Chevron Left
Volver a Julia Scientific Programming

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Julia Scientific Programming por parte de Universidad de Ciudad del Cabo

4.5
estrellas
337 calificaciones
114 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This four-module course introduces users to Julia as a first language. Julia is a high-level, high-performance dynamic programming language developed specifically for scientific computing. This language will be particularly useful for applications in physics, chemistry, astronomy, engineering, data science, bioinformatics and many more. As open source software, you will always have it available throughout your working life. It can also be used from the command line, program files or a new type of interface known as a Jupyter notebook (which is freely available as a service from JuliaBox.com). Julia is designed to address the requirements of high-performance numerical and scientific computing while also being effective for general-purpose programming. You will be able to access all the available processors and memory, scrape data from anywhere on the web, and have it always accessible through any device you care to use as long as it has a browser. Join us to discover new computing possibilities. Let's get started on learning Julia. By the end of the course you will be able to: - Programme using the Julia language by practising through assignments - Write your own simple Julia programs from scratch - Understand the advantages and capacities of Julia as a computing language - Work in Jupyter notebooks using the Julia language - Use various Julia packages such as Plots, DataFrames and Stats The course is delivered through video lectures, on-screen demonstrations, quizzes and practical peer-reviewed projects designed to give you an opportunity to work with the packages....

Principales reseñas

SP

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.

SK

Sep 15, 2019

Amazing course! I learned a lot during this course. The assignments made me improve my coding skills and the questions were challenging enough. The instructors are engaging and innovative!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 109 revisiones para Julia Scientific Programming

por Keith W

Mar 17, 2017

A clear and well presented course.

Suitable for newcomers and relatively new users of Julia. The course notes (Jupyter notebooks) are a useful reference after the course.

por James S

Feb 03, 2020

Julia is now at V1.3. The course was based on Julia 0.6 and done around the time Julia 1.0 was close to release. The material sorely needs to be updated.

por Svyatoslav P

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.

por Toni F

Mar 02, 2020

I general, I can recommend this course.

I was able to learn the basics of Julia language.

The three things that stand out for me are:

Data structures, Plotting, Data Frames.

Parallel computing is not part of this course.

There are a few weaknesses in this course, but it seems that the course is being reviewed frequently, in order to adress issues, and enhance the content.

Weaknesses I found were:

Some typos and dead links in tests

In some tests, correct answers (when the code works in the computer language) are graded as incorrect, because the grading software only accepts one correct answer, rather than a variety of correct answers.

Some tests are testing your ability to pay attention in small details, rather than your ability to understand the computer language

There are not enough participants in the course for mutual grading to work properly. Instead instructors have to do grading, which often occurs with a delay of a few days.

I suggest that the course material should give more references to side information (e.g. cheat sheet for markup language, definition of SIR model, links to collections of open datasets)

por Paul F G

Jan 28, 2019

Great course, well taught and thorough. I would only add that it needs to be updated from the version in the course (0.4.6) to the latest, full version of Julia, e.g. (1.x). I would have given 5 stars but for that fact.

por Shruti K

Sep 15, 2019

Amazing course! I learned a lot during this course. The assignments made me improve my coding skills and the questions were challenging enough. The instructors are engaging and innovative!

por Peter D

May 13, 2018

Nice introduction into Julia. The content is well structured and provides enough details so you can write your own (basic) data science routines in Julia. I also liked the Ebola use-case and to learn about modelling such an outbreak.

Personally I would prefer more videos about some of the more advanced language features and less about plotting libraries and the likes. But I guess that really depends what you are looking for.

Overall a highly recommended course.

por Nuno G

Apr 06, 2018

I found this a great introductory course on Julia for scientists. I specially loved the classes about data frames, user-defined types, and the Gadfly package.

The course needs to be updated, though, videos, exercises and Julia notebooks. Nothing too serious, yet, but some of the contents need to be reviewed in face of the current development status of Julia.

I am looking forward to see a course on data science with Julia.

por Jessica L

Apr 26, 2020

Content is out of date and no one responds to questions on discussion board. For example, the last quiz had several bugs that make it impossible to answer correctly, but people have been pointing this out for months on the discussion board with no response from course moderators.

