Chevron Left
Volver a Java for Android

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Java for Android por parte de Universidad Vanderbilt

4.5
estrellas
1,444 calificaciones
373 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Principales revisiones

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

SP

Nov 17, 2019

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 367 revisiones para Java for Android

por Steve A

Jun 24, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this to student who has never programmed in any computer language before. A bright, aggressive, student could learn this material with help of online examples, etc. The basic language features, etc, are pretty straight forward, but the object oriented features are probably too advanced for someone 3 weeks into programming. As an experienced programmer in other languages (C++ / Python / Perl) I found it was about the right pace to do in addition to my real job, and am looking forward to the rest of the series coming online.

por Po T M

Feb 25, 2020

I like the first course of the class because it really teaches the fundamentals of android java programming. However, I think most people get pretty frustrated over the final project because many of them have to wait for a long time to get at least 5 peer reviews in order to complete this course. I would suggest any course learners should voluntarily peer-review more than required such that all of us can get to finish the course and get the certificates quickly.

por Christopher A

Apr 22, 2016

A good introduction to java programming, the mentor team was really helpful and interactive and it was a pleasure to interact with them!

Unfortunately, it is clear that this course still needs to be polished: some assignments contained mistakes or where even bugged. Mistakes and bugs have been fixed when they were reported but it still left an "amateur" aftertaste (especially considering that we had to wait for a few weeks for this course).

por Yu A C

Nov 08, 2019

This course talk about basic java coding with android studio. It is useful for beginner who doesn't have coding background. However, the version of android code examples are too old! The compileSdkVersion is 22, and gradle version is 2 in all example. Students need spend lots of time to study how to update the gradle and sdk version. I think the updating version skill is very important in this course but doesn't taught in class.

por David F

Feb 06, 2018

Each modual has a summary video at the beginning and then each video summarizes what they are going to cover in the video AND each video has a summary at the end of the video summarizing what they covered! it is very redundant and annoying, but i just skipped ahead on each video to get to the relevant content.

Good content though, learned a lot once i started skipping ahead on the videos.

por James M

Aug 05, 2016

It's a good course, but you do need programming experience. Also, takes twice as much time as they say, at least. Also, third week of course has a lot of work, while fourth week has very little. Would be nice to balance them out. I did get a lot out of the course and plan to continue with this specialization.

por Nathan W

Jun 21, 2018

Very nice course, learned a great deal.I couldn't really say I learned much that was relevant to Android so there's just no need to go into the Android side of things. It does set you up nicely for the courses which do go into Android however.Would enjoy more assignments if possible, however.

por Daniel J

Jun 12, 2017

Really good and well thought through course. It's also a lot of information and concepts for anyone who hasn't studied any kind of computer programming before. I think the average of 5-6hrs a week commitment is very optimistic, even with background knowledge.

por Jaimin P

Apr 25, 2017

this course is for very beginner in java or in coding so recommended this course to only those who are beginner otherwise it is good if you loose your hands on programming then to cleanup your hands it's very helpful

por Sahil C

Dec 05, 2019

Awesome course for the beginners but the version of android studio is old.. If the course is done using the latest version of android studio then it will be the best course for the beginners.

por Соломонов М А

Apr 05, 2018

Course consist from small number of real tasks. This course is more theoretical. You will have some new knowledge from this course if you are already have programming experience.

por Ayush S

Dec 18, 2017

The course is excellent.However it could have been much better if the assignments would have been more difficult.They are too basic.They should have been more challenging.

por Niladri R

May 21, 2016

Content was good. But organization could have been better. Assignments and auto-grader had issues and the problem statements were modified during the course.

por TCHEUSSI L I S

May 09, 2016

Good course!!. the approach is well-balanced (no superficial and at the same time not too much professional). The quiz are done very well.

por Natraj n c

Apr 01, 2018

I loved this course and mainly It's assignments. I liked the practical way of learning which means assignment after each and every topic

por Adam K

Feb 20, 2017

Good course but I think it is better for peaple with some programming background and be prepered for third week, it is lot to do.

por Archisha S

Jan 27, 2020

Very good and well organised content. The focus is more on Java and there is not much learning about android as such.

por Shashi R

Sep 20, 2018

Nice course for those who have some basic knowledge of java and want to start learning Android. it helped me a lot.

por Rajatendu D

Oct 25, 2018

Course was extremely good and full of knowledge but the loop assignment was extremely hard for beginners

por Zhiqiang W

Sep 05, 2019

the description of the assignment can be more detailed, which will help beginners to understand

por Nasharat h a u

Jun 19, 2018

i want to learn something new about java for android so i think this is better way for me...

por Yesid A A O

Aug 03, 2016

Awesome content, all the requiered foundations for the real beginning in the Android world.

por Mandy

Dec 02, 2016

Pretty much code assignments help to understanding the concepts. Quite good for beginners.

por piyush p

Apr 17, 2016

Excellent introduction to the world of Android. Crisp and well-delivered lectures.

por Yashika V

Jun 06, 2019

Productive course with excellent learning outcomes and learning assignments.