Chevron Left
Volver a English for Journalism

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Journalism por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
1,912 calificaciones
637 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

CS

Jul 13, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA

Feb 19, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 617 revisiones para English for Journalism

por Eder M

Sep 18, 2019

This is just the beginning of my Journalism career. Thanks, Coursera for providing us with the necessary tools in this journey. I really enjoyed everything in this course.

por Edmar O

Jun 19, 2019

As an English teacher, I have chanced upon a resource that I consider a gem because it gives knowledge and skills related to teaching English establishing a school paper.

por Aurelia B

Jun 14, 2020

This course really helped me understand what is Journalism and how to write a report as a Journalist. This 5 weeks was really good and this course was really fulfilling.

por Davida R

Jun 10, 2020

As beginner in journalism and scientist. This course help me to have a good idea about career of journalist . I recommend it for anyone interested for digital age.

por Adar R

Apr 24, 2020

I am a Journalist, working full time as a Sub-Editor in a Newspaper named Prothom Alo. I found this course very competitive, challenging and useful for professionals.

por Rizal J

Jan 02, 2017

Best Courses, this is one of the best course, the structure of material is good, easy to understand especially for me because i dont have any experience in Journalism

por Arlis A

Jul 04, 2020

Best course so far I have taken. I learned about the ABC’s of journalism and also improved the English language. Strongly recommended.

Cheers,

Arlis Alikaj

Albania

por Jeferson L N

Jun 09, 2020

This course is fantastic. I have been a journalist for over 8 years and I could learn a lot, especially when it comes to the English language. I deeply recommend it!

por K

Apr 11, 2020

Phenomenal! Great instructors. :) The professors are excellent! They made the topic understandable and easy to digest. I learned tons from this course. Thank you!

por Ana M P

Sep 05, 2016

Great, very useful info that I could understand even if English is not my first language. I truly recommend it for anyone in fields like Journalism, PR or Marketing.

por Pham T N D

Feb 07, 2020

Thanks for this course, I have learned a lot about Journalism. Hope you will improve better and anyone will have interesting experience when joining in this course.

por tripti m m

Sep 27, 2017

The course is really good and has the ability to create responsible, effective, objective, accountable citizen journalists in today's ever expanding digital world.

por Olive S L

Sep 23, 2016

Awesome experience!

The teachers are cool and effective as they simplify the complicated concepts of journalism.

Thanks a lot for the sharing our learning!

More power!

por Jayshal S

Jun 06, 2017

I am astonished how well this course is structured and presented! I learned a lot. This is a great step to produce quality journalists. I wish you all the best!

por Sarah I

Aug 18, 2020

Such a wonderful app, it helped me a lot to know almost all the aspects of journalism. Thanks to the University of Pennsylvania for giving me this opportunity.

por Khalil u R K

Aug 28, 2018

I am truly glad to learning English for Journalism, new aspects, new areas of modern electronic media etc , and will definitely recommend it to people I know.

por Ilya R

Aug 16, 2017

It was a good introductory course on journalism for the beginner. I recommend it to you if you want to understand media and think about journalist profession.

por Плешков А О

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you so much John and Eve! You are incredible fellows! I hope that a new audience will find you and the course will become even more popular! Good luck!

por Amar H

Aug 04, 2020

Excellent source of knowledge to polish english language skill for Journalists or Journalist to be whose native language is not English. Highly recommended.

por fozia h

May 14, 2017

It's great opportunity for all those people who couldn't manage to complete their education...

I really enjoyed learning and different mental assessments....

por Sharumathi K R

Jan 31, 2017

Really a helpful and informative course. A way to enhance both journalism skills and English Language. It has a good timeline of the lesson and assignments.

por Priscilla P

Sep 17, 2016

The course is great! I loved! The contents are in line with the current reality of Journalism. Congrats to the teachers and the Pennsylvania University. :)

por Xènia P C

Sep 28, 2020

It is surely a good way to improve your communication skills and your journalistic vocabulary if you are not familiar with the field! I really enjoyed it!

por Ajay M

Apr 30, 2017

English for Journalism is a very good course to be done by any journalist. The trainers and faculties were very co-operative. Thank you for their support.

por Michiko H

Sep 16, 2016

This course is good for my English ability. A lot of people all over the world entry this course,and I could read the stories they wrote. The experience