Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
2,207 calificaciones
680 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 678 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Megan J P

9 de jul. de 2017

I feel that I have learned a lot from this course. I am a historian and plan on using this knowledge in the future.

por Robert L

5 de mar. de 2017

It was very interesting and the Professor was very knowledgable. I enjoyed the course work and readings.

Thank you.

por Cyrus W P Y

19 de nov. de 2016

This is an extremly intrested couse it talkes about pharohs, gods, and the best of all mumification and after life!

por Shriya M

18 de may. de 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

por raashid a a

27 de feb. de 2019

I really liked this course and how it gave me a week by week teaching of ancient egypt. It was really interesting!

por Devi D

11 de jun. de 2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful lessons, sir.

Definitely a great course whoever craves to learn about Egypt

por Alice W

21 de may. de 2020

A brilliant, concise and fascinating mix of history, archeology and ideas beautifully presented by Dr Silverman

por Svetlana I

3 de abr. de 2020

Great basic course for those who want a brief introduction to the world of Ancient Egypt. enjoyed it very much!

por Bruna F

28 de may. de 2020

It was really a fun and interesting time to participate in this course! Absolutely loved it! Thank you to all!

por Aiman N

10 de abr. de 2020

It was a very well researched course. Excellent faculty and resources were used during the duration of course.

por Michelle B

4 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed the course. I think it was a really good introductory overviiew of this very dynamic civilization.

por Camilo J H

1 de feb. de 2017

Great course, the material was very good. I didn't get a chance to check the book recommended for the course.

por Louisa H

14 de abr. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course, there was a variety of topics covered and viewpoints on those different topics.

por smisha

21 de may. de 2020

Dr Silverman rekindled my love for egyptology. The visual demonstrations and the lectures were captivating.

por Ana P C R

31 de may. de 2019

Un curso fascinante,interesante y muy bien presentado para todos los amantes del Antiguo Egipto.Me encantó

por Julia C

14 de jun. de 2017

I loved this course. It was taught with enthusiasm and there were lots of illustrative examples of objects

por Tiara R

4 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course. The course textbook is referred to as a reference for several egyptology publications.

por Lillianne d H G

25 de abr. de 2019

An interesting course very well organised and led by professor David P. Silverman. I highly recommend it.

por Elizabeth C

27 de sep. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent course. I am now very keen to continue learning about Ancient Egypt.

por Martha s

20 de abr. de 2020

Me pareció sumamente interesante el curso, es increíble toda la cultura que tenían en el Egipto Antiguo!

por Wallyn D d J S

22 de mar. de 2020

Muito completo, dá uma boa noção sobre diversos aspectos do Antigo Egito. Agradeço por todo o conteúdo.

por Abigail C

27 de sep. de 2020

Fantastic course, I learned a lot and am very grateful to be able to expand my knowledge in this area.

por Rodolfo A

18 de ago. de 2020

Excelente curso online, da una muy buena base para seguir aprendiendo mas sobre esta gran civilización

por Rummenigge S d N

11 de dic. de 2016

Dr. David Silverman is just great. I learned much about Ancient Egypt, even in an introductory course.