Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
1,407 calificaciones
329 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Principales revisiones

DD

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

EK

Sep 19, 2018

CREATE TABLE Review (\n\nrating INT ,\n\nNAME VARCHAR(452) ,\n\nINSERT INTO Review (NAME, RATING) VALUES ('GREAT PROFESSOR CHARLES SEVERANCE',5 );\n\n) ENGINE = GOOD BYE CHARACTER SET = coursera

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 326 revisiones para Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

por Alon D

Sep 16, 2018

While I truly appreciate Dr. Severence's enthusiasm and his lectures on the historical and theoretical background of SQL (e.g., data models), I found this course lacking in a few aspects. The major one being the fact that it contains very little practice and active learning. I would recommend taking Sadie St. Lawrence's course (SQL for Data Science), which is also aimed at beginners but has a number advantages that I will list below. In the case that her lectures come across as confusing at some point (they're a bit faster, and perhaps skip a few of basic introductory points), take both courses - they only take about a day to complete. The main positive points in SQL for Data Science are: (1) Very structured course with downloadable comprehensive slides. (2) No need to download and install a SQL server. (3) The online coding practice is very engaging, but not too hard. (4) The course covers more material than this one in 4 weeks. BTW, If you are not a data scientist you may ignore some of the professional jargon that pops up occasionally (not too often) - it is not central to the course.

por Jorge F P

Apr 14, 2018

The course covers SQL broadly and provides a few notions on how to design and create relational databases and what code to use. The lecturer is great, explains things well and clearly. However, the course's biggest flaw, in my opinion, is that it doesn't really teach how to use SQL. There a few examples on how to create tables and insert data into tables and examples of some, very limited, query commands. But that's it. It never explains the syntax, nor provides a list of commands in a structured way, detailing what they do and how they should be used. Furthermore, the assignments are way too easy. They basically require the learner to repeat what was covered in the lectures, whether the learner understands it or not. Since the lectures cover so little, it would be useful to have challenging assignments that would require a little independent research.

por Shilpa H

Dec 17, 2018

Course is really informative, content and assignments are good

por d k

Oct 17, 2018

The Instructor came down to the level of beginner and started with basics and baby steps (especially getting the MAMP ready) - I would have liked to do a couple of more exercises. I liked it and I will take courses offered by this instructor in future.

por Tao C

Apr 03, 2019

Good to start with SQL, but a bit too easy for practical use.

por Riaz A S

Nov 19, 2018

I am starting today and waiting for Financial Aid i have applied. I am from Pakistani Middles-class family can't afford fees to getting good education from reputable university

por Kwai K H

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

por Zhengtao X

Dec 12, 2018

A good course for start to use MySQL. Cheers! Charles!

por Ajay S

Dec 12, 2018

BEst course i have ever taken about SQL, Instructor explanation is also very good and i like this course

por Umair A

Dec 13, 2018

Great course for beginners. Dr. Chuck is the best.

por Sidra A

Jan 02, 2019

an amazing experience with this course learned a new language which will help boost my career opportunities

por SAYANTA S R

Jan 01, 2019

Good course to learn SQL by hand. I loved it.

por mohammad h

Feb 02, 2019

Teaches basic but very important foundational SQL knowledge.

por Shauvick D

Nov 08, 2018

Nice approach and good setup.

por Connie S

Nov 11, 2018

This is a great course! Just what I was looking for in order to have an understanding of how SQL really works.

por Michelle R

Nov 30, 2018

Loved this course. I helped me to realize it's possible for me to think this way to learn it.

por Behzad K

Jan 10, 2019

A very Amazing course. Just Loved it!!!

por dao n

Jan 22, 2019

Absolutely fanstatic, the instructor is very funy and has a charm. You can under the concept behind many many relationships

por David S

Jan 25, 2019

Great course. Excellent instructor

por Amit V

Feb 09, 2019

A well presented course with an easy pacing.

por Laurentiu A L

Feb 09, 2019

This course gives you a great basis and the necessary information you need in order to go ahead and proceed with gaining higher level expertise of SQL. Lectures are very comprehensive, and information is presented in an efficient way.

por Lalita

Jan 25, 2019

This was one of the best course among all the courses that i have learned till now.

por Durgamma S

Feb 13, 2019

good

por Gaël G

Feb 15, 2019

Excellent lectures again for beginners. The step by step approach is really a very strong point of this series of lectures.

por Dorokhin D

Feb 17, 2019

Good basic course!