Chevron Left
Volver a English for Journalism

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Journalism por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
1,922 calificaciones
638 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

CS

Jul 13, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA

Feb 19, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 618 revisiones para English for Journalism

por Igor F

Feb 17, 2017

Amazing

por Eduardo M

Aug 14, 2019

Great!

por Helder Q

Feb 14, 2018

Great!

por Marjuli M H

Sep 04, 2017

Great!

por Sãmäh W J

Aug 13, 2017

V good

por Crismariu O

Mar 20, 2017

Great!

por Paul B P

Aug 26, 2020

NICE!

por farzeenhaider

May 20, 2020

great

por Shamil b a

Jul 10, 2018

great

por anjicheng

Aug 31, 2017

great

por William, J R R

Sep 27, 2016

Great

por Sarangoo

Dec 11, 2019

good

por nogoondari

Oct 28, 2019

nice

por Khongorzul

Sep 09, 2019

good

por Daniil

Oct 10, 2018

well

por 이정무

Sep 21, 2019

e

por muhammad a a

May 03, 2017

t

por Abou S L

Sep 27, 2016

5

por Adi R

Sep 29, 2020

The course was great and I learned many valuable things. Its layout is easy to understand and the instructors never leave a thing unexplained. They are encouraging and know how to define terms and words that the students may not know.

Yet having every word explained to me is tiring - and I am not only talking about new terms that relate to journalism; no, simple words that are commonly known or easy to find the meanings of through any dictionary. I didn't come here to expand my vocabulary. I think it unnecessary, except, of course, when it is truly a term specific for journalism and uncommon in everyday language.

The way the instructors talked bothered me as well, the slow speed and use of short and simple words don't fit a MOOC of such a university. It could have been done better, in my opinion.

por Momoh M

Jul 26, 2020

This a very thorough introduction to the discipline of journalism. The 10 principles are a part I would love to go through every month, looking at new material each time of course. The delivery of principles of journalism and grammar rules stick very easily. This course is sharp on that.

Phone compatibility is pretty good. The user interface is well adapted to the smartphone platform.

One critique is that the course material is ageing, and maybe hasn't been reviewed in a while. And in one instance, the quiz marked the answer to a multiple choice question wrong, though it appeared in the readings for the quiz. All in all, this course has worthy takeaways for both native and foreign speakers of the language of English.

por Irene S

Jun 08, 2020

This course managed to deliver the introduction to journalism in the most comprehensive way within a short period of time (5 weeks). It gives us an understanding about the roles of journalists, types of journalism, and information about how to write a good article. My only feedback for this course is for the course to provide a chance to practice writing their own articles with their own topic of choice to be assessed by others. This would give a chance for students to both implement and measure their understanding about journalism not only theoretically but also practically.

por Elvi R

Mar 25, 2017

El curso es excelente y muy interesante, con un buen balance de textos y videos. Las asignaciones en video resultan desafiantes y es parte del buen aprendizaje. Sólo podría agregar un comentario que puede servir para mejorar, no estuve de acuerdo con la evaluación de los compañeros en una de las tareas de la unidad 2. Una de las personas que me evaluó tomo su decisión en función de si le gustaba o no mi propuesta y el objetivo no era ese sino si era o no noticioso. Por su evaluación bajó mi promedio y eso me desanimó bastante. Del resto, todo es positivo.

por Ilia T

Aug 21, 2019

Really good course, especially for absolute beginners in journalism and people with modest English language knowledge. It is a nice reminder of the basics for everyone who hasn't practiced journalism lately and a great refresh of very basic journalistic lingo and grammar even for more advanced people. To be honest, I was left with the impression that the course will tackle a bit more complicated topics, which is the reason I don't give it the top score.

por Autumn J

Apr 24, 2020

Very informational and helpful. I learned so many new ways to express myself and about the world of journalism. There are a few things that bugged me though. On a few of the videos the color of the wording was a bright neon yellow and I found it extremely difficult to read what was there. I wish you had the option to write the message rather do a video recording almost every time. Journalism isn't solely about video, it's about the writing as well.

por Petronio P

Sep 11, 2016

Well, I enjoyed very much taking part of this course. In my opinion the contents were just grate and according to my English level. Nevertheless, what I would like to have is the amount of hours dedicated to the course writen on the certificate. For this reazon, in my case, this will be my first but also my last of the on-line courses through coursera.

Greetings,

MSc. Petronio A. Piedra.