Chevron Left
Volver a Kotlin for Java Developers

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Kotlin for Java Developers por parte de JetBrains

4.7
estrellas
1,766 calificaciones
430 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Principales reseñas

MA

28 de jun. de 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC

15 de mar. de 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filtrar por:

401 - 425 de 432 revisiones para Kotlin for Java Developers

por Eduardo-Luis S S

29 de mar. de 2020

While the content of the course goes into a lot of detail I found it a bit disappointing in terms of the questions asked in the lessons and the assignments. When covering the material, the questions asked most of the time aim very edge cases and don't add up to what's been learned. Sometimes it's difficult to follow the lesson, being a mixture of new concepts and the difficulty to understand the teacher. The last assignments are very hard, not because of the language itself but because we have to work out difficult algorithms that are not what we are learning. I think the questions and assignments should go hand in hand, and this fact makes it very hard to continue with the course and pass the assignments.

por George A

7 de mar. de 2021

The content of the course is very good. It covers lots of interesting things. The fact that there is a comparison between Java and Kotlin is a plus. Mind you all, this course is not specific for Android developers - it covers a wider range of topics. That said, you can certainly benefit from it.

Why the 3 stars? I found it very difficult to engage and follow the course because of the instructor's accent. I had the auto generated subs on, but there are way too many mistakes in them. So, as an overall experience, it was really frustrating and it took me way more time and concentration as I had to stop the video again and again in order to understand what the instructor said.

por Matteo A

28 de abr. de 2020

The course is not too bad, it's interesting and easy to understand for someone with a background in java programming. The assignments are not always well targeted in my opinion as they focus on algorithm and not on the language. Unfortunately I had the feeling that the more tricky topics have been covered very quickly and they were not given the time they deserved. The accent of the teacher is not ideal but I would say almost completely comprehensible for an average english speaker. Overall I don't think it's worth the money (considering it's pretty expensive imo) since you can easily pick up the same concepts with any online tutorial.

por Julien L

7 de abr. de 2019

Content is pretty good, but the English of the teacher could really be better. English not being my first language either, I understand how difficult making a course in English is. However, her accent is so strong that it makes the whole learning process much more difficult. I had to basically mute the author all the time and use subtitles to have a chance to follow.

Please use a native speaker to create those courses next time. The English of the lead of the language is perfect for example.

Other than that, the content of the course is pretty good, and I did learn stuff. So thanks a lot.

por Petr M

7 de feb. de 2020

The course is quite good, but there is still something to improve, e.g.: lecturer's speech (sometimes really hard to understand), english subtitles in videos (there are major mistakes, that could confuse the listener - e.g. "enlightened" instead of "inlined", ...), no solutions for programming assignments in week5, and for last task in week4 (I'd like to know, if my solutions are principally good, or not - but unfortunately I'm missing feedback here).

Nevertheless, I can say, that after completing the course I know much more about Kotlin, than before.

por Erik K

19 de oct. de 2021

The explanation is very good. After your work passes the unit tests, you get a useful and detailed official solution of the author. But only for 3 out of 5 weeks. For week 4 and 5 you don't get any feedback at all. And these are assignments on which Jetbrains estimates you to spend 5 hours on. I mentioned this 2 years ago on the forums, but no response from JetBrains. Otherwise I would've rated this course 5 stars. Btw I don't mind the Russian accent at all, it's very well presented. And I'm not an English nor Russian native.

por Nicolas B N

23 de ene. de 2019

The course material was great and the instructor very knowledgeable. My main pain point is the instructor's very thick accent. In my opinion, this course should be taught by someone who has a more "international" English. Having to decipher what the instructor is saying adds cognitive overhead to a subject-matter which already requires a lot of cognition.

por Petr B

22 de feb. de 2019

Overall it was good, and also the information and assignments was Ok, but the accent of the speaker was annoying. Maybe it was not the accent, but the feel that the video is not properly prepared, cut, post processed without slips of the tongue and of course a lot of "under the hood" :D

por Daniel M

4 de nov. de 2019

Explanations were great (if not a bit brief), but assignments were really extra complicated and at times, vaguely explained. Sometimes, it would take hours to understand things, only to have a different explanation in the forum and accomplish it in minutes.

por Nikita M

14 de mar. de 2019

This course definitely will give you overview of Kotlin lang features (which are commonly looks like syntactic sugar, but unfortunately program assignments are to complicated.

Alson the course a lit bit outdated (no videos on coroutines, type aliases)

por Dawit A W

19 de nov. de 2018

The course content is very great. The teacher (Svetlana) is also very good as well. But I sometimes find it difficult to follow her sentences. I think it'd get better in time as she becomes more fluent in English.

por Frank L

24 de may. de 2020

Binged it on a weekend, that was a bit much, it's a lot of work, most of it is barely Kotlin related. Still, good content, and definitely helpful to immerse.

por Juan C M

18 de oct. de 2020

All the content is amazing but sometimes is complicated to understand the instructor voice.

por Arthur V

26 de abr. de 2022

Content is good but the homework assignments are awful and time consuming

por Tarun

23 de jun. de 2020

Improvement can be done on examples.

Except that everything was good.

por Балахонцев М

9 de ene. de 2021

theory is great, but practice part is poor (especially last one)

por Manoj C

27 de may. de 2021

The accent of the tutor is not very understandable.

por Prayag S

20 de nov. de 2020

Very Hard Assignments

por abic

16 de ene. de 2021

The material, intention, and content of this course is very useful but the delivery mechanism was very unusable for me. It was difficult for me to follow the accent, also often the pacing. Would be really great if there was a non-video version of this course -- i.e., well organized/written text with code snippets (perhaps like a book or web-based tutorial). Then I could pace myself and focus/learn things better.

por DIWAAN C C S

10 de jun. de 2020

Content of the course is good and the instructor is also good

But as a college student I couldn't understand most of the concepts

Also the assignments are not even understandable and my suggestion is that the assessment questions could be clear

It takes over 30 mins to actually understand the problem statement

Finally this course is not for begineers and also for java developers

I won't recommend this to others

por Белоусов А С

10 de ene. de 2022

Нет русской версии курса (при том что создатели явно говорят на русском), задания недоэстимированы и в одном из них написано "если что-то непонятно, то смотрите в юнит тесты" - лол. Непонятно почему нельзя было задания сделать меньше по объему и больше про котлин. Сиалед каласы использовать и другие прикольные фичи. Это же курс для джавистов (судя по названию), они уже умеют кодить.

por Siarhei K

1 de dic. de 2018

The grader on 4th week was not providing clear messages about issue. Plus, the course covers only the basics. So, I've lost my interest to it.

por Hashem h h

9 de jul. de 2020

bad Presenter

por Moh. A R

1 de may. de 2020

The course title is totally wrong. The course title should be Kotlin for Pro Kotlin Developers. Totally a rough course. Will make you realize that you made one of the worst decision in your life by taking this course. And instructor's accent will disappoint you a lot. NOTE: ASSIGNMENTS will force you to cry like hell if you are a beginner level developer who knows Java. If you still want to take the risk then feel free to take it and blame yourselves later if you start regretting.

por John N

1 de jul. de 2019

Requires itellij which is annoying. I already have ide's on the machine and I really do not want more. Plus video's are perhaps not the best way to learn. Listening to eastern European English is quite tiresome, especially the woman's. I know that is unfair, her English is far better than my European. But ….

I think one is better off with other tutorials such as

https://www.javatpoint.com/kotlin-tutorial