Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
1,167 calificaciones
233 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

Principales reseñas

SK

11 de oct. de 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

LA

25 de may. de 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 237 revisiones para Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

por Sarah A

29 de ago. de 2020

a brilliant introductory course to concepts in statistics as well as using R for statistical analysis. thoroughly enjoyed the engaging nature of the facilitator and numerous practice exercises, real-life examples and readings

por Thiago V

7 de may. de 2020

Perfeita introdução para uma área de estudos tão importante e relevante na atualidade, quero continuar minha formação nessa área, pois este curso me mostrou que estou no caminho certo! Obrigado professor Alex Bottle!

por Nevikaone

11 de nov. de 2021

the course is very informative with step by step of using R on statistical analysis basically descriptives and some test, the instructor is the best and explains each step properly which makes learning very easier.

por Cristiano F

8 de nov. de 2020

Great start to statistics after so long. I can't wait to learn more from the other courses on the specialization. It was fun, interesting, practical, thoughtful. Not easy but it is worthy.

por Cornelius C M

3 de nov. de 2021

T​his course is an excellent introduction to statistical analysis in public health. In addition, the course provides a useful start to the application of R in statistical analysis.

por Sam S

15 de sep. de 2021

a​ methodical way to understand statistics although focus is public health. the lecture open your prospctive to other industries in subtle ways, I also recommend ICL courses.

por Hernán C

5 de abr. de 2021

This is a great introductory course to statistics. It's very clear, logical, and the progression of topics it's perfectly accompanied by examples and practical exercises.

por Rupok C

10 de jun. de 2020

Excellent introductory course on statistics and its facts. It helps to assess several testings based on different data types and interpreting values using R programming.

por M T H P

17 de jul. de 2020

I liked the way the whole course has been designed. I never felt stressed up. It was all fun. The speaker was excellent in blending real life example with statistics.

por Nicholas Y

19 de abr. de 2020

Great introduction towards statistics in public health, with nice addition of R programming language. The material is meticulously explained and easy to understand.

por David G Á

4 de may. de 2020

Very good for an initial introduction to the topic. I think it is not a good stand alone course, it is ment to introduce to the next courses in the specialization.

por Hector P

6 de sep. de 2020

This course is great. I like how it is structured and the feedback after activities. Combines theory and practices in an efficient way. Congratulations.

por cliff w

28 de may. de 2020

Fantastic. Just what I needed as a doctor wanting to learn more about statistics. R is an amazing alternative to other programs such as STATA and SPSS.

por Mayur N

7 de abr. de 2019

Wonderful explanation and introduction to R programing. With minimal additional self learning you can easily master all of the content of the course.

por Lawrence O

20 de dic. de 2020

this is an excellent course, but more examples are needed for clarity, in video formats. We want to see the instructor working out examples on board

por Chandu P L

20 de may. de 2020

Loved the instructor. Everything was rightly pointed out. And lastly for me he looks like Thomas Shelby from British series Peaky Blinders. Haha.

por MUWANGA R J S

14 de mar. de 2020

Wonderful introduction to statistics or public health. Loved the lecturer. He was engaging, and able to make theoretical concepts more intuitive.

por Rechita S

12 de ago. de 2021

This foundation course is great for clearing up the concepts of Hypothesis testing in real-world scenarios. I found it really helpful! Thanks!

por HERBERT O

11 de mar. de 2021

The course is well organized, with relevant content and effective delivery. I recommend it to students of Statistics for a smooth introduction

por Shashwat T

25 de abr. de 2020

It is a highly recommended course with a bit of background knowledge. Background knowledge is required as it is a part of the Master's course.

por Samah A

7 de feb. de 2020

A short and precise introduction. Found it pretty basic but would definitely recommend it to anyone just starting out with statistics 👍

por Juan C M G

20 de feb. de 2021

Es un curso claro, retador y con ejemplos muy interesantes para quién busca introducirse al tema de salud pública y programación en R

por Vũ M L

30 de dic. de 2019

This is an excellent course, it helps me play a solid foundation about Biostatistics in particular and Public Health in General

por Dr G K

12 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course, good and short videos, good practice sections...Instructor delivers the content well in good flow and pace

por Swetha J

12 de abr. de 2020

Excellent content and methodology of teaching. Great mix of examples to understand the concepts and hands on analysis in R.