Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python por parte de Escuela de Negocios EDHEC

4.8
estrellas
655 calificaciones
192 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. This course provides an introduction to the underlying science, with the aim of giving you a thorough understanding of that scientific basis. However, instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. This course is the first in a four course specialization in Data Science and Machine Learning in Asset Management but can be taken independently. In this course, we cover the basics of Investment Science, and we'll build practical implementations of each of the concepts along the way. We'll start with the very basics of risk and return and quickly progress to cover a range of topics including several Nobel Prize winning concepts. We'll cover some of the most popular practical techniques in modern, state of the art investment management and portfolio construction. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods....

Principales reseñas

SW

Aug 06, 2020

I am self taught in Python and have an industry background in Finance. This course was a good connector/provided additional insight on using Python to process portfolio performance and data analysis.

DH

May 27, 2020

Enjoyable course. One has to be conversant with basic Phyton to follow this course. What I learnt the most is the ability to use Phyton coding to demonstrate the concept of portfolio investment.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 191 revisiones para Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

por Beau D

Jul 09, 2020

Very educational and challenging course, combining the development of fundamental skills in Python with Investment management practices. When you stumble upon a coding problem, you can be stuck for a while but mostly the forum provides an answer, atlhough some research on the internet is also recommended. Really looking forward to learn about the advanced courses in the specialization. Vijay and Lionel were very pleasant and interesting tutors!

por Arnaud R

Aug 06, 2020

Extremely high quality course with two great instructors.

I would however point out that this might be (very) tough for people without any finance background. The theoretical aspects are explained on a high level only, which may make it difficult for some people to fully grasp what is being done.

I started with only basics in Python and was able to understand all the code. The Lab Sessions with Vijay are very good.

I highly recommend this course.

por Vadim T

May 11, 2020

Great course!

Vijay is one of the best professor that I have had pleasure to listen to. He does not only explain coding, but also unwraps the ideas which make financial predictions and simulations possible.

Quizzes are very easy, though, and are based on the code developed in class. I would appreciate more challenging assignments.

Nonetheless, I learned a lot and I am very excited about the next class in this specialization.

por Francisco S

Feb 09, 2020

The course is a great balance between theory and application. The content overall is great. I really enjoyed the emphasis on python implementations of the concepts taught. It is rare to find a course that has good theory AND good coding practices for data analysis. The instructor makes use of the libraries commonly used in industry (I work as a data scientist in a US startup). Highly recommended!

por Rehan I

Mar 30, 2020

This was an amazing course! The lab sessions are the key - I feel I will have a hard skill to take away from this course and code I can re-use in my career. Vijay in particular is an excellent teacher and makes sure you understand every step of the code. Where I didn't understand something, I posted in the discussion forums and got a really prompt reply that cleared things up. Thank you.

por Alfredo H

Apr 12, 2020

Excellent Course! At the same time, I have a Masters in Finance there where additional topics that I had not covered in such detail in the past while introducing fundamental skills for python in finance in detail. I would suggest to anyone taking this course to have a strong fundamental in finance already as some of the topics can be confusing if you have not seen it in the past.

por Daniel T O

Jan 27, 2020

There is such an incredible amount of useful information in the course. The information is paired with exceptional professors who communicate it extremely effectively. The lab sessions in this course are incredible and serve as a guide to implement techniques learned in the course (and to build on them) on new datasets. Thank you so much for putting this course on Coursera!

por Toan N

Jul 11, 2020

It's a great hands-on course. I've learnt a lot specifically how to refine the stock return statistics with Cornish-Fisher model, how to implement optimal portfolio, and Liability Driven Investing. Thanks a lot to the 2 course Instructors who've made great efforts in designing and delivering the course in such a way that it is easy grasp and follow.

por Yoon K Y

Jun 09, 2020

Fantastic hands on course on working with Python and financial information and modelling. Will definitely recommend this course to anyone technically capable and interested in portfolio management. Vijay was an excellent instructor with clear direction and explanations and his "mistakes" were even more insightful as he explained the common gotchas.

por Alexander D

Jan 26, 2020

Great course all-around. Extensive materials in both the theory and praxis. I really liked the code-along lab sessions (which are 100% bug free) and the exams, as those require you to actually perform calculations instead of just reciting parts of the classwork.

