Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
754 calificaciones
162 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

Principales reseñas

SK

Oct 12, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

LA

May 26, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 162 revisiones para Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

por Anup K

Sep 07, 2019

Good Course

por ONUOHA C A

Jun 24, 2019

Outstanding

por Eddy A S M

Jun 03, 2019

Excelente!

por Jesús A O D

Apr 05, 2020

Ecxellent

por Jeshua R G

Mar 06, 2020

Excellent

por Lida M

Nov 11, 2019

Thanks.

por Kim S J

Jul 09, 2020

Good!!

por fabien M

Apr 10, 2020

I enjoyed the course.

I noticed a strong acceleration from week 2 to week 3, and in some case, it may be difficult for non native English speaker to answer correctly to the question (as it is formulated), event with years experience of high level business english (including in legal/contract analysis).

The course covers many aspects, but one may have to wait a little for some parts to be clarified (you may experience a lot of questions before getting the answer some lectures after

por Salsabil M

Apr 20, 2020

Indeed the course is great as a start. It is very focussed on public health, so it is suitable for those who are interested in medical research. It introduces the hypothesis formulation in an amazing way. In addition, it highlights the main commands in R that will set some grounds, yet one needs extra self-practice.

por Michelle W

Oct 13, 2019

The instructor is clear and engaging. I enjoyed the real world examples that were used. My only reason for less than 5 stars is the amount of reading in week 3/4. I very much prefer videos to introduce the concepts, and then perhaps additional readings for further information... More video please!

por SAVINO S

Sep 20, 2020

Very nice introduction, not so much watching but actually doing and reasoning with your head. This helps you going with your own pace. The professor is nice and informative and the course is well built. I liked to have the chance to explore some R and R studio along the studying. Well done!

por rob v m

Feb 08, 2020

Excellent course. Step by step approach. I appreciated the video's and the learning material in the background presented in the accompanied papers. In addition, the exam questions and quizes were in line with the discussed subjects.

por Shaswat L

Aug 03, 2019

This course covers up the very basic and important aspects of Statistics and Hypothesis Testing. What could have still been added were some more complex scenarios where this knowledge can be used and Hypothesis could be formulated.

por Amu o c

May 18, 2020

wonderfully delivered lectures. however as a newcomer to R statistical software, i had a tough time trying to complete the course. i guess there is a need for a beginner like myself to have an introduction to R

por Sanae M

May 04, 2020

It was a great experience where I was introduced to public health research and some of the basics of statistics in public health. The only problem I had is to get familiar with R because of technical issues.

por Victor I M

Aug 24, 2020

As I said, this is a good course for people who are looking for an introduction to statistical thinking. It only lacks R coding and simulations to exemplify rather than pen and paper.

por Bongi R

Jun 30, 2020

Challenging but very informative. Sometimes I was not clear on the concept but usually there was a discussion a couple of clicks away which elucidated things,

por Sandra D A

May 07, 2020

Buen curso, excelente cantidad de contenido. Creo que hay que tener un conocimiento mínimo de R. Me gustaron mucho los videos. Los ejercicios son excelentes.

por Xi F

Aug 17, 2019

Great course to start learning statistics in public health. I love the example data that are closely related to public health field. Thank you very much!

por Paul M

Oct 04, 2020

Good for me though I have done a fair amount of statistics previously. Still learnt useful nuggets to take away and it's getting me into using R.

por András K

Mar 16, 2020

The information is presented in a professional manner. However, these are far from reaching the level of an in-depth university course.

por Abhinav

Aug 10, 2020

a very good beginner's course for people who want to learn R for public health, i used the help of youtube with this course its v nice

por LUCAS M B

Sep 14, 2020

If it's your first time learning statistics you'll love it. If it's not your first time, it's a great way of refreshing knowledge.

por Paul F G

Oct 25, 2020

A good, general course for learning about public health and a little bit of the R programming language.

por Ainiah R R

Apr 30, 2020

I strongly enjoyed the refresher on how to apply the statistical tests with relevant data examples.