Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.1
estrellas
52 calificaciones
17 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides an introduction to the Java language and object-oriented programming, including an overview of Java syntax and how it differs from a language like Python. Students will learn how to write custom Java classes and methods, and how to test their code using unit testing and test-driven development. Topics include basic data structures like Arrays and ArrayLists and overloading methods....

Principales reseñas

VK
11 de may. de 2021

The course is very good, however it would be really nice to have at least one lecture about Object-Oriented Design in it.

SA
20 de may. de 2021

It is a great practical introduction course with challenging assignments.

Filtrar por:

1 - 17 de 17 revisiones para Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming

por Yingying G

10 de abr. de 2021

There are so many inconsistencies that require extra student efforts but not to the benefits of the course. For example, a concept or syntax is introduced in a homework but will only be introduced in the chapter after this homework. There are also some minor errors in the homework, e.g. in HW4, the given method is 'public int get(index)' but when you run it in Codio, it will only pass if you realize the element in 'arr' is an Integer and change the method name to 'public Integer get(index)'. This might not be a big deal for an experienced SDE, but costs too much meaningless time for Java beginners which are who this course is aimed at.

por Patrick R

30 de mar. de 2021

Course is not yet ready for prime time. The autograders have several bugs, and too few students have taken this course series for it to be fixed, making for a frustrating learning experience. Recommend another Java class until Penn gets this sorted.

por Sepideh A

21 de may. de 2021

It is a great practical introduction course with challenging assignments.

por Андрей П

29 de mar. de 2021

Good for beginners. Despite the fact that this is the third course in specialization, the initial assignments are quite simple, which makes it easy to get familiar with syntax of language before you dive into OOP.

por Veronika K

12 de may. de 2021

The course is very good, however it would be really nice to have at least one lecture about Object-Oriented Design in it.

por Deleted A

6 de abr. de 2021

Cool course, a lot of pain through one of the homeworks!

por Kenta N

23 de ago. de 2021

Very clear explanation! The best Java intro!

por Himanshu G

12 de jul. de 2021

Very good to start Java with!

por Maxwell F

6 de sep. de 2021

Fantastic course that teaches quite a bit about object oriented programming. Learn about how Java handles variables, arrays, casting, polymorphism, and more.

My only gripe was the final homework on week 3 had a few problems that made it extremely annoying to complete. You must fix the public static void main function in the homework download, as it's messed up. Also when handling packages the compiler doesn't see the package – so I got a class not found error. Lastly though the program tests perfectly on Eclipse, you must cast your variable in assertEquals which was annoying.

por Dr G S

12 de jun. de 2021

The course content is good. But instead of codio, if you implement Peer Review system it will be very useful to all. In case, instead of codio, if the students are assigned Java program and asked to submit with in the dead line, it will be a Good opportunity for learning Java for all. Because codio system will reduce number of passing students. Simple Quiz and Peer Review process is enough. This is my humble suggestion.

Dr.G.Srinivasan

por Cecilia P T

5 de feb. de 2021

Codio gave me a lot of issues with saying I had errors on lines of codes that were provided in the assignment - lines that I didn't touch. It was frustrating to deal with. This course was definitely more challenging than the previous two. I wish the Staff were able to explain our errors to us or a fellow classmate in the forum. It was lonely and I spent hours on the internet trying to teach myself Java.

por Laura M

26 de abr. de 2021

A lot of people are complaining about issues with Codio - but I really didn't have any of that. There was a glitch in my codio that I asked to get corrected, but it was corrected right away. If anything, having to struggle with codio was a learning process for me. Now I feel like I understand debugging much better.

The programming HW assignments were SUPER helpful. I learned a lot! Thanks!

por Yu L

24 de jul. de 2021

The course is a very practical introduction to Java - especially when you're already familiar with OOP in Python. The coding demonstration videos are extremely helpful and I learned the most by coding alongside the professor. The course assignments are engaging, despite some minor discrepancies of my local environment and the grading environment which took some debugging time.

por Anne L

5 de abr. de 2021

Great course to learn object oriented programming in Java. It was nice that testing was included. Could probably go a little deeper into casting and collections.

por Dhruv M

5 de abr. de 2021

Course videos and lecture slides were easy to follow.

por alex Z

28 de jul. de 2021

hard

por Ziyao C

1 de jun. de 2021

If you did 200 + Leetcode, the week 1 and week 2 classes will be too simple for you. I did not learn much. I hope it explains concepts deeper