Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Self-Driving Cars por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.8
estrellas
595 calificaciones
112 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Principales revisiones

NP

Sep 23, 2019

Very engrossing and interesting course. This is a very intensive course and requires some work on the assignments and projects and hence makes it very satisfying to learn.

RR

Sep 01, 2019

Great learning experience with a lot of references and nicely designed projects to learn from. Look forward to diving deeper into the complete Self Driving Cars course.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 111 revisiones para Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

por Sreenithi B

Feb 24, 2019

Good explanation. But the problem is, the assignments given are way too advanced and the explanation given in the videos, is not clear enough and sufficient to solve the code given in the ipython notebooks.

por Ruoqi Z

Apr 08, 2019

Feeling it's hard for me because I only have CS background and know nothing about automatic control. The knowledge in slides is not so clear for a totally fresh man.

Suggest firstly get the introduction of robotics and automatic control then take this course.

por Sri S A G D

Mar 28, 2019

This is one the best courses that you can find on coursera. This is an ambitious course that has been launched to compete with the udacity's Self driving cars course (atleast that's how I see it) . The instructors are veterans in the field and they some people from the industry (Zoox, Waymo.. etc) to show the big picture. The courses from week 1-3 gives the theoritical introduction about the hardware, software, architectural and safety requirements. Then from the week 4 you can get your hands dirty with application of physics, mathematics in python. ( I had a hard time here) But you'll it if you love learning. It's where all the domains converge from mechanics to programming. I know programming and I started learning the mathematical and physics concepts from other sources. But be informed that the explanation of mechanical concepts is very low as they assume that you posses them. So, if you don't have you will start learning them in parallel with the course.

If you are serious and if you are ready to take the mental work the take the course. It's worth the money and time. All it needs is your hardwork and attention.

por Lefteris L

Mar 16, 2019

First 3 weeks say about the history, the safety and what is actually a driving plan.

The other 3 weeks go really deep inside physics and mechanical engineering and many people find it hard to follow there, especially if they come from different backgrounds. I come from computer science.

In week 7, they explain the CARLA simulator and they have done a terrific job on that, kudos.

The thing is that through week 4-7, the quizzes and the assignments get really hard and many people say in the forums that find it hard and they needed to be more documented and guidelined, like the Deep Learning Specialization from Andrew Ng, from example.

The course has potential but I think there exists a problem right now when 20-30% of people pass quizzes on the first time. I hope that the team will take that into consideration and edit their resources.

por Anil K K

Jun 16, 2019

​Great learning experience! I learned about longitudinal and lateral control algorithms, self driving car terminology. The best is the practical sessions in CARLA simulator, it gave me opportunity to apply what is being learned. It really gives much satisfaction and confidence about the topic. Yes, I am looking forward to take the next course. I would like to thank the lecturer and Coursera for giving me this great opportunity to be part of this good learning experience.

por Christian G

Feb 04, 2019

clear, easy to follow. I would say that needs to speed up a bit

por Joachim S

Jun 05, 2019

Excellent first course in the specialization. It was everything I hoped it would be. Personally I would have appreciated if the videos have been longer and therefore going more into details. Currently they are more of a fast-paced walk-through. But this is compensated by providing reading materials for each of the the videos (some of which are either behind a paywall or the link is broken - so a cleanup would be a good idea). There is one programming assigment in week 4 to get you started and a final project in week 7. Trying to implement the material from the videos in the final project required me to go back to the slides and comprehend the concepts shown - exactly what I think makes a good programming exercise: not just filling in the blanks but really relatively small block of code that you need to develop on your own. If you ever get stuck the discussion forums should provide you with all the necessary pointers to resolve any issue. After getting the CARLA simulator working it was fascinating to see your code being used to accelerate/steer your car around a given race track. I definitely recommend this course for everyone interested in starting to build up knowledge in the self driving cars arena.

por Alex C L

Aug 10, 2019

Pros: It's overall a very challenging courses. Presented the big picture of this exciting field. Lecture video is concise.

