Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
2,207 calificaciones
680 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 679 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Alexandra H

27 de sep. de 2020

I absolutely loved this course! Professor Silverman does a great job explaining the content and shows examples found at the museum. I hope he offers more courses on coursera.

por Glenn P

21 de mar. de 2018

Learned more then I could have wished for, this is the best course I have had on Ancient Egypt. Thank you Professor David P. Silverman, you made this class very interesting.

por Vasiliki-Diamanto F

11 de nov. de 2017

Mr. Silverman is very comprehensible and speaks slowely during the videos, which is very helpful for processing the information given. The course is very well structured.

por Richie H

13 de abr. de 2020

I liked the video lectures a lot, but I wish there was more specific recommended reading for each video instead of the end. Also - show more of what they do in the lab!

por Annabelle M S

28 de ene. de 2018

The most amazing course I have ever taken. SO full of information and actual lab accessibility to learn and understand what we have discovered of the Ancient Egyptians.

por Carl W

17 de may. de 2020

Learned and satisfied my curiosity on a number of topics and subjects. I recommend this course for anyone who is seeking the basic knowledge on Egyptian civilization.

por Helen K

10 de abr. de 2020

it was a pleasure to learn from Dr Silverman. Thoroughly chosen and very interesting information on Ancient Egypt. Great site with great choice of courses. Thank you!

por Peter B

26 de nov. de 2016

Dr. Silverman the the content in this course is wonderful. Thanks for the great videos and thought-provoking questions. Please give us more courses on Ancient Egypt.

por Mrs E B D

9 de abr. de 2018

This was a very interesting course , well presented with excellent reading materials. I have enjoyed learning about ancient Egypt very much. Thanks to all the team.

por Emiliano R V

3 de sep. de 2017

Great introduction! Very dynamic and interesting overview of this fascinating culture. It would be great to have an advance course on these topics (or many of them)

por ALEJANDRO D M

24 de may. de 2021

David P. Silverman is very good at explaining and conveying his knowledge to listener. The course is brief, but it´s very informative to talk about Ancient Egypt.

por Antonio B

24 de abr. de 2020

I found this course a joy to complete - yes its demanding. I suggest you pay close attention to the video's you really need to think and listen. superb structure.

por Alessandra R

21 de abr. de 2020

Really interesting. I am already an experienced archaeologist, but Egyptology was missing from my previous studies. This was a really good chance to catching up.

por Santiago V R

27 de nov. de 2016

This course is recommendable for anyone who wants to begin to study the Ancient Egypt word. It contains very interesting videos and readings! I have enjoyed it!

por Steo

6 de ene. de 2018

This is the best overview course about Ancient Egypt civilisation I could dream of. Mr Silverman brings reliable information and can transmit his passion well.

por Matteo S

8 de feb. de 2019

The course provides a good overview, a lot information, spurs to acquire also a good iconographic knowledge of the subject and reason about the main concepts.

por jui a

28 de abr. de 2021

Amazing lecture. there was so much to learn about the traditions, customs, and life of the ancient Egyptians! I wish to learn more on this courser in detail

por Elizabeth G

8 de may. de 2020

Very interesting overview of Egyptology, good videos which feature artifacts in the Penn museum. Thanks to Dr Silverman for making this course available.

por PhantomDuck1980

7 de nov. de 2017

An excellent class! I strongly recommend it to everyone. It helped me a lot to understand fundamental aspects of Ancient Egypt Civilation. Very helpful!!!

por Michael A

26 de jun. de 2020

Lots of depth in this course from a highly respected Egyptologist expert and Professor.

Really liked the last video where they look at a mummy in the lab.

por Ying X

12 de mar. de 2017

learned a lot about Egypt which is total vacancy in my knowledge before taking the course and helped in greater understanding of Penn Museum's collection

por Tintu M

9 de feb. de 2017

Excellent. A load of new things to know. Helps a lot to understand the diversity and the way of life of people who are ancient and also most intelligent.

por Doug M

9 de feb. de 2021

great course. the only thing that would have helped me was an occasional timeline graphic of the various kingdoms and pharaohs referred to in the text.

por Fan C

19 de sep. de 2019

This course is really a good introduction to Ancient Egypt. I learn a lot of general information about Ancient Egypt and additional interesting topics.

por Shuaib I

23 de abr. de 2017

Touching on chronology , kingship , mythology , mummies and pyramids while informing and amazing this has been one of the most enjoyable courses ever .