Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
1,166 calificaciones
233 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

Principales reseñas

SK

11 de oct. de 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

LA

25 de may. de 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 237 revisiones para Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

por rob v m

8 de feb. de 2020

Excellent course. Step by step approach. I appreciated the video's and the learning material in the background presented in the accompanied papers. In addition, the exam questions and quizes were in line with the discussed subjects.

por Shaswat L

3 de ago. de 2019

This course covers up the very basic and important aspects of Statistics and Hypothesis Testing. What could have still been added were some more complex scenarios where this knowledge can be used and Hypothesis could be formulated.

por Amu o c

17 de may. de 2020

wonderfully delivered lectures. however as a newcomer to R statistical software, i had a tough time trying to complete the course. i guess there is a need for a beginner like myself to have an introduction to R

por SANAE M

4 de may. de 2020

It was a great experience where I was introduced to public health research and some of the basics of statistics in public health. The only problem I had is to get familiar with R because of technical issues.

por Victor I M

24 de ago. de 2020

As I said, this is a good course for people who are looking for an introduction to statistical thinking. It only lacks R coding and simulations to exemplify rather than pen and paper.

por Debayan K

14 de may. de 2021

This is a great course for Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health. It covers all the necessary topics and provides a well designed learning structure.

por Bongi R

30 de jun. de 2020

Challenging but very informative. Sometimes I was not clear on the concept but usually there was a discussion a couple of clicks away which elucidated things,

por Sandra D A

6 de may. de 2020

Buen curso, excelente cantidad de contenido. Creo que hay que tener un conocimiento mínimo de R. Me gustaron mucho los videos. Los ejercicios son excelentes.

por Xi F

17 de ago. de 2019

Great course to start learning statistics in public health. I love the example data that are closely related to public health field. Thank you very much!

por Farouk H C

4 de abr. de 2022

very helpful and usfule course in what concerns the research field in every scientific domain. thanks for Dr tarabay who introduced us to this course

por Paul M

4 de oct. de 2020

Good for me though I have done a fair amount of statistics previously. Still learnt useful nuggets to take away and it's getting me into using R.

por András K

16 de mar. de 2020

The information is presented in a professional manner. However, these are far from reaching the level of an in-depth university course.

por Abhinav

10 de ago. de 2020

a very good beginner's course for people who want to learn R for public health, i used the help of youtube with this course its v nice

por LUCAS M B

14 de sep. de 2020

If it's your first time learning statistics you'll love it. If it's not your first time, it's a great way of refreshing knowledge.

por Sarana W

22 de may. de 2021

useful information however, the program was a bit tough to navigate for me, however once i figured it out it was smoother sailing

por Alireza R

5 de may. de 2022

some parts are extremely easy; other than that, it is suitable for students who want to learn statistics fundamentally

por Marco A J V B

6 de dic. de 2020

Very easy introduction to learn about statistics and to use the R system to get results from a database

por Paul F G

25 de oct. de 2020

A good, general course for learning about public health and a little bit of the R programming language.

por Ainiah R R

30 de abr. de 2020

I strongly enjoyed the refresher on how to apply the statistical tests with relevant data examples.

por Fidel G

25 de nov. de 2019

The course will make your mind to spin as you try to get the correct answer to the questions.

por Akshay k

4 de may. de 2020

A bit hard but very informative and required skills to learn through great professors.

por Maha

26 de jun. de 2019

very interesting course for a beginner in statistics with R

por Tania K M

10 de jul. de 2020

It was very interesting and amazing and very informative.

por Keming Z

17 de feb. de 2021

More details regarding hypothesis test can be included.

por 王心怡

28 de jul. de 2021

well,but i can't open the web about some assignment