Chevron Left
Volver a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.8
estrellas
533 calificaciones
146 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Principales revisiones

AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 143 revisiones para Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

por Juan D G G

May 01, 2018

"The concept of Irony" is overlooked throughout courses examining Kierkegaard's philosophy. This course does the opposite: it shows how Kierkegaard's original thesis served as the basis for his entire career and the unifying concept behind all of his works.

por Warren C

May 31, 2019

A most interesting and challenging course. I enjoyed it greatly and learned many things. I bought the book and refer to it frequently. This course has had a strong effect on my personal project by opening the world of Kierkegaard and his writing to me.

por Bill D

Apr 08, 2017

This was a truly excellent course - substantial and complex, but delivered by Prof. Stewart in an engaging way which made the difficulties of Kierkegaard's work accessible. No mean feat - and attained without recourse to obscurity or jargon: a tribu

por 潘天诗

Mar 07, 2019

this course not only introduced the life and academic work for Soren Kierkegaard, but also opened up a window to infinite truth. In our times, Socrates and Kierkegaard with their absolute negative and ironic dialects are even more inspiring.

por Jiatai C

Sep 06, 2016

This is great course about Kierkegaard. Abundant background knowledge are given and thus we could appreciate the discussions at issue. Different topics from Kierkegaard are beautifully connected together! Learn a lot! Really like the class!

por George L

Apr 01, 2016

A wonderful course, well presented, a pleasure to undertake. the videos were superb, the content stimulating and encouraged me to read more about Kierkegaard. One of the best MOOC's I have taken. Keep up this incredibly high standard pls

por Otávio G D d a

Oct 29, 2018

This course was extra magnificient for me. I say that due the fact it made me study one area of philosophycal studies less seen on my country. That is the area of de danish philosophers and the german wing of philosophy and literature

por walter g

Jul 11, 2017

Indescritível, você tornar-se-á o que realmente é com a análise de outros pontos de vista, sem ser forçado a nada além de pensar por si só sobre si mesmo, simples e rico; uma contradição, irá ser além de bagagem acadêmica.

por Azure J

Feb 23, 2016

Brilliant professor, nice cinematography, old-fashioned classical education, high levels of intelligent thought, and more makes this a great course. It is self-paced as well, so it is always open, which I find very conv

por Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Super course, super professor.

I speculate that SK, if presented with the wealth of science & advancement since his time, would have still held his religion as tightly as he did in his writings ... I think not.

por Antonia T B

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

por GiGi H

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

por Luís M P G

Aug 08, 2016

Excelente curso. A excelência manifesta-se tanto nos conteúdos, como na forma. O pensamento de Kierkegaard é muito importante para compreender a atualidade filosófica e a cultura do século XXI.

por George B G

Mar 13, 2018

Incredible course for good learning. This has been a real treat to better understand Kierkegaard. I'm buying Jon Stewart's book because of the clarity that he situates Kierkegaard's writing.

por Cori L

Feb 05, 2017

Excellent course and subject matter. Discussions were always thought provoking and Prof Stewart gave life to a branch of philosophy I had previously found extremely dull. Highly recommended!

por Victor H R L

Feb 11, 2018

Curso muito bem estruturado. Brasileiros e falantes de língua portuguesa conseguirão fazer o curso sem maiores problemas desde que tenham o mínimo domínio da língua inglesa.

por Alyson D

Feb 13, 2019

I appreciated that this course felt accessible, but still academic and not "dumbed down" for a popular audience. The concepts were thought-provoking and clearly explained.

por Garrison G

Jul 11, 2017

Was an excellent, informative synoptic of the philosopher's life and works. Kierkegaard's way of interpreting Socrates' method reivitalizes a lost art for the modern world.

por Pascal L S

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent lectures and a great introduction to a fascinating figure in philosophy and literature. I also enjoyed reading the book that accompanies the course.

por Andrew G

Jan 05, 2016

Hugely enjoyable and informative course. Very well presented. I particularly liked the variety of relevant locations that the videos were presented from.

por Ella P

Nov 04, 2018

Thanks! I really appreciate the effort put into the course, which has greatly enhanced my understanding of the Key Concepts of Kierkegaard's Philosophy.

por Jonathas d S S

Jan 02, 2018

Conteúdo excepcional, metodologia exemplar, uma forma inovadora de promover educação à distância. Parabéns a Coursera e a todos envolvidos neste curso.

por Pablo

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent course, could be a bit harder on quizzing, it was too easy to pass them, but, it compensates with the final essay. It has great content

por Daniel B

Feb 12, 2019

Great introduction course about Kierkegaard! I highly recommend this course for all friends of Kierkegaard. Congratulations Jan Stewart!

por Paweł J Z

Mar 13, 2016

Great overview, I wish there were more courses of this kind about other great philosophers. Kierkegaard is one of my favourites though.