Chevron Left
Volver a Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
2,632 calificaciones
522 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Principales revisiones

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

CC

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 511 revisiones para Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

por Rathna S

May 16, 2017

I have just started the course, but it is way over my head. This should clearly be marked as intermediate, advanced or marked as for people already in IT industry.

por German

May 12, 2019

I'm so glad I've found this amazing course! Thank you!

por Hasan Ç

Feb 11, 2018

It was very instructive course. I recomend every people who want to take this course. I thank all the instructors who gave this lesson.

por Yuming C

Jun 03, 2019

A good experience! The programming exercise is interesting!

por Hanna B

Jun 02, 2019

Thanks a lot for improving my skills! This course is really great to succed in Java as a beginner:) A lot of interesting practical tasks!

por Sergey S

May 21, 2019

Second week was a bit difficult to work with.

por Saunak S

Mar 26, 2019

Good practical use cases of Java have been given. The challenging quotient on some of the questions can be increased. For instance, the use of arrays to process CSV files, etc. But it was refreshing to do a Java course that didn't focus on the usual syntax and semantics but looked at real life examples.

por Lucas N

Mar 22, 2019

To say this course is for beginners is a misnomer.

I think if one has some familiarity with another programming language then yes - this could be a beginner course. I came into this course with zero formal programming knowledge and was completely overwhelmed by the pace and material. This course does not give the students any/enough "small wins" to build muscle memory and gain confidence.

I was drawn in by assumed time for completion. 4-8 hours/week sounded pretty good for the schedule of a working adult, however the 10-minute "assignments" consistently took me 6+ hours (most of the time spent calling/screen-sharing with my developer friend for help). Again, I think if one already has some programming knowledge (and therefore not *really* a 'beginner') then yes, this would probably take them that amount of time.

I folded almost at the end of week 2. To echo another review here, it seems the instructors forgot what it is like to be a beginner. The instructors assume too much about what their students know. Really kicking myself for spending the money trying to limp through this course.

If you are like me and starting without any experience, there are plenty of alternative free material actually geared towards 'beginners' that will give you the context and practice needed to actually comprehend the course material.

por shelby p

Feb 11, 2019

Really poor course structure and material explanations. Canceling subscription.

por Arjun B

Jan 25, 2019

Very difficult beginner course but possible with all the discussion forums and such but will require hours and hours of practice and time. Overall good course but time consuming and difficult for a beginner who is just starting out with programming. Not so bad for people with a few months or years of experience though which is why I'm giving 4/5 stars but would have given 2/5 stars from a beginner's perspective.

por Mayank K

Jun 24, 2019

Now I am confident to write and understand difficult java codes.

por SAPTARSHI D

Jun 20, 2019

nice

por Krishna K

Jun 15, 2019

Pretty basic course if you have done any programming. It is pretty well designed. I don't recommend programming in bluej if you done some programming before. The environment is pain to use. Text editors all the way!!

por Jesús M L

Jun 15, 2019

Perfect

por Nikolay A

Jun 14, 2019

Quality of material provided and support decreased from previous course.

por Han C

Jun 13, 2019

A course to help you learn java programming independently from scratch, good assignment questions.

por Nikita B

Jun 11, 2019

good course very efficient to improve programming

por AKSHAY Y

Jun 01, 2019

Good Course

por Lev P

May 29, 2019

Great course I liked it so much

por MADHUSUDHAN D

May 26, 2019

it could not be more great!!!. it totally wonderful how they teach things in simpler forum and they make you enough capable to solve all assignments on your own. forum is so useful during throughout this course. every query of yours get solve there. Simply amazed thnku so much coursera.

por Santiago H T

May 24, 2019

Excelente curso!!!

por Bryce L Z H

May 22, 2019

This was more challenging than course 1

por BingliangLan

May 22, 2019

This course is very instructive and easy to understand. Highly recommend!

por Jyotinder S

May 19, 2019

Really practical course content with great tutorials. The programming assignments are fun and challenging and deal with real world data and problems which makes the course all the more useful!

por Hao X

May 19, 2019

This is a good course for introductory Java Programming. I just think the learning curve is kind of steep in the first week. The following weeks get easier as long as you grasp the new concepts and templates in OOP.