Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
1,185 calificaciones
233 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

Principales reseñas

LA

25 de may. de 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

SK

11 de oct. de 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 239 revisiones para Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

por Aneeqa U

5 de may. de 2021

The course is formulated very well and has been very useful for me to further my skills in real world statistical analysis

por Dr. M

14 de abr. de 2020

Worth taking this course. Concepts of sampling, distributions and hypothesis testing are taught very well by Professor.

por Wojciech M

14 de mar. de 2021

Well guided overview of basic statistics in the context of public health, a nice refresher or a way in for someone new

por Muhammad T U H

29 de nov. de 2020

It was a very great learning experience. Thanks Alex!! I learned the p-value very comfortably, highly recommended

por Rahul R

27 de oct. de 2020

This course is one of the hidden gems in Coursera. I really liked the simple explanations of complex concepts.

por José L

10 de may. de 2022

A​gile, fun, and insightful. I finally understood where things in statistics come from, and how to use them.

por Todd D

1 de oct. de 2019

Excellent introduction to the topic. Well-paced and prepares the learner for future courses. Very well done.

por Mai T N V

20 de dic. de 2020

Well-structured and useful even for freshmen. The R programming information is really practical and doable.

por MATIAS V O

1 de oct. de 2020

Es un gran curso para el profesional de salud que quiere introducirse en el conocimiento de estadística!

por kpodzah k D

21 de feb. de 2021

Course content appropriate for beginners into Health Data Analytics. Inspiring and I really enjoyed it.

por Dawn D

23 de abr. de 2020

Clearly explained, well produced videos. Excellent starter or refresher for basic statistical thinking.

por Laura M A M

21 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course, I totally enjoyed the Professors' attitude, the exercises in R and even by hand :).

por Hugo N B d G

20 de oct. de 2021

Um curso incrível! Vale muito a pena para conhecer melhor pesquisas desenvolvidas na área da saúde!

por Overs M

1 de nov. de 2021

A very good course . Thanks to Coursera for affording me such an opportunity to take this course.

por Asif K

14 de sep. de 2020

This course is very good and it has enhance my knowledge how to use R and also about the coding

por Katerina K

8 de jun. de 2019

An absolutely fantastic course. Compared with my course back at Uni, this is 100 times clearer.

por Md. I R

8 de oct. de 2020

This course is very important to learn basics of statistics & data analysis in public health.

por Tommy G

6 de jul. de 2019

Excellent course if you want to start using R for public health projects! 100% recommended!

por Kelly B

15 de abr. de 2020

Fantastic introduction to R, really enjoyed practising with the given dataset. Thank you!

por Ahmed M A M I

24 de feb. de 2021

i liked this course alot. the instructor was very nice and made me like statistics more.

por Don E

9 de jun. de 2020

Nice introductory course ... great videos, straight to the point just the right length.

por MD E P

11 de feb. de 2021

This course is really amazing for the data analysis in R program in Public health.

por Nirajan B

9 de may. de 2020

Fulfilled my expectation. Looking forward to other courses in the specialization.

por Miguel Á G W

15 de ene. de 2021

Great course: clear explanations, great videos and engaging learning experience.

por MS.SHWETA G

4 de dic. de 2020

well defined course and well organized and explainable syllabus

Really helpful