Chevron Left
Volver a English for Journalism

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Journalism por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
1,947 calificaciones
646 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

CS
12 de jul. de 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
18 de feb. de 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 625 revisiones para English for Journalism

por Meeqat M

29 de nov. de 2018

it was fun doing this course for free. It taught me so many things regarding the history of journalism along with the present age. The course instructors did a great job. I had a great time while doing this course and getting to learn new new things. Great experience.

por EMMA V

14 de jul. de 2017

English for Journalism was really helpfull for me with many exercises and vocabulary that I've never seen in my Journalism degree in Spain. I recommend this course for everyone who want to improve her/his English in this area or to learning some tips about journalism.

por GUO Z

8 de ene. de 2018

I have benefited a lot through the past five weeks learning English for Jounalism. Thanks very much for all the teachers delivering of the course. I hope that I can watch the course videos instead of reading the scripts. We need much more tech support. Thanks a lot!

por RONEL C H

11 de sep. de 2016

The Course English for Journalism is awesome! I have learned a lot from print media journalism to broadcasting. I could not express how happy I am now that I completed the course. Kudos to the Instructors and the whole staff of Coursera! Mabuhay from Philippines!

por Felicia-Victoria D

12 de sep. de 2020

This was my first phenomenal course (with Coursera) that really motivated me to understand the moral foundations and made me taking on more seriously.

The professors in particular were great, good concepts and informative with additional sources! Thank you! ;)

por Raju S

26 de jun. de 2020

I was very content with the course which i completed in May because it taught me a lot.

Also I learnt about the basics of journalism and was able to complete all the assignments

that were given to me.I would recommend it to anyone starting out in journalism.

por Eugenio N C J

14 de jul. de 2017

This is an excellent way to inculcate the values of truth through journalistic writing among our college students in English, especially that journalism ethics was emphasized. Here, the students are taught how write for truth not so much for monetary gain.

por Felipe N

29 de jul. de 2020

Eu gostei muito de poder fazer esse curso, sinto que aprendi bastante e ganhei muita bagagem para poder escrever em inglês. Deu inicio ao curso no começo da pandemia e não iria comprar o certificado, mas agora que finalizei acho que mereço essa conquista.

por María d R M C

20 de mar. de 2018

I have improved my English skills very much, my general knowledge of journalism's history, the vocabulary in this context and i have acquired great tools for digital journalism. I thank you very much for the training English for Journalism has given me.

por Alexandre C d M

19 de sep. de 2016

This course was great. I'm a Brazilian Journalist and I've been studying English as second language for a while. This course helped me to improve my English Skills and allowed me to learn news words related to journalism in English. Thank you very much!

por Thuy T P

25 de sep. de 2016

Thank you for University of Pennysyvania and Coursera for bringing this useful course for public. This is a highly recommended course for English learners, especially those who work in communications/ Pr/ journalism sectors. Big thank you from Vietnam!

por Natalia P

17 de sep. de 2017

It's rather helpful for people who need some skills in writing articles for newspapers or just st blogs on the Internet. It's easy to cope with the tasks and it's really interesting. The lectures and all the materials are very modern and up-to-date.

por Deleted A

14 de jul. de 2020

This course helped me with my Extended Project Qualification (on Yellow Journalism and its impact on modern journalistic standards) as well as giving me something to discuss on my UCAS personal statement, helping me get into my dream university!

por Jaime S

19 de feb. de 2017

This was a great experience for me and it helped me a lot to improve my English skills besides that I could learn a lot of things about Journalism so I'm grateful for it and I will be looking forward on making some other courses online. Thanks!

por Maria T S

11 de may. de 2020

Nice course, simple and not so demanding. It would be good especially for people who doesn't know english so well. The part regarding the principles of journalism was really interesting. I strongly recommend it, to have a good knowledge basis.

por Ricky S O

9 de jul. de 2020

Learning through Coursera especially English for Journalism helps me to open my mind in the world of Journalism. This course helped me to unlock my new skill in writing. The module is easy to learn and you will really achieve its objectives.

por Margarita R

17 de jun. de 2020

I didn't regret for a moment for taking this course! So much new to learn! The material is both unteresting and useful. And my special thanks to the teachers who managed to make this course instructive and at the same time highly engaging!

por Elene M

5 de dic. de 2018

This course was just what I needed! I was writing articles in my mother language for long but never had the courage to write in English. This course helped me overcome my fear and provided interesting and useful knowledge about journalism.

por Myra V J A

26 de sep. de 2016

Superb! I am very thankful I took the course. My warmest gratitude to all especially to John and Eve and the whole team for being so generous in sharing their expertise and providing us all the readings and videos. God bless everyone!

por Priscilla K

22 de jun. de 2020

An excellent course, easy to follow with lots of hands-on practice to improve our English language, sentence structure etc. Now I understand how journalism works and will consider taking an advanced course dependent on my schedule.

por JEIMY A

2 de may. de 2017

I really loved the course. I enjoyed every single class, video, lecture and activity, and besides I already knew most of the topics, and learned and had so much fun doing all the activities. Thank you for this excellent material!!

por Kanybek B

24 de ago. de 2020

This course gave me many valuable knowledge about media. I learned a lot valuable. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania and especially lecturers (John Cotton and Eve Litt) — they taught us in a brief and accessible way.

por Sittie A D

9 de feb. de 2017

This is helpful for non-native English speakers who want to delve into the world of journalism. I personally enjoyed the peer-review assignments that require video submissions. I got to see my classmates from different countries.

por Hazel D R O

14 de sep. de 2016

I love this course. All the lessons, activities, assessments and assignments were arranged properly. The content is substantial, both in journalism and English language. I would highly recommend to this course to my colleagues.