Chevron Left
Volver a Kotlin for Java Developers

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Kotlin for Java Developers por parte de JetBrains

4.7
estrellas
1,267 calificaciones
321 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Principales reseñas

MA

Jun 29, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC

Mar 16, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 321 revisiones para Kotlin for Java Developers

por Giorgio M

Dec 20, 2019

I literally cannot understand what's she is saying half of the time. It's extremely frustrating and I do not recommend this course. I switched to a free bootcamp course on Udacity and hoping that'll be better.

por Thomas W

Nov 18, 2018

I overall enjoyed the course and found it very helpful for a Java developer starting with Kotlin. I'