Chevron Left
Volver a Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Java Programming: Principles of Software Design por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
795 calificaciones
133 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

Principales revisiones

OI

Aug 08, 2019

My confidence level in Java programming has grown significantly since completing this specialisation. It gave me the necessary knowledge and practice I need to take up a role as a software engineer.

MN

Feb 26, 2017

This nicely packaged course is learner centered. It engages the learner by enforcing practice through interesting exercises and quizzes. Kudos and Thumbs up to the team of great instructors

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 129 revisiones para Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

por Roman

Feb 06, 2016

Excellent course! The best Java course on Coursera!

por Chew W Y

Jun 17, 2016

Fun course with some long lectures. I found the material to be quite challenging.

por Manuel A A T

Mar 24, 2017

Easy to follow in most cases, great coding exercises and outstanding organization of the contents delivered. Highly recommended.

por SMRUTI R D

Apr 06, 2016

It is an excellent course for those who intend to know different design constructs in java. The course material, practice quizes and tests are designed to help the student apppreciate and be reasonably proficient in these aspects. My sincere gratitude to the professors and their team for this successful program.

por Hail B

Jan 13, 2016

Love! Highly recommended for beginners!

por Edward F

Jun 10, 2017

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

por Michael B

Mar 31, 2016

Excellent course and well integrated with the other courses in the Specialization of which it is part.

por Brian B

Mar 20, 2016

This class probably isn't as good as the previous two--but those had such high quality, they're hard to compete with.

Overall, I continued to become a bit more comfortable with java and learned some things that might help me with my data science potential in the future!

por Douglas H

Dec 26, 2015

Great course. Lots of great programming assignments.

por Jonathan G T I

Jan 13, 2016

A self contained course wherein you learn basic objected oriented design principles that is often missed out in the industry during software development.

This course gave me a new perspective at software design. Coming from a procedural programming, this course helped me approach problems in a much higher level, easing the creation of a solution to a problem.

por Yu C

Dec 08, 2017

The last section of Week 3 could be improved further.

por Pranta K B

Jan 24, 2016

Nice Course .. :D

por Christian A H

Feb 29, 2016

pretty good, week 3 was challenging for me and the concepts of interface and so on. but in my opinion it should be this way for the learner to have problems and try solving them. Discussions were always helpful and am looking forward to the object oriented programming from San Diego university

por AKASH K S

Jan 18, 2017

good and Engaging course require good understanding of course material to solve the assignment.

por David N M

Apr 14, 2016

Not as challenging as the previous courses but still a very good course to continue learning Java. Thank you!.

por Kandis B

Jun 07, 2016

This was a great course, but it was very difficult. I am currently taking a 300 level Data Structures and Algorithm class in Java and relied on some things I learned from that course to help me finish this one. Still, I hit a few road-blocks on programs that held me back for a few weeks until I could find an answer. There were times where I wasn't sure about the specifications. I also needed to use Eclipse on the final program to help find some errors. I spent between 10-20 hours per week on this course. It would have been very helpful to go through the course with someone or a group or have a person that I could email a copy of my code to for suggestions. Overall, I am really glad I took the course. I learned a lot!

por Arislan M

Feb 22, 2016

Great!

por María V D

May 08, 2018

I´m really shocking with the course, because integrate all concept, start a new concepts, and I´m felling great for accomplished. Thank you team teacher´s for the opportunity, you are great.

por Xiaochun M

May 18, 2017

Very good!

por Obada A

Jul 03, 2017

tank you

por Rayhaan P

Feb 28, 2016

Great course, enjoyed and learned a lot from it! Highly recommended! :)

por Tang Y S

Jun 12, 2016

Good course! The programming exercises are will planned to reinforce the concepts learnt in the video lectures.

por Tian

Mar 23, 2016

The teacher is very comprehensive and very serious.. I have learned a lot, thanks.

por Rudik E

Jan 18, 2016

It' great as usual!!!! Thank you!

por Musa M N

Feb 26, 2017

This nicely packaged course is learner centered. It engages the learner by enforcing practice through interesting exercises and quizzes. Kudos and Thumbs up to the team of great instructors