Chevron Left
Volver a Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System, Duke University

4.7
262 calificaciones
46 revisiones

Acerca de este Curso

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

Principales revisiones

por GW

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

por CT

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

Filtrar por:

43 revisiones

por David Hunter

Dec 11, 2018

A great capstone for this specialization. One quibble is with the time estimates: all the reading assignments are marked as taking 10 minutes, which is probably true: just reading and understanding the reading will probably take that long. However, these assignments also task the student with writing code which is impossible to write in 10 minutes. Throughout the specialization, I often took between 1-7 hours to complete a reading/coding assignment. So the time commitment that they advertise is totally out of whack with reality.

That said, the material is mostly well-presented and interesting and the coding practice does give you good experience of what it is like working in Java.

por Chris Taylor

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

por Martin Gallauner

Jul 18, 2018

Didn't liked this course. Maybe I excepted more from the idea to build a recommendation system

por Lei Huang

Jun 10, 2018

Very interesting project!

por Diar Selimi

Feb 26, 2018

good course and very interesting things to learn.

por 蒋恬梦

Feb 07, 2018

Thanks to all the teachers!!

por Makiko Oshimatani

Dec 20, 2017

Enjoyed it!

por YiFan (Rico) Zhu

Dec 12, 2017

Fantastic course! The instructors were very engaging, the lessons were varied and provided me with a wide variety of information in the field. After completely this course, I definitely feel much more confident working in this field.

por Devul Nahar

Nov 05, 2017

This course has a perfect capstone project, that really requires all of your understanding from the previous courses to come together. The Movie Recommended System may seem challenging as little help is provided to help you make it, but once you finally make it, its one of the best things you can show off. Thanks for an amazing course!

por 于泽众

Sep 13, 2017

nice