Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Classical Music

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Classical Music por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
3,587 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Principales reseñas

SL

6 de mar. de 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

EV

15 de oct. de 2020

Wonderful course where Craig Wright delves into all eras of classical music and takes you along for the wonderful ride! Craig Wright is one of the best instructors I have come across! Enjoy the ride!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 1,077 revisiones para Introduction to Classical Music

por Lisa M C

14 de mar. de 2020

Dr. Wright is fabulous and the course is challenging and provides a comprehensive history of classical music, demonstrating, among other things, the classical roots of most modern popular music. I very much enjoyed learning about musical forms and structures, which has greatly enhanced my appreciation of all music. I was a classical music and opera fan before I started, but now I am inspired to continue my studies to learn to read music and play the piano. Thank you Dr. Wright!

por esteban z

26 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed learning music history.

Professor Wright si an extraordinary teacher.

The on line course productios is very well done and it goes further than watching someone speaking.

It adds real Yale prerecorded classes, interviews with musicians, live antique instruments demonstrations, and of course images that gives context to this journey, maps, art forms, buildings, etc.

I think I can enjoy from a new perspective classical music, historicly, technically and emotionally.

por Erika J C V

17 de dic. de 2020

I have love this course, it was a little more intensive that I thought it would be, but I enjoyed and learned with every single minute.

I have no words for Craig Wright. Is one of the best professors I've ever had and I don't even know him in person. He knows exactly how to explain a subject without make it boring or difficult and you can easily connect with him.

I fully recomend this course, even if you are not studying or planning to study music. The experience is amazing.

por Kris J

11 de oct. de 2020

Fantastic introductory course in Western classical music appreciation and history. To begin with, I didn't have a lot of background in music and knew little about music theory. This course provides a very broad overview, and presents even the technical information in an accessible way for beginners. Most of the quizzes are simple "were you paying attention" questions, but some actually test some music listening skills taught in the class. I was very happy with this class.

por Karen S S

17 de jul. de 2020

This course is a terrific introduction to classical music: the content is substantial, chronological, related to reigning ideas in art and literature and placed in historical context, including technological developments. The professor is engaging, as are the performers, guests and the TA, More women composers are needed, and appear to be added with updating. Even a person who cannot read notes, such as myself, can follow the theory enough to understand the main ideas.

por Sandy U

30 de sep. de 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. My early introduction to Classical music was at the hand of Leonard Bernstein when he visited my Junior High School. He thought me to listen to the music however, this class thought me the why’s and wherefores of how the music developed throughout the centuries. I now feel that I can distinguish the era it was produced and the style and probably the artist who wrote it. Kudos Mr. Wright and thank you for an enjoyable summer of learning.

por Faris K

12 de nov. de 2017

I absolutely loved this course beyond my expectations. It was so interesting, engaging, at times challenging and thoroughly enjoyable. I will miss dear Mr Craig Wright and his lectures though will revisit the videos again and again (as long as I can). This was and is a most excellent introduction to Classical Music (in fact, I think it went further than a mere introduction). I also feel very privileged to be able to do a course offered by Yale. Well done all!

por Boris L

23 de oct. de 2020

In my opinion, this is a very comprehensive course that thoroughly describes the development of Western music, as well as some basics of music theory. The narration is well set in the historical background, and the analysis of famous pieces of music goes hand in hand with composers' biographies and other very interesting and exciting materials. I would like to thank the creators of this course for the miraculous experience I have had these several weeks!!!

por John R D

15 de mar. de 2021

This course will explain many aspects of both the mechanics and the evolution of classical music. It will also relate the progress of the music with the progress in art and architecture. I hope you will take it and try listening to the things that are suggested with an open mind and heart. Professor Wright has a great sense of the essence of music, and he and his team have done an outstanding job of putting this survey course together for you to enjoy.

por anna l d l f c

28 de ago. de 2020

Prof Craig is gentle, with lots of engaging stories and easy to adapt explanations. Majority of the quizzes are challenging so you feel good if you ace them. I love that as I finished my last quiz and video material, Handel's Messiah played in the credits, there was a digital confetti to celebrate my accomplishment and my Certificate of Completion email alerted, and the Sacher Torte (Austrian chocolate cake c1832) i ordered was delivered just on time;)

por Meijian L

25 de jun. de 2020

Best introductory music course. I have watched the class videos by Craig Wright many years ago, first in China then in the US. I really liked them and gained a deeper understanding on music. I also purchased the textbook online. This new coursera course is more engaging, systematic and interesting. I am really grateful to Craig and everyone behind the course to make it possible. You are a gift to us all. Thank you very much, truly and sincerely!

por Valdeck R

14 de dic. de 2017

Very informative and engaging course for beginner who appreciate classical music and would like to start exploring this universe in a more academic way. Professor Wright is captivating in his ability to pass on to his students his knowledge and love for music. His lectures are fascinating and easy to follow even when the subject gets more technical. Thank you Professor Wright for making learning about classical music fun and interesting. Bravo!

por ROSA M V J

17 de dic. de 2020

Mi Agradecimiento enorme a la Universidad de Yale que me dio la oportunidad de tomar este curso que me permitió viajar y soñar por bellos espacios del universo y enriquecer mi cultura personal.