Lectures are using different version of Julia from the notebooks, so packages don't work or you need to use a different package. Quizzes often refer to things that were not included in any of the lectures or notebooks. Note that I passed the course, but it was super frustrating.

por Thomas S

Jun 08, 2020

Honestly, I was a bit underwhelmed at the content of the course. There is a fairly large amount of overlap in the content covered by the two instructors which makes Weeks 1-3 and Week 4 somewhat redundant, and the amount of ground covered in terms of pure Julia code is very basic and sometimes methods shown are suboptimal or outdated.

por Rajesh R

Oct 08, 2016

The course was a good overview of Julia, starting from the very basics. This makes it relevant for programming beginners at the start. As the course builds up, it nicely introduces Julia's complexity in the assignments, and introduced many of Julia's must-know features such as multiple dispatch and user defined types, without getting too daunting. The explanation was clear and crisp at all times. More content could be covered for data analysis and perhaps more forum discussion could be encouraged. The course didn't take a great deal of time to complete. Perhaps there is a need in the industry for a multiple Julia certification as the language gains momentum. I would recommend this course for those who want to get to know Julia and many key libraries in it for data analysis and visualization.

por Jonathan P

May 31, 2020

Solid overall course for both introduction to Julia as well as programming as a whole. A few aspects could be updated. Juliabox is about to be sunset(discontinued) so it would be nice for them to walk users through using JupyterLabs in Anaconda for loading the Julia notebooks needed for the course assignment. Atom and Juno are briefly mentioned but I would recommend using these to anyone looking to take this course. Some of the code used in the course is now deprecated, but using the error messages it is not that difficult to debug and update - though it does slow down the overall speed with which the course can be completed. Overall, I would highly recommend this to anyone involved in data science or interested in programming languages in general

por Vinicius G

Jun 07, 2017

The best thorough course for the foundations in analysis in Julia. I have not found any easy and complete explanation of Julia basics than this course. I completed the books Julia for Data Science by Anshul Joshi and other by Zacharias Voulgaris but they did not have as a solid foundation as this course has provided. Those books show more complex examples which will be easier to solve and understand after taking this course than the foundation provided in those books. Worth every penny for beginners to learn and experts to improve or polish their knowledge in Julia. Best course for beginners/expert I have ever had in my programming career.

por Александр В

Aug 17, 2019

This is a great introductory course for getting acquainted with the Julia programming language and its many data science applications. However, the curriculum is too easy for someone with a prior DS background or knowledge of other language such as Python. It's interesting to see how similar tasks such as array manipulation and data visualization are done in Julia, but for a better command of the language, I recommend that one examine other available literature in addition to this course.

por Varun R

Jan 14, 2017

I wasn't completely familiar with types in Julia and this course helped me understand a very important aspect of Julia programming. Now, I feel I have a much better understanding of how Julia works. The professors were amazing and the course was extremely crisp and fun. I would like to extend them my warm wishes and would want to know if an advanced level of Julia Programming course could be planned in the future

por Mark L

Aug 27, 2017

This is an excellent introduction to the Julia language. My only complaint is that the course was written when Julia 0.4.6 was the standard, so when I used the current Julia 0.6.0 some of the instructor-provided code contained deprecated functions, or did not run at all, requiring a trip to the Julia API to find the currently-used syntax. But this course is still very good in spite of the dated code.

por 刘晶

Jan 16, 2018

It's a very good course for beginners of Julia, though I have learned Julia for more than one year, I still learned many useful things in this course. Julia is so beautiful, wonderful and powerful, and two honorable professors have deep insight about it, I hope there are more and more people will learn it through this course and make the world better.

por Ηλίας Τ

Nov 17, 2016

This course was very interesting and well planned. The course material is clear and comprehensive. As for the instructors, they demonstrated experience and deep knowledge in Julia ana statistical software, proving their success for this course. I am certainly going to make Julia one of my main tools.

por Dennis W K K

Jun 05, 2020

Not a bad course as an introduction to Julia. It gives a good feel of how Julia defines functions, uses for loops, arrays, dataframes, and statistics. It would be of interest to those who have prior experience with other statistical programming languages such as R and Python.

por Virgill D P

Aug 23, 2020

This course gave me more insight on how data should be compiled and expressing the meaning of it. On such way to express data is trough interactive graphs. Working with Big Data and the analysis of it helps a lot into making some of the most crucial decision.

por Shlok M

Aug 26, 2017

Liked the Honors course content. A good introduction to Julia. Recommended to all freshers in coding, especially for those who are pursuing courses in numerical techniques. You'll be able to write very intractable and efficient codes.

por gayatri l

Mar 06, 2020

It was exceptional and so fun.I have learned many exciting things such as mathematics functions in easy coding Such a great language to learn.It really going to be used by many aspiring data scientist.Thanks for the wonderful course.

por Yanal K

May 21, 2017

Amazing course, introduces the Julia Programming Language in a very intuitive way. Honor Assignments are a great bonus that give a more in-depth Julia experience. Highly recommended for anyone entering the Julia landscape.

por Nikolaos P

Aug 06, 2017

It was very exciting. I widen further, my computing horizons

Hope, that the university will launch in the near future, a more advanced course of "Julia Scientific Programming"

por Mark S

Nov 22, 2017

The course was excellent. Thank you for all the work that has gone into this. I recommend it for anyone who wishes to start using Julia or is simply curious about Julia.