Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
1,916 calificaciones
585 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

501 - 525 de 582 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Jessica I S G

10 de jun. de 2017

Muy básico para mi gusto pero es una buena introducción para aquellos que desconocen la cultura egipcia.

por kouassi n c

5 de ago. de 2017

très bon cours dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sous-titres en français j'ai appris beaucoup sur ce pays

por Amy F

15 de may. de 2019

Was wonderful. Instructor is very knowledgeable and this was great beginner's learning. Recommend.

por Kate M

5 de feb. de 2017

Very interesting material covered by the course. The Professor teaching it sounds a little dry.

por Tamar W

20 de feb. de 2018

Frequently even with my sound turned full up I have difficulties hearing the Coursera classes.

por Ajlan A

13 de nov. de 2016

needs more data visiualizations.. images that used repeated many times which is confusinng.

por joyce b

23 de nov. de 2020

generally fascinating, but far too many names and details given too quickly to absorb.

por Johan N P E

8 de mar. de 2019

I liked this course..thanksfull with you coursera and the university from penssilvanya

por Alicechrr

3 de jul. de 2020

Really great course but there could have been less videos by making them longer.

por Marly Y

16 de ene. de 2017

It needs more written notes so that it would be easier for a person follow up.

por Sachin R

26 de abr. de 2017

I wanted to give it 4.5 Stars. The course was wonderful and was well thought.

por Christian W

20 de nov. de 2016

Nice and rather short course, giving a good introduction about Ancient Egypt.

por Tanya

4 de abr. de 2020

A lovely introduction on different aspects of ancient Egyptian civilization!

por Vir K

1 de may. de 2020

info is great but it might be a little overwhelming, layout can be improved

por Colleen M

8 de abr. de 2017

Interesting course stimulated my desire to learn more about ancient Egypt

por Nancy D

11 de oct. de 2019

it was slightly hard to follow but a great class. i enjoyed it immensly.

por Mirela F C

10 de abr. de 2020

Probably too much of a general approach and not enough information.

por Domen H

8 de abr. de 2018

This was a very good introduction to the history of Ancient Egypt.

por V.B. V

22 de sep. de 2020

I loved it. I only wish there was even more details and quizzes.

por Mack G

2 de may. de 2017

Lots of detail, particularly about the Penn museum.

Descriptive

por Philippe A

20 de dic. de 2016

Interesting class, which give a good overview of Ancient Egypt.

por Enrique U U

4 de may. de 2019

It's been a very interesting course, quick and easy to follow.

por Shreya S

19 de mar. de 2020

I learnt interesting facts about Egypt that blew my mind.

por Clotilde D

20 de oct. de 2018

Thanks for all the informations, it's a great course !

por Rachel A

12 de dic. de 2016

Fantastic content, I really learnt some new things