Chevron Left
Volver a Improvisación de jazz

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Improvisación de jazz por parte de Berklee College of Music

4.8
estrellas
702 calificaciones
231 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn the basic concepts of improvisation from Gary Burton, one of the most renowned improvisers in the jazz world, including the mental, melodic, and harmonic processes that contribute to the instinctive skills that an improviser puts to use when taking a solo. While many people are fans of jazz and understand that musicians are often “making up” the notes they are playing during a performance, most people—often including musicians, themselves, who are beginning to learn improvising—aren’t clear about what exact processes take place to enable this to happen. The purpose of this course is to introduce the basic concepts of modern improvisation and how to go about mastering the different musical and mental skills involved. Course author Gary Burton codifies a sought-after approach to improvisation that has been at the core of Berklee College of Music's curriculum for decades. Students who complete this course will know what to practice and how to practice the various aspects of improvising, in addition to understanding how the improviser spontaneously communicates to the listeners through their musical creations....

Principales reseñas

IO

Apr 19, 2017

It was productive and interesting time. I learnt a lot of new things and got much fun improving my improvisation skills.\n\nCite from course: You will have plenty to keep you busy in the months ahead.

MG

Nov 20, 2016

This was a truly great course, I learnt so much. And I have been playing piano for almost 60 years! Thanks to a wonderful teacher and musician (brilliant rendition of Chick Corea's Crystal Silence)

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 228 revisiones para Improvisación de jazz

por sunghooneom

Nov 22, 2015

Good

por vo n q m

Oct 27, 2015

good

por Martins J d S F

Jul 27, 2016

A

por Jerry T

Oct 07, 2019

Excellent mini course on the rudiments of the language of jazz improvisation.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the website isn't as clear and direct showing how to navigate to find an answer to a question you may have -- other than the forum. If there was a way to have direct contact with a mentor via Live Chat or Phone call or even email?? I'd have given this 5 stars. The one email I sent in with a question I never got a response other than she was going to look into it and "get back to me." Never did.

Gary Burton was of course a great instructor!

por Alex L

Jan 02, 2018

As a newcomer to jazz (classical background), it took me a while to figure out how to apply the concepts and sound good. I particularly would've liked demonstrations/ analysis of these improv techniques by musicians over real music. Also, the quality of peer evaluations was sometimes inconsistent (this may be inherent in peer learning). Other than that, my musicianship improved and I would recommend this course.

por Dakota S L

Nov 18, 2019

It's pretty cool that a jazz musician with such significant experience taught the course - Gary is definitely knowledgeable, to say the least. He explained concepts well and made everything tie in together nicely. The assignments are somewhat difficult for a beginner in jazz. My only real criticism is that there should be more examples, particularly with guide tones and picking the right scale.

por John S

Oct 08, 2016

I definitely learned some new things during the course. Some of the explanations were a bit concise for someone with limited experience wth improvisation. That is understandable given the length and cost of this course. I would recommend it to others to gain some new knowledge and get a feel for taking online courses from Berklee via Coursera.

por Arpana D

Feb 25, 2016

Excellent and Challenging! Learnt a lot and if you are working toward a certificate you really need to set aside time to earn a pass for each assignment.

Few glitches when it came to grading and assignment instructions. BUT the discussion board is really helpful and interactive. The TA's also provide timely help.

por Tomas K

Jan 31, 2020

It was a great 5 weeks course, although I needed an extra week to complete it because of my busy life. I learned about the most important elements in jazz improvisation. In particular the instructional videos was very helpful. Now I have absorbed plenty of information to continue on my own for a long time.

por Martina M M

Feb 27, 2018

I found some mistakes of notations, but in general it was good. As a singer I miss everytime I study improvisation a more careful view to the aspects of vocal expertise but it was good to practice and the course is very well structured.

por Jhonatan

Sep 02, 2015

this is a good course, just I thing who want enroll the course need a few knows about music, but really I recommend the course

por OLIVE G

Jun 06, 2020

Too precise and important points and case studies were enough to make us understand about the roots of proper Improvisation.

por Tilen

Jan 18, 2016

Great lessons i would hope it would be more extensive in terms of lessons. I hoped for more detailed technical music theory.

por Ognjen Š

Nov 19, 2016

It is generally a good course. What I didn't like was the fact that the assignments were too hard.

por nino p

May 21, 2020

Quality of lectures excellent, exercises excellent,

Peer review there is room for improvement

por David Z

Feb 17, 2017

Great course, the peer-editing could be improved or find a different mode of judgement.

por Paulo J M d S

Aug 16, 2015

Informative and interesting.

It could be more complete in my opinion.

Burton is great.

por Matthew A

Nov 14, 2017

This is great! very straight forward and challenging...

por Carlos B

Nov 17, 2015

Very good!

But it isn't for beginner players.

por Kunal D

Jun 07, 2016

Great Course !

por Angelene M S V

Nov 13, 2015

Very good and simplified instruction. But I think it needs one more week discussion to improve improvisation. Also, grades are usually late.

por Adrian C

Dec 16, 2015

The teacher is great at performing but the pace of the class is way too fast for me.

The assignment is hard.

But, hey, that's Berklee.

por Richard G

Dec 02, 2019

Knowledgeable instructor but the material did not come across well.

por brian b

Aug 19, 2019

Keep trying to understand.

por Michael S

Jan 24, 2016

The class covered a good variety of subjects to learn. There are some key areas of improvement:

1) You should build more examples in the lectures. The lectures were short to start with, but adding more examples and passages would have helped.

2) Xylophone is perhaps the worst instrument to use to teach this course, especially with the camera facing the front of the xylophone. It was very hard to see what notes were being hit by the mallets (especially when using chords) and therefore it was very difficult to understand (visually) what Gary was doing. I suggest using a keyboard and having the camera shooting from the above of the keyboard (look at how several people have done this on YouTube). This way you can see what notes are being hit, held, and you can see them from a pianist's view.

The material was good, but because of the two areas above the teaching was not as effective.