Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
2,207 calificaciones
680 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 679 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Gary C

8 de abr. de 2020

Excellent Course. Thoroughly enjoyable, highly informative and a first-class learning experience! I recommend this to anyone who is interested in the subject and wants to get a good understanding of the key timelines and concepts of Ancient Egypt

por Eliza B

19 de jun. de 2020

This course was interesting and easy to follow. I had no prior knowledge of Ancient Egyptian culture or history but now have some concept of how the culture changed over time and general trends in the historical periods. Thank you Dr. Silverman!

por Jennifer B

7 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I gave a great overview of the subject matter as which allowed the student to obtain much more information that just a high level overviews. The companion book and suggested additional reading were quite interesting.

por Álvaro C C

14 de dic. de 2018

Un curso interactivo muy rico en contenido. Las explicaciones del Dr Silverman son muy claras y fáciles de entender. Recomendaría que los vídeos fueran mas largos en vez de varios vídeos pequeños pues es mas cómodo. Un curso muy recomendable.

por Catherine G

13 de nov. de 2016

enjoyable course I have watched a lot of egyptian documentaries and had a keen interest in the topic and would like to do more study but notice there is not a lot of classes and specialised courses in this in australia which is a real shame.

por Jose M M F

20 de abr. de 2020

Muy interesante, me ha dado información clara sobre aspectos esenciales de la cultura del Antiguo Egypto.

Un saludo desde España, en estos momentos difíciles que estamos viviendo todos contra el virus.

Muchas gracias y suerte para todos.

por Chaerunnisa M

20 de mar. de 2021

I like this course so much. The material very well-made and Mr. Silverman also explained it very clearly. This course gained my knowledge about Ancient Egypt. Also, the picture about mummy and another things are very amazing. Love it!

por laura k

24 de may. de 2020

I liked the video's very much, especially seeing all the artifacts that were tied to the subject matter, it helped give the information more perspective. I also loved the additional readings. Thank you for such an informative class.

por Eduardo P

30 de mar. de 2020

Great introductory course, with a wide vision of the ancient Egyptian culture. A delighful walk through the misteries and wonders of Pharaohs and his ancient country. Recommended for beginners who want to inmmerse in Egyptian culture.

por Theocharis G

13 de abr. de 2020

This is an amazing and excellent course. Many thanks to Prof. Silverman and his team for this wonderful experience. I definitely want to attend more courses in Egyptology. Grateful for this unique opportunity to attend a Penn course.

por malka g

10 de nov. de 2019

still remember things from the course over a year after I completed it! I did not know I could leave a review then, so doing so now. I visited the Egyptian part of the British Museum and was able to understand it all much better!

por Alexis C

31 de mar. de 2019

This course provided valuable information I needed for book research. The lecturing was delivered pretty deadpan and the transcript was not always correct, but otherwise it was good. I learned a lot. Would highly recommend the class!

por Al L

28 de mar. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The lectures were informative, with a slight bit of humour thrown in. Great phots that synced well with the lecture. The extra reading was informative. I plan on continuing to the next course.

por Deleted A

28 de feb. de 2019

Very informative and professional in the way the information was presented. Additional reading materials after each week's videos were helpful! I definitely learned a lot more about Ancient Egypt with the help of this course.

por Taylor

23 de jul. de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. David Silverman was an excellent instructor. So knowledgeable and put the information in understandable terms. I loved the extra resources, and the Penn artifacts. Thank you so very much.

por Isaiah A J M

29 de abr. de 2021

Very in-depth without being overbearing. The most visually stimulating and appealing course I have seen to date. The ability of the course to draw on the artifacts in their possession gives this course a bump on the others.

por Meyling L

23 de mar. de 2021

I highly recommend this course. It has everything you need to know for introduction to Ancient Egypt. Moreover, the setting is fabulous and Professor Silverman is absolutely great. Interesting, informative and captivating!

por Vera

29 de oct. de 2017

Very interesting course. I think it's a great place to start your journey through human history. The course is not too fast paced, provides subtitles and is generally easy to understand. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

por Dhanwanti

12 de feb. de 2019

I am very happy to get my certificate from the University of Pennsylvania in this course. This course has many important topics that can help me in my further education.

Thanks you sir

Thank you University of Pennsylvania

por Gretchen A

28 de jul. de 2020

This class interesting and not too difficult. Learned much about the Ancient Egypt basics. I would be interested in taking more classes about Egypt if they were to come available, like what was their daily life like.

por Yasmin F R N

2 de dic. de 2020

So educational and interesting. I love the idea that it is chunked in different aspects---geography, mythology, politics and culture. I loved every minute of learning about history, especially that of Ancient Egypt!

por Tieysha A C

3 de may. de 2020

It was a very informative course> I have always been interested in Ancient Egypt and it was a class not available to me while in college. The videos and exhibits along the way made it easy to understand the content.

por Jessica G

13 de abr. de 2020

I found this course fascinating, I first became interested in Ancient Egypt when I was younger and this course was perfect for me to do at home. I look forward to following on with the other courses in this series.

por Kevin F

3 de abr. de 2020

A very good basic overview. Good intro level content for someone coming to the subject for the first time. Certainly I am not an Egyptologist now but I am certainly more knowledgeable of Egypt than when I started.

por Jim M

11 de jun. de 2020

This course is a terrific introduction to study of Ancient Egypt. Having traveled to Egypt twice, the information in this course allowed me to remember those trips with a renewed enthusiasm to return a third time.