Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
2,207 calificaciones
680 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 678 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Deleted A

28 de ene. de 2018

COURS INTERRESSANT , CONSTRUCTIF, AGREABLE A SUIVRE .

MERCI A MONSIEUR LE PROFESSEUR david SILVERMAN

por Francis C

21 de jul. de 2017

Very lively and documented course.

English slow enough for good understanding by foreigners.

Enjoyable.

por İrem Y

20 de jul. de 2017

ı really like the course and the professor Silverman. ı learnt a lot from him. thanks for everything.

por Justine B

14 de feb. de 2021

An absolutely fascinating exploration into numerous aspects that made up the ancient world of Egypt!

por Jen A

21 de ago. de 2020

Great intro - was able to complete quickly due to easily accessible and interesting subject matter!

por Mary R

14 de ago. de 2017

Very informative and interesting! I would love more courses on Ancient Egypt from this University

por zcecily

6 de dic. de 2016

very intesting. what i like most is the collateral readings, very helpful for ancient egypt fans.

por D E

13 de nov. de 2017

This was very interesting and informative course on Egyptian mystery and purpose of their faith.

por Emma I P

20 de may. de 2019

Mr. Silverman is such a good teacher and charismatic! Also bought his book, i highly recommend!

por Nicola R

18 de feb. de 2018

Good course - interesting information giving a broad background of key topics in Ancient Egypt.

por Kurt A

12 de ene. de 2021

Excellent and had more depth than I expected for the timeframe. Would wholeheartedly recommend

por Caroline W

5 de may. de 2020

Fantastic and interesting course! Really enjoyed the interaction with the Penn Museum displays

por Mary J B

30 de jun. de 2019

This course is Informative, fascinating and interesting. I enjoyed it and plan to take another

por Luis L

26 de nov. de 2018

Excellent teacher and to be able to see important pieces in the Penn Museum was a plus. Thanks

por Eleanor K

30 de oct. de 2020

Really interesting and well made course, really enjoyed learning each week, highly recommend!

por Robert B

21 de jul. de 2020

A very well made Intrroduction.

It sparks interesst for further studies and was fun to follow.

por Theresa N

11 de sep. de 2018

An excellent introduction to the huge topic of Ancient Egypt. I plan to take the next course.

por Susan B

27 de feb. de 2017

Very interesting course. I was surprised to find how little I knew about Ancient Egyptians.

por Raquel S

25 de ago. de 2021

Amazing course. I loved from beginning to end, and very pleased with the content presented.

por Aura M S A

14 de ene. de 2020

It has a lot of interesting information and make me to be a more curious person about Egipt

por Sarah B

15 de may. de 2020

Great course and very informative. This was a wonderful overview of Ancient Egypt. Thanks!

por Luís M G d S A

11 de may. de 2020

Very good introduction to Ancient Egypt and its civilisation. I do recommend this course.

por Bess W

23 de abr. de 2020

very informative. Dr. Silverman presents the information in a very clear and concise way.

por Krystyna S

7 de jun. de 2019

Loved this course! There is loads of information, very detailed and well paced delivery.

por Brent M

13 de may. de 2017

Course is a great introduction to Ancient Egypt, format and outline is well thought out.