Chevron Left
Volver a Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
estrellas
5,578 calificaciones
1,160 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Principales reseñas

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filtrar por:

1101 - 1125 de 1,143 revisiones para Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

por Esau O L

May 15, 2020

This is not a beginner's course and some questions are not easy as the staff rated, I think is a good course for intermediate people. To answer all the quizzes section you might investigate a lot. We got a life too! Many of us are not in school anymore we have a job and a family. My recommendation, please explain a little more the programming structures like CSVParses is a list or something? I never got it.

PD: The way you use tricky questions is not good to improve programming skills, please put hint at least i.e. " What is the number of boys' names in the file yob1905.csv?"

Regards.

por Shahid Z

Jan 01, 2018

I Just can't understand why the instructors make simple concepts difficult to understand. Take the example of functions video, why you need nesting of function, calling function inside a function when you explaining function for the first time. for God sake this course required no programming knowledge. I learned programming (10 years ago) and yet i am feeling difficulty to understand your complex definition and explanation of a simple language concepts. i am doing this course for the sake of DUKE Certificate otherwise i give this course 1 Star.

por Viktoriia A

Nov 01, 2015

The course is just terrible.

It leaves an impression of being unfinished. There's a lot of knowledge missed out from lectures while being expected from the student in the quizzes.

Lecturers themselves have a very vague understanding of how java works and how to code in real life. What they say in some lectures is very misleading and gives either false or just insufficient understanding of certain mechanisms.

The examples are overcomplicated. They demand a full concentration on domain knowledge rather than on programming itself.

por Borsós A B

Jul 01, 2019

Bad organized, too many typos, errors, uncleared and illogic things in the Assignments. I am almost at the end, but now I really quitting this stuff. I liked the Programming C from the Duke, but this one is a total mess. There are no Instructors and Teaching Staff to talk to in the Forums, just some Mentors, but that is not a big help, this Course is total left alone from the Authors. Andy Hilton is a good guy, should read the discussions and correct the errors!

por Konrad D

Jan 23, 2016

Does very little to actually help you learn JAVA. Explains nothing about why the language works as it does.. Also it insists on you using their libraries and programming environments. You spend perhaps 20% of your time actually practicing coding, and the rest is wasted in libraries you will never use again. Such a waste

por Bill Z

Apr 15, 2016

If you are a real beginner like me (having zero or little programming knowledge) and your time is limited, I think this course (or the specialisation) is not suitable for you. The assignments and quizzes are very time consuming. One week I spent literally 30+ hours writing and debugging codes for just one quiz.

por Cameron F

Aug 05, 2020

Some algorithms the instructors implement are very inefficient (searching through a whole string three times when what we want could be right at the start).

Also making their own simpler data types rather than just teaching the java built in data types seems like an odd choice. Learners want to learn java!

por Crystal H

Sep 25, 2017

Assignments are too advanced compared to the videos given. 7 minutes was spend showing how to code. However the entire final quiz on week 1 expects you to code new things that which were never shown in videos without any help. This was not the case in the 1st class in this series.

por Martina A S

Oct 09, 2020

There are to much requirements expeted to solve this course. It isn't for beginner, because there are no explanations about the basics.

You can learn the Seven-Step-Approach, but not how to translate the human language into Java. The first example is to complex for a beginner.

por Deep P

Jun 25, 2020

I think, it does have enough information and does not good explanation video quality also poor. Using BlueJ which I don't like because in the real world no one using BlueJ. I am looking for a deep learning concept which I could not find in this course!

por Алексей

Sep 16, 2018

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process. Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

por Ankit G

Oct 20, 2015

Poor, very poor course, worse course structure. Instructor hasn't put any thoughts in how they should strucutre this course.Cover no basics, assumes lots of thing and term this course as beginner for Java where actually there is no Java taught.

por Amir M O

May 24, 2016

Poorly designed and explained. You do not really gain much knowledge from this course.

I would not recommend my friends and basically others to take this course. There are far better courses out there for much cheaper prices.

por MD. S H S

May 08, 2020

This course is not a beginner course and can't understand what was the course motive to teach a student. For me, it was a total waste of time. Full of disappointment!!!

por Steven B

May 11, 2020

Complete lack of support from instructors. Questions were not clearly answered and only led to more confusion. Instructions for assignments contradictory to lessons.

por John M C

Feb 16, 2020

Really poor job teaching java programming. I'm a beginner at coding at the teachers teaching this course are terrible. I don't want to take this course.

por Gargi K

Jan 29, 2020

The assignments could be a little more well suited to people from varying backgrounds.

The current assignments are a little difficult for beginners.

por Hamel H

Jan 03, 2016

Teaches you Java in a "toy" environment (Blue Jay) would be helpful to learn Java in Eclipse or another IDE that you would normally work in.

por Francois M

Jan 26, 2016

Use very specific environment that cannot be used in practice in the the Real World.

For a much better course, use UC San Diego versions.

por Kartikey p

Jul 13, 2018

Not organised properly. And it is stated that this course is for beginners. But the concepts and their usage is not properly explained.

por Ibrahim H

Oct 26, 2016

Paying for course just to learn how to loop and make if else statements... I don't think this is the best way to learn java!

por MD S H

Sep 06, 2020

VERY POORLY STRUCTURED.ASSIGNMENTS ARE LENGTHY AND TOUGH AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR IT ARE NOT CLEAR

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR BEGINNERS

por Jennifer T

Oct 03, 2019

STRONGLY DISAPPOINTED! VERY CONFUSING! DON'T PAY FOR THIS -- NOT WORTH IT! This class is very poorly designed.

por Alam M

Mar 16, 2020

I don't recommend this course at all. The example and quiz seems tedious. Worst part is using the BlueJ.

por Ryan W

Apr 04, 2016

This course is not suitable for beginners at all, everything basic is skipped. Highly not recommended