Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
1,868 calificaciones
572 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 568 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Lillianne d H G

Apr 25, 2019

An interesting course very well organised and led by professor David P. Silverman. I highly recommend it.

por Elizabeth C

Sep 27, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent course. I am now very keen to continue learning about Ancient Egypt.

por Martha s

Apr 20, 2020

Me pareció sumamente interesante el curso, es increíble toda la cultura que tenían en el Egipto Antiguo!

por Wallyn D d J S

Mar 23, 2020

Muito completo, dá uma boa noção sobre diversos aspectos do Antigo Egito. Agradeço por todo o conteúdo.

por Abigail C

Sep 27, 2020

Fantastic course, I learned a lot and am very grateful to be able to expand my knowledge in this area.

por Rodolfo A

Aug 18, 2020

Excelente curso online, da una muy buena base para seguir aprendiendo mas sobre esta gran civilización

por Rummenigge S d N

Dec 11, 2016

Dr. David Silverman is just great. I learned much about Ancient Egypt, even in an introductory course.

por Deleted A

Jan 28, 2018

COURS INTERRESSANT , CONSTRUCTIF, AGREABLE A SUIVRE .

MERCI A MONSIEUR LE PROFESSEUR david SILVERMAN

por Francis C

Jul 21, 2017

Very lively and documented course.

English slow enough for good understanding by foreigners.

Enjoyable.

por İrem Y

Jul 20, 2017

ı really like the course and the professor Silverman. ı learnt a lot from him. thanks for everything.

por Jen A

Aug 21, 2020

Great intro - was able to complete quickly due to easily accessible and interesting subject matter!

por Mary R

Aug 14, 2017

Very informative and interesting! I would love more courses on Ancient Egypt from this University

por zcecily

Dec 06, 2016

very intesting. what i like most is the collateral readings, very helpful for ancient egypt fans.

por daniel e

Nov 13, 2017

This was very interesting and informative course on Egyptian mystery and purpose of their faith.

por Emma I P

May 20, 2019

Mr. Silverman is such a good teacher and charismatic! Also bought his book, i highly recommend!

por Nicola R

Feb 18, 2018

Good course - interesting information giving a broad background of key topics in Ancient Egypt.

por Caroline W

May 05, 2020

Fantastic and interesting course! Really enjoyed the interaction with the Penn Museum displays

por Mary J B

Jun 30, 2019

This course is Informative, fascinating and interesting. I enjoyed it and plan to take another

por Luis L

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent teacher and to be able to see important pieces in the Penn Museum was a plus. Thanks

por Robert B

Jul 21, 2020

A very well made Intrroduction.

It sparks interesst for further studies and was fun to follow.

por Theresa N

Sep 11, 2018

An excellent introduction to the huge topic of Ancient Egypt. I plan to take the next course.

por Susan B

Feb 28, 2017

Very interesting course. I was surprised to find how little I knew about Ancient Egyptians.

por Aura M S A

Jan 14, 2020

It has a lot of interesting information and make me to be a more curious person about Egipt

por Sarah B

May 15, 2020

Great course and very informative. This was a wonderful overview of Ancient Egypt. Thanks!

por Luís M G d S A

May 11, 2020

Very good introduction to Ancient Egypt and its civilisation. I do recommend this course.