Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
1,912 calificaciones
584 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 580 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Abram y

26 de may. de 2020

فى بعض الفيديوهات غير مترجمة بالعربية

por laura b b

4 de mar. de 2018

Good, clear and well balanced. less t

por Christopher D

11 de oct. de 2017

Very interesting and informative

por Marisha W

5 de sep. de 2017

Enjoyable course. Thank you!

por Varun N

26 de may. de 2020

Good one for beginners

por Robert B C

13 de ene. de 2019

Very intensive course!

por Joyce U

14 de abr. de 2019

I'm learning so much.

por Elisabetta F

9 de oct. de 2017

It's interesting .

por Mark G C

24 de abr. de 2020

Love course

por Catherine F

16 de jun. de 2019

Interesting.

por Jp C

29 de may. de 2017

Interesting

por Jamima S

6 de jul. de 2019

Loved it!

por EL B M

27 de abr. de 2019

NICE

por Ygor K B

19 de feb. de 2019

good

por Brinda J

5 de dic. de 2016

-

por G R C

27 de jun. de 2017

The material in this course is of a high standard as one would expect. However, the presentation leaves much to be desired. The video transcripts need to be proofread and corrected and at least one is missing. Where errors in videos have been made, or material changed for other reasons, the video 'drop ins' are clumsy. This is only presentational, but it matters. More seriously, questions in the quiz sometimes refer to subjects that have not been taught in the lectures and don't even feature in the suggested background reading material. Some participants would find this quite disheartening . Finally, while Dr Silverman is, clearly, an eminent academic, he is not a natural presenter, reading from a script and uncomfortable on camera. Overall, while the content is very interesting, the course could do with a makeover.

por Max B

16 de dic. de 2016

The course was extremely easy. I hoped it would be more of a challenge. No homework, only a 10 questions test every week (that is also extremely easy). As someone who's always been interested in Ancient Egypt, I already knew some things and ended up being able to pass the tests with 90-100% without even following the course. It's really an introduction for people who are pretty much new to the subject, so I'd recommend it, but for people who are looking for something more, you might find it boring. Even though the teacher is nice, the description of the course made me hope that it would be more interesting visually. I mostly read the transcriptions instead of watching the videos, because the teacher would just stand there and talk without moving, and it was not stimulating to me.

por Evgeny P

25 de jun. de 2020

The course provides conservative vision of problematic of the pyramids. In modern course I would expect from the lecturer to deal with the controversial statements, rather ending the interesting part by calling to conservative theories "facts". It is essential to remember that the history written by the writers, the course even provides an example. If thousands years from now the same approach will be applied on excavations on Sophia church in Istanbul, then it will be declared without doubt as a mosque. For the good science it is essential to remain place to doubt the current theories and solutions, and be able to revise them once having a controversial facts. This course not trying to deal with controversial facts.

por Judy P

21 de jun. de 2020

The lecturer is obviously knowledgeable, but his delivery seems dispassionate. I would have enjoyed seeing him with a chalk board, outlining his points and personalizing the information with references to his own archaeological experiences.

The text accompanying the videos seems to be computer-generated. It has sentence fragments, misspellings, and artificial paragraph segmentation that does not follow the vocal presentation. English is my primary language, and that appears to be true for the instructor. Because I am a person who learns more by reading that by listening, the inaccuracies in the text were a distraction from the fascinating subject matter.

por Sarah M

28 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed learning about Ancient Egypt; However, I found the instructor to be monotonous. Dr. Silverman is a brilliant man, but does not seem to enjoy lecturing. I think this course could use a revamp with more engaging, interactive lectures, as well as some editing in the video transcriptions. I would also suggest more diagrams and visual depictions of timelines for those of us who are visual learners. I don't mean to be negative; I just think constructive criticism is a handy tool to ensure improvement.

por Sara C F

23 de abr. de 2020

I found much of the information to be accurate, however; many mistakes were made during the filming of the videos. I have noticed that no corrections were made to the quizzes after videos were finalized, leaving many questions to have more than one answer from the notes taken, or for questions to not have been addressed at al during the lessons. Overall the course was information but is in need of editing.

por Mary S

14 de jun. de 2017

The lecturer has a flat, boring delivery. The content is interesting. However the text on which this course is based is very good. It is lavishly illustrated. The print is too small in the paperback edition, but it's big enough in the hardcover edition.

por Myvanwy W

8 de dic. de 2019

some of the exam questions were misleading (the way they were phrased was misleading) and sometimes the delivery was difficult to follow because of the structure of the lectures but I enjoyed this course nonetheless and found the content very interesting.

por Rebecca H

20 de may. de 2020

Over halfway through. Overall good information. However, the instructor talks fast and is really to the point with no babble, so taking notes can involve A LOT of pausing the videos, something to be aware of before beginning this course.

por Oliver G

15 de jun. de 2020

An interesting course that gives a little insight into Ancient Egypt, I think the videos could have been a little longer and more fleshed out in terms of content. But it was a okay course, quick and easy enough to follow along with.