Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
2,207 calificaciones
680 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Principales reseñas

DA
27 de may. de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de mar. de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 678 revisiones para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Quin R

18 de abr. de 2021

Wonderful introductory course, and I really enjoyed the textbook. Booked my first trip to Egypt right after finishing this course!

por John C

28 de mar. de 2021

GENIALLL!!! muchas cosas por recordar, mcuhas cosas nuevas y muchas cosas pendeitnes por concoer,,!! muy contento muchas gracias!!

por Sophia A

28 de mar. de 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

por Omar C B

8 de sep. de 2021

Os cursos, em geral, são excelentes. Só acho que, por US$ 29.00, deveríamos receber nossos certificados impressos e pelo correio.

por Jamison G

30 de abr. de 2020

Very enlightening class. I got a lot of good information out of the lectures. Hopefully I get to visit the Penn Museum someday :)

por Amber C M

18 de dic. de 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!

por Kaio L C A

7 de sep. de 2021

Excellent course, great for anyone interested in Egyptology. Dr. David P. Silverman excels in clearly conveying his knowledge.

por Vojtěch K

15 de may. de 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

por Denice E W

13 de jun. de 2020

Really enjoyed this course. I have a lot of Egyptian history and this course helped me organize it and better understand it.

por Victor R

15 de oct. de 2020

An exceptionally-designed course for the ancient history enthusiast which delves correctly and thoroughly into Egyptology.

por Rodrigo A F R

20 de dic. de 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

por Aldrin B P

14 de dic. de 2020

Comprehensive and informative. Lot's of learnings on the origins and other facts on culture and history of Ancient Egypt.

por Advise D

24 de mar. de 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.

por Ong L W

1 de may. de 2020

Insightful and well developed. I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to taking Wonders of Ancient Egypt next!

por Gonca D

15 de oct. de 2017

This course presents an excellent introduction for ancient Egypt. For the beginners like me, it can't be better. Thanks!

por Alyssa J L L

5 de ago. de 2017

I would like to thank this course for giving me opportunity to learn and discover more about the Egyptian Civilization .

por Audrey T

14 de dic. de 2016

Fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt. Thought provoking and well researched. Has increased my interest in Egyptology.

por Tania T

7 de mar. de 2021

Really enjoyed taking this course! Well explained, and full of interesting details in a general preview of the subject.

por Shalini N

3 de jun. de 2020

If you're obsessed with the Ancient Egyptian history, do take this course. It is brilliant! Enjoyed every second of it!

por Jorge P F

6 de may. de 2020

Wondefrul course, the teacher is brilliant I love the teacher and his lessons. Mani thanks professor David P. Silverman

por Saffron U

9 de feb. de 2019

Varied and detailed course covering most of the bases you could want from Ancient Egypt. Enjoyed this course very much!

por Jordan M

24 de jun. de 2020

Very put together course. I would have enjoyed it to go a little more in detail, but for an introduction it was great.

por Deborah R

28 de may. de 2021

​Buy Davids book, it is beautifully illustrated and very helpful during this course. An excellent, enjoyable course.

por Horacio A

11 de nov. de 2020

Buenos días, me gusto el curso ya que da una mirada rápida a todo lo que significa el Egipto antiguo.

Muchas gracias.

por Dennis S

25 de oct. de 2020

I like the course, informative and well done. I wish there was a way to submit questions other than the discussions.