Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
2,120 calificaciones
654 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 650 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Peter

19 de abr. de 2020

Interesting material, it would have been 5 stars but the delivery is a bit dull and you can tell it is being read as you can hear the flipchart being turned. The collections you are introduced to are fascinating and there is much information and lots to see.

por Ingeborg B

6 de ene. de 2017

It was not quite easy to listen to professor Silverman in the lectures and remember the details later. But I very much appretiated the suggestions for further reading. All in all the course helped me to get further in my studies on Ancient Egypt.

por Amber B

20 de ago. de 2017

I had fun with this course and definitely learned a lot from it. It seemed easier than it should have been for being labeled an intermediate course, I felt it should have been more in depth for that ranking. Overall good course if a bit basic.

por Rosario R N

3 de ago. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I´ll be more than happy to take other courses with the University of Pennsylvania. During this course I have clarified many concepts of Ancient Egypt civilization that before were not clear for me. Thank you

por josh c

28 de oct. de 2020

Really fun and engaging class. I really liked Dr. Silverman's presentation and layout. I wish the course had more course work, like smaller assignments, as the only requirement for grading was end of week quizzes. Very rewarding experience.

por Heather L

9 de dic. de 2016

A very good basic introduction to Ancient Egypt. But, if you have already taken a similar course or read several books on the topic, you won't find anything new. The instructor knows his stuff but doesn't seem very passionate or engaging.

por Sanjeet A

11 de feb. de 2017

A good introduction to the history and culture of the ancient Egyptian people. If you are truly interested in the subject, further independent research is absolutely required to gain more than a perfunctory understanding of the topic.

por Victoria E

11 de jun. de 2020

This was a great course and introduction to Ancient Egypt. The chosen topics were interesting and helped to put the information we were provided into context. Looking forward to starting the second course in the series.

por Brett B

4 de jul. de 2019

Very informative. Video commentary is a little dry but the further reading section offers a lot. I find it is necessary to purchase the recommended book in order to really get a good understanding of the course.

por Amira M

18 de ago. de 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn through videos and English subtitles accompanied with on-site pictures for monuments. It was simple, interesting and focused on details.

Thanks Dr. David and the team

por Amy H

28 de dic. de 2020

Interesting topics but quite difficult to follow at times due to the amount of complex words and ideas used. Would recommend to anyone prepared to spend a decent amount of time working on it.

por Bassem M K

9 de feb. de 2019

If you are into the Ancient civilisation of Egypt, this is a good start to hook you up, but if you are looking for more answers, this is not enough. You need more, and i need more.

por Pardis A

3 de feb. de 2019

it was awesome. just the professor had this really monotone voice without any impression on his voice or face, that made the courses a tiny bit boring. but it was a great course

por Tejas M

23 de dic. de 2019

Really good introduction to anyone who wants to get a clear picture of the chronology of Egypt's ancient civilization, as well the major elements of it's DNA. Great course.

por Gail M

11 de may. de 2021

Fascinating I enjoyed it very much.

I do suggest the notes be reviewed as there are a number of typographical errors and a few missed words..

Aside from that excellent

por Yente B

13 de ago. de 2017

I did enjoy this course, but the instructor seemed very stiff and was clearly reading from a prompter. This made it hard to focus on what he was saying sometimes

por Ramon o c

16 de abr. de 2020

Es interesante como introduccion . Seguro que motivará a los estudiantes a buscar más informacion sobre el fascinante mundo de la civilización antigua en Egipto

por Michal A

25 de may. de 2017

Very pleasant narrative, although a bit arbitrary choice of topics. At some points it got too detailed in relation to the general overall nature of the course.

por Emily A

15 de nov. de 2016

Definitely recommend if you need a crash-course on Ancient Egypt! In-depth, concise, and well explained; suitable for all those interested in ancient history

por Aahan R

1 de may. de 2020

An essay type question paper would also be quite useful since that will enable the person to go through the material and write proper essay type answers.

por Alpana R

24 de may. de 2019

Week 2 ----History and Chronology Quiz is very tough. But the later onces are good enough. I have learnt a lot with this course. It fulfills my dream.

por Ira P

8 de ene. de 2018

This was a really good course. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is genuinely interested in learning more about Egyptian myths and history.

por Carlos A A B

9 de dic. de 2016

Very interesting course. I was looking forward to at least a week dedicated to studying ancient hieroglyphs but they were only mentioned in passing.

por Thomas P

20 de sep. de 2019

Fascinating course, great content. Lecturer seemed uncomfortable with presenting to camera at first, but seemed to improve as course went on

por Meredith J M

5 de dic. de 2020

The information was great. However please go through the transcripts and correct it's to its.

I enjoyed the experience and learned a lot.