This course teaches a lot more than any other MOOC I have taken thus far on coursera.

por Sahil S

Jun 20, 2020

Very good course. Good mix of lectures and lab sessions. Despite having programmed in python and using numpy and pandas in the past, I learned a lot in the lab sessions and really enjoyed the hands on nature of them. I learned ideas that I feel I can actually use for my personal financial planning. Highly recommend doing this course!

por Judy N

May 24, 2020

I have been doing portfolio risk analysis using GNU R and have been looking for a good introduction to Python. The covered Python content is a great introduction to portfolio construction and analysis tools. Also the balance with the lectures is good. Looking forward to the advanced topics in the next module.

por Munawar D

May 30, 2020

Lionel step by step explanations makes it easy to follow and understand the main idea of the course even though the complexity increased towards the end. With Vijay's guide on analysis with Python, the course is easier to understand. The use of Python makes it easier to create many scenarios.

por Hoel E S

Apr 19, 2020

Very well explained, especially for me who was completely novice to Python.

I also came to love the accent of my fellow citizen sir Martellini. Overall, it gives a very good insight over the topic and I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who wants to better understand finance.

por Abusufyan I M

Apr 07, 2020

The course exceeded all my expectations. My profound gratitude to both instructors for democratizing education. Only through such platforms can students of knowledge acquire the best and most contemporary knowledge in their fields of interest. Thank you Coursera, for making it possible.

por Jiang X

Jun 06, 2020

Plenty of concepts that can help the beginner-intermediate finance professional. Lab sessions were great at developing python and finance skills. Use of python was very adequate for calculations that are tedious (e.g. Monte Carlo analyses or duration calculations).

por Alexander K

Nov 17, 2019

Finally i was able to replace my 12-tab excel with a jupyter notebook and a libraries.py!

I recommend going through this course while using your own broker's APIs to get the most out of it. Looking forward to more papers and advanced lectures ahead!

por Ahmed R

Jun 04, 2020

I have a PhD in nuclear physics and exactly in astroparticle physics and I found this course fantastic. I enjoyed every video from both professors. Thank you really for this opportunity to improve my skills in quantitative finance.

por Giulio F

Jun 26, 2020

Very well structured course, guides you towards a more comprehensive understanding of both python and financial markets. Vijay is an outstanding instructor and gives you plenty little tricks useful to be a "pythonish" programmer

por Jasper J

Apr 17, 2020

Awesome! Totally worth the money without a question! I had no previous programming experience and this course gave me the tools to analyse my portfolio and come up with better strategies than before, all with the help of Python!

por Brian H

Jan 22, 2020

Thanks to the instructors! While Lionel introduced the financial theory in a comprehensible way, Vijay's lab laid the fundaments for an even deeper understanding. I really enjoyed how the coding matched the financial theories.

por Veysel E T

Jun 25, 2020

Amazing course to learn modern portfolio theories along with Python skills. No previous experience needed in Python however it is easier to understand if you have a financial background on topics around portfolio management.

por Adrián C

May 06, 2020

This course is the best value for money. I was able to put what I learned into practice from the very first week. I have been able to automate many of the daily BAU processes of my job thanks to the valuable skills gained.

por Roozbeh G

Dec 04, 2019

What started as an effort to learn about investment, turned out to be the best Python lesson I had ever received. The long lab sessions taught me how to build a tool from scratch, during which I learned many Python tricks.

por Moreno C

May 16, 2020

Excellent course.

A perfect blend of theory (lectures) and practice (Python Labs).

In order to take full advantage of the course, it is desirable to have a previous knowledge of Python and of modern financial theory.