, you won't be program proficient after 5 weeks. You will, however, learn some basic programming theory, understand how programming works, and learn how to make a fun interactive game on Scratch!

por Ariadne T

Aug 26, 2015

The course was highly informative, entertainingly presented and does not require an unreasonable amount of time to complete. It serves well as an introduction to programming, especially the two course projects, where the peer review system works well. The instructors and mentors show a commitment to helping students and improving the already well-run course. An unusual and welcome feature of this Coursera course is the immediate verification of one's typing. My only criticism is the lack of downloadable written/pdf material related to the course, although students who go on to learn programming languages will likely relearn much of the knowledge they gained here.

por Gregory B

Mar 12, 2016

Great course on introductory computer programming! The video lectures are clear, concise, and well-produced. Quizzes and assignments integrate and reinforce learning objectives well, while still adding new challenges. The fact that Instructor Areti Manataki is gorgeous, very articulate and knowledgeable, and enthusiastic is an added bonus!!

por Yajayra S C

Sep 14, 2015

This is an excellent introduction to programming. The exercises are very dynamic and the tutors did a great job by explaining the program, both in English and Spanish. The bonus interview might seem like extra time but it's totally worth it. The only recommendation for the class is not to rush the exercises after the 3 week. Thank you!

por Magne H B

Oct 20, 2015

This course is pretty fun. Also, despite the perhaps childlike impression one gets of the programming language Scratch, it still resembles other languages in logic and in prinsiple. Towards the end of the course, we saw the same few lines of code in Scratch and Python, and it showed their similarity.

por Jonathan A

May 27, 2018

I have to admit it has been the easiest introduction into coding I have come across so far. i am happy i made this choice. i would have given a five star but i just started and do not know what is ahead. i am sure by the end i would give 10 star rating if possible. And big thanks to Coursera.

por Jadon R

Apr 26, 2017

I enjoyed this course it was fast and easy to do my only complaint is that when you submit your final project it is a little complicated to send but other than that this course is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to learn this skill as well.

por Jeroen B

Mar 28, 2018

Good basic training for non-programmers. Clear instructions, good examples and fun assignments. Pace is somewhat slow, but that's just my personal opinion (as a complete novice in programming); for others it might have been good.

Thanks!

por Susan E N

Sep 13, 2017

I loved it. I learned a lot and the course was easy to follow. The course load was manageable and even though I've never studied anything about coding before, I could do the assignments easily. This is a very good course for beginners.

por Deleted A

Feb 06, 2016

This was a fun course. Helped understands the basics of software development. The lectures were small and that I guess was the best part. A lot of projects helped in really putting all that knowledge into real projects.

por luni

Oct 23, 2015

its a amazing course,very interactive,perfect explanations but is something i have saw,and the linguage isn´t so usefull..but is very nice.i liked

por LUZ E S R

Oct 25, 2016

It's a good way to start in code. But it's just for a program; well still being a good course, funny and you can learn a lot :) thanks