A ti Craig Wright también doy mi agradecimiento por los momentos de regocijo que me brindaste y por compartir tus valiosos conocimientos de Música, que es otra vida en mi vida.

Dios te bendiga a ti y todo el equipo de trabajo que participó.

Mil gracias

por José C P

16 de jun. de 2020

Excelente curso en línea. El Prof. Craig Wright y su equipo de colaboradores proponen un interesante derrotero que nos lleva de la música medieval hasta el postmodernismo actual. Las exposiciones son amenas, muy bien ilustradas y, cuando conviene, acompañadas por la presencia de músicos profesionales que enriquecen con sus aportes el curso. Muy agradecido a la Universidad de Yale y al prof. Craig y su equipo por tan excelente oportunidad.

por Laura L

10 de ene. de 2020

This was an excellent course. The lectures were clear and easy to understand. The professor was knowledgeable and approached the subject in a methodical and logical way. The examples and samples of music were easy to access (the playlists in YouTube were great, but need to be updated). There were a lot of quizzes, but there was a lot material taught, too. So far, of all of the coursed I've taken on Coursera, this one has been the best.

por ym L

11 de jul. de 2020

Very insightful and enjoyable course on all the eras of classical music! I definitely learn a lot on music appreciation especially on classical music and opera. Professor Wright introduced the major periods/ musical style on the characteristics of each and also walkthroughs with some representative pieces. As someone that used to think classical music as difficult to grasp, I hope you will find this course useful and enjoyable as well.

por dekel l

3 de nov. de 2018

Thank you very much prof. Craig Wright. As my wife said, in the past several weeks I was engaged with you more than I did with her. It has been a pleasure being your student (although through the screen), your eloquent style, intelligent remarks, wide knowledge and humor kept me fascinated along the course. You and the Yale team have done an excellent job. Please continue enriching us thought your insatiable wealth of knowledge. Dekel

por Danh P T

4 de dic. de 2020

Thank you so much, Prof. Wright, for being a music sage every night telling great tales of timeless, beautiful classical music pieces and the famed composers throughout the history of music. This is perhaps one of the most thorough, most engaging, most enlightening courses dedicated to classical music. Thus, I'd recommend this course to anyone who is curious about this kind of music, or those who are playing it, or hobbyists alike.

por Jana H

9 de sep. de 2020

My father had a Master's degree in music, and taught music for 30 years. I myself worked for a major symphony orchestra (not as a musician). And yet, I still learned so much from Craig Wright and this course! He explains so many aspects of music clearly and in a memorable way, that even if you think you know a lot, you will learn something. This class is definitely worth your time if you are at all interested in classical music!

por Stephanie S

13 de jun. de 2020

I came with relatively much previous knowledge about the content of the first third of the course and very little previous knowledge about the content of the last two thirds of the course. Yet all parts of the course were equally instructive, fun to watch, neither boring nor overdemanding. I can't imagine how that is done, especially in a MOOC where you can know nothing about the people who will watch it. The result is amazing.

por Don M

24 de jul. de 2020

Excellent introduction to and review of classical music. I have been listening to music, especially that usually designated as "classical", for many years, and have learned a great deal more than I thought I knew, from taking this course. The instruction and the quality of the sessions from a production point of view were first-rate. I highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in music -- regardless of era.

por Stephanie J

28 de may. de 2020

My mother and I decided to take this course during lock down and a perfect excuse to connect with each other every day as we completed the 9 week course. Craig has been an amazing professor, we enjoyed every minute of it and are looking forward to seeing each other again hopefully at a concert hall listening to Vivaldi! Many thanks to Yale for making this course available online - very well put together. We are grateful.

por Alexis C C

25 de mar. de 2021

Excelent teacher, very creative to show contents. Maybe the only complain that i have it's that you guys didn't give some spanish subtitle to your lessons, wich is something sad if you think on the excelence of your videos.

Maybe the only other thing to improve its the final video that you show, because sometimes its seems to be done very quickly at expense on the scene cut.

However, greetings from Santiago of Chile.

por CD

8 de jun. de 2019

Prof Wright is amazing in terms of his knowledge of the subject, ability to teach and keep his student interested. For someone like me who had no prior exposure to music theory, the course became increasingly harder and I had to take some of the lectures twice. I'll take this course again in the future as I will forget some of the things :-)

I wish Prof. Wright has more online classes. Thank you for an amazing class!

por Ligeng Y

14 de ene. de 2022

Friendly to beginners and does not require almost any music knowledge. Prof Wright explains the basic concepts in a very clear and concise manner. Went through the evolvement since medieval, and a very good survey of the history. Also went in depth on selected giants like Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Wagner, and Debussy. Highly recommended to anybody who is not majored in music and want to take a first course on music.