Cons: The material can be structured in a more intuitive way, maybe expand the lecture a little bit, and it'll be really helpful to give one or two simple concrete example every time a new concept or formula was introduced. For me, I need to search all the unfamiliar terms and formulas, and maybe work through a toy example or even write program or plot some data myself in order to understand the material and follow this course.

p.s. I don't have all the prerequisite to take this course (minimal exposure to robotics, can't remember much about physics, I do have machine learning experience, but it is not helpful for this intro course).

por Daniel J N

Jun 02, 2019

Fantastic course! It assumes participants have some background knowledge in control theory. The programming exercises are a bit difficult as there is a lack of documentation. However, passing them depends on getting intuition on tuning parameters, something essential in the real world. The course also includes research papers and publications in supplementary material. Going through this material is really helpful in gaining additional detailed knowledge about the concepts discussed in the lecture videos

Would definitely recommend this course to anyone trying to get into the AV field.

por Farid I

Aug 11, 2019

Great content for an Introduction, it has its challenges. I really liked the merge of different topics, such as physics, mechanics and control, as well as safety standards and architecture. It would be cool to see more interaction of participants in the forums. Some of the topics could be explained in more detail, this is part of the challenges to face. However, when accomplishing the practical assessments, you gain confidence on trying different approaches to solve them and not just "by the book"

por James L

Mar 10, 2019

This class puts emphasis on control model. It leaves lots of space in the final project for you to piece together things that may sound dry in the lectures. You need to figure out how to verify your model and logic in corner cases, and how to tune parameters. All these are indispensable and practical when applying theory to practice - an important skills in engineering. Overall a solid and well structured course. Highly recommended.

por Roger Q

Jul 21, 2019

the materials are presented in a nice way. However, even though it's an introductory class, more programming assignments should be included. In my opinion this should be a more engineering-focused class rather than a theoretical class.

por Ajay P

Jun 18, 2019

The best course to amass knowledge on the basics of self-driving cars.

Would recommend it for everyone who meets the pre-requisites of this course.

por Nigel T

Mar 31, 2019

There is a steep learning curve for beginners, however if you take the time to learn and understand the content, you can succeed in this course.

por shunshunpiao

Feb 13, 2019

Great course! Ilove it and enjoy all these learning and coding procedures.

por SagarSrinivas

Feb 09, 2019

Wow!. Thanks a lot to Coursera for offering. Too Good

por Jochen R

Feb 05, 2019

amazing course, thanks for providing

por REVANTH B

Dec 29, 2019

Why can't all other universities provide such a structured course for their students. This shattered my preconceptions about online courses. The course is as hard as, if not harder than a regular classroom based courses with added flexibility and revision. I hope the governments of countries (especially developing) could provide subsidies or even better, discounts from coursera itself for poor yet talented students there.

por Aref A

Jul 18, 2019

Final project submissions should not be copying final results in a file and submitting it. This way, people can copy final results from somewhere on the internet and pass the course without knowing if they really did the assignment or not. Like this people can not trust the certificate we earn. Generating these yaml files automatically in a grader or something similar is a better way in my opinion.

por Hajdu C

Oct 05, 2019

A great introductory course! It helped me to overview the very basic concepts of self-driving vehicle software architectures. Also, the programming assignments are very relevant and essential for making a vehicle moving in real life. CARLA, which the final assignment is related to, is also a recent simulator aiming for autonomous vehicle development.

por Astik S

Aug 17, 2019

Everything in this course is well arranged and as per the industry standards.

It was fun learning the controller design and implementing it in the final Assignment.

One issue though is there any place to get all the slides together for the future use it will be very helpful thank you.

por Bogdan G

Sep 12, 2019

I gained a lot of useful and interesting know-how by doing this course. Maybe a bit more responsiveness from teaching staff on the forum would be needed and also that some programming tasks are a bit clearer explained.

Apart from that I highly recommend it!

por Davide C

May 06, 2019

I appreciated this course because it explains the basics of autonomous driving, starting from simple concepts as automation level, sensors used, and then going deeply into longitudinal and lateral control for path planning.

por Himanshu B

May 11, 2019

An awesome course with detailed knowledge of the lateral and longitudinal control of a self-driving car along with the mathematics behind. Got to learn about every aspect of a self-driving car engineer.

por Neeraj P

Sep 23, 2019

Very engrossing and interesting course. This is a very intensive course and requires some work on the assignments and projects and hence makes it very satisfying to learn.