Chevron Left
Volver a English for Journalism

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Journalism por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
2,191 calificaciones
735 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

CS
12 de jul. de 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
18 de feb. de 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filtrar por:

651 - 675 de 721 revisiones para English for Journalism

por Kaithreen C

24 de may. de 2020

It helped me appreciate journalism and english a little better. It made my realized how important details are in journalism. I will always keep in mind the principles I have learned in this class.

por Tayyeb

3 de ago. de 2017

An ideal course not only for aspiring journalists but also for those who have been practicing journalism for many years. I really like strategies for improving skills of writing and reporting.

por BP-20-040 A A

29 de sep. de 2021

A good place to start learning about the basics of journalism. Very educational. The English segments were too basic, even for non English speakers. Overall great experience.

por Guadalupe P

26 de sep. de 2020

With this course, I learned to be more conscious about what happens in the world and how to communicate. I understood the basics of journalism. Would recommend for beginners.

por Kimmi I

12 de sep. de 2016

I just started the course, but I feel like I am taking in a ton of knowledge that I have been craving to get for along time. Really happy that I have enrolled in this course.

por Ahmed G

20 de sep. de 2016

it's a good course , but it could be offering more, like when we answer a questions wrongly, it could offer corrections and also we need more details with video journalism.

por Andrea T

20 de ene. de 2020

The course is very didactic and quite useful to whom is starting a career in journalism. Although it is not that useful to whom is already acquainted with journalism.

por Nuria M

30 de ene. de 2021

I've enjoyed the course thoroughly. An interesting take on Journalism and communication. The contents are varied, engaging, and fun. Thank you for sharing!

por Suad G

6 de ago. de 2019

Thank you. I have learned a lot and I feel happy that I have completed the course and passed. The course was designed very well and each unit was fruitful.

por Snehal S

25 de jun. de 2020

I learned so many new terms in this course. New light on what is journalism and how important it is along with how it impacts the world in current times.

por Alexandra K

4 de ago. de 2017

I really enjoyed doing the course, I found it to be well prepared and the information quite helpful and interesting. It was a bit too easy for me though.

por Madina S

16 de oct. de 2019

Peer-graded assessments though... It was easier than I though it would be. But I recommend this course as a source of new flow of ideas and information.

por Ольга В

27 de nov. de 2016

It's a good overview of journalism with interesting assignments. It'll be useful for those who knows nothing or not much about journalism.

por Abraham L

29 de abr. de 2020

I liked very much, although I was looking for a more comprehensive one. I completed it anyway. Thank you for all the work included!

por Luong N N L

18 de jul. de 2017

This course is very helpful.

I learnt many things.

I had a clear view about journalism.

Hope that you'll create many course like this.

por Jenny A

7 de jun. de 2017

A useful course to practise your reading and comprehension skills in the English language even if you are not a journalist. :)

por JALASUTRAM S V P

20 de jun. de 2020

After the completion of course there should be a real time internship similar activity to give the students more confidence.

por Michel M

26 de mar. de 2018

Very easy course, but takes a lot of time. There is valuable information on TV, radio and printed newspapers writing styles.

por Sanna M

4 de jun. de 2018

a great course for everyone who wants to learn something about journalism and improve their (basic) English skills.

por Napattra J

1 de jun. de 2020

This course has been great! I had a blast. I just wish it was a little harder and more about in-depth things.

por Haydee A

26 de ago. de 2020

Thank you for letting me learn about journalism. the course proved interesting and motivating. thanks again!

por Constanza P

29 de jul. de 2020

Not very challenging for intermediate/advanced English students, but definitely a good and complete course.

por libro

13 de nov. de 2017

Great course to study English and journalism.essay writing and video-broadcasting was wonderful experience.

por A S

30 de abr. de 2020

I felt like some of the videos were a bit boring and repetitive but other than that well done

por Layza S

29 de abr. de 2017

I liked it a lot. I learned a great deal, the topics were interesting and well explained.