Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
2,151 calificaciones
674 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

OM
26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

SV
29 de ago. de 2020

Exceptional course. Fantastic explaining by Professor Easdown, I wish more teachers were as clear as he is, and as kind and thoughtful towards their students. Many, many thanks in case you see this.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 670 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por jackson s q

11 de ene. de 2020

Whilest I greatly apreciated the consise nature of this course, sometimes I found that ample explination on particularly difficult topics was sorely lacking. Often techniques such as partial fraction decomposition would be assumed which is a problem for people entering into this course relatively blind to mathematics.

If this course is re-vamped then I think more depth would be a great addition especially in areas that are particular complex and require detailed understanding.

por Vaibhav K

20 de sep. de 2020

Though I will acknowledge in advance that I was already familiar with pre calculus but had lost the touch due to a few years gap. Course was excellent and I guess most of the concepts are reinforced once again. The notes at the chapter end will help greatly in revision.

por Erqing X

8 de oct. de 2019

Very participant-friendly course with excellent teaching and gradual difficulty adding, but some parts seem to be too basic, especially for Chinese students in the pre-calculus part, which undermines the efficiency of teaching.

por John F

2 de jun. de 2020

excellent review of major concepts. some of it required multiple viewings, but otherwise, it was fine.

por Ana T

9 de ago. de 2019

It is a great curse to learn the basic topics about Calculus, but it really is an introduction. The exercises aren't dificult, so I can't deep into this topics. Even though, the way it pretend to introduce the topics was great; I like it so much.

por Veethika G

15 de ago. de 2020

its a very good learning process for anyone who is starting or already knows calculus you will get your fundamentals revised as well as learned.

por Fred V

18 de oct. de 2020

Useful for teenage learning, catch-up learning, as well as refresh-learning. However, in the discussion forum, instructors verge on arrogance and indulge in fallacies. It is surprising to see, nowadays, instructors who blind students with their oversized egos.

por Chris

2 de oct. de 2020

Coursera woudn't let me unenroll from the course.

por Karin S

28 de jul. de 2020

This course is extraordinarily tough. I thought the illustrations were very helpful with connecting concepts and there were times I got excited seeing where things were going mathematically. The professor is very helpful and is very excited about the subject, which I greatly appreciate.

My only thing is that this course is horribly misnamed, but maybe the US and AUS have different standards for what is considered to be an introduction to calculus. You pretty much have 2 weeks pre-calc and then cover all of calc I over 3 weeks, plus some extra things to where I found it a bit overwhelming at times. If you're looking to level up your skills, he gives you some very helpful tools with which to do so.

por Brian L

23 de feb. de 2021

This is a brilliant course by David Easdown. As someone who is rather 'long in the tooth' I found that the course provided much needed engagement of the mental faculties during the UK lockdown. It' was also like reading a good book - just did not want it to end! David's presentation is remarkable - no words are wasted and every sentence is delivered with sublime precision and with obvious enthusiasm. Enjoyable, challenging and immensely satisfying throughout. The notes are just right and the exercises are incredibly absorbing and fun to do. I do hope that David and the Univ of Sydney can find the time and resources to put on a further course.

por Anna K

18 de feb. de 2021

Excellent course! I studied Calculus for two years in Russia and enrolled in the course mostly to learn the vocabularly in English, but I also enjoyed a great explanation of the subject and numerous excercieses that helped me to revise the material that I studied long time ago. I enjoyed the videos and the pdfs of the course very much! The course is well structured and allows to cover a lot of material in a short time. The teacher of the course, David Easdown, is a great encouraging presenter! He even replied himself to the question that I had. Thank you, David! Keep it up!

por 柳梦璃

1 de feb. de 2021

This is definitely the best calculus course I've ever taken! The teacher is so passionate and has a good sense of humor. I am so grateful that he explains the reasoning processes for all the formulas and theorems. This is the first time for me to understand the beauty and simplicity of math. I am impressed by the elegant and useful "e", and I am surprised to know the association between the exponential function and the logistic function (which I use a lot in biostatistics). Thanks again for this amazing course!

por Gabriel R

13 de feb. de 2021

The course is excellent. The videos convey the concepts clearly, and concisely. The instructor conveys knowledge and passion about the subject. The notes are well laid out, and contain relevant examples. I really appreciate the extra module at the end of week 5 tying it together to physics, as it's exactly what I want to apply this knowledge base to. Thank you!

por Brittney H

9 de jul. de 2020

Great course! Professor Easdown is so engaging - his enthusiasm for calculus and the material kept me going when it got tough. I had an introduction to calculus when taking a machine learning course, and decided that I wanted to understand the fundamentals better. This was the perfect course to choose to get down the basics! Thank you Professor Easdown : )

por Yasoda S K

2 de may. de 2020

An excellent course, which provides great insights. Although I think myself as good at mathematics, it proves to me I am not. Most of the quizzes are designed very effectively to test the understanding. I really sense the challenge while answering graded quizzes. The material instructor provides is really helpful for understanding and revising concepts

por Charles W

17 de jun. de 2020

Professor Easdown's obvious enthusiasm is matched only by his attention to detail. I'm thoroughly impressed at how well he breaks down each and every concept into clear, concise explanations that successively build on each other. I honestly wasn't sure what to expect from calculus, but I now feel that I have a solid understanding of the subject matter.

por Uriel C A

5 de abr. de 2020

Un excelente curso donde no solo aprenderás Cálculo, sino desarrollaras otras habilidades matemáticas a medida que se avanza en el curso y por lo menos desde mi opinión aprender a ver el cálculo desde otra perspectiva y sus aplicaciones de la mente de unas de las instituciones más importantes del mundo. La verdad me voy muy satisfecho de este Curso.

por Eren K

18 de ago. de 2020

I really loved this course, with my bare Calculus knowledge from highschool. Thanks to the venerable lecturer, I have remembered all my knowledge from the scratch, and I think that I have done this by apprehending all the topics. Thanks Sydney University and Mr. Easdown, I am pleased for attending this priceless course! Greetings from Turkey.

por Pauline P

30 de jun. de 2020

This was an excellent introduction to calculus. It was well presented, well set out and logically explained. I really enjoyed following each step, I found the quizzes and assessments a challenge, but with careful attention to the videos and notes not impossible. Thank you Professor Easdown, you have inspired me to dig deeper into calculus.

por D S A A

26 de oct. de 2019

Thank you for this introductory course on calculus! I was not in touch with mathematics for a while now. It really helped me to recapture my memories of calculus from the school. I am thinking of getting back to studies again with a master's course, hopefully on computational science. I believe this course would prove to be really helpful.

por Umesh S

18 de ago. de 2020

Must say , one of best courses I have gone so far. Mr. David ( instructor) has such a passion while explaning concepts that you simply fall in love with his teaching methods. Thanks a lot Sir !!!

His eyes , facial expression and breathing makes you feel that its not maths you are listening but a wonderful story like Lord of the rings !!!

por John R

15 de nov. de 2020

Thank you for a very enjoyable course. I had studied calculus many years ago but with this course, I finally understood it. I enjoyed the references to the parts played by the many mathematicians who constructed the 'house of calculus'. I was sorry to come to the end of the course. Maybe the rumour was true - you can enjoy calculus.

por Mrunmoy S

27 de ene. de 2020

I was looking for a refresher course on Calculus and found this one. This course is just what I was looking for and it not only gave me a refresher but also gave me good ideas to solve tricky problems. So so thankful to David for this course. If you're looking to start calculus or need a refresher, this is a superb one to start with.

por Jessica E S P

30 de may. de 2020

The course was more than I expected. All the instructions, videos and lectures were carefully designed, using the different representations of each mathematical concept, allowing me to interpret them geometrically. Also, each quiz evaluated the contents of each task in a very similar way to the way they were taught. Thanks for all!

por Jiateng X

8 de mar. de 2020

Well, as a Chinese student who suffered so many hell-like math tests, I would say this course is extremely easy for me... But it really arouses my interest in math again! Can you believe once I was concerned that me myself was not good at science? Anyway, I am sure calculus can be helpful in my future study. Thanks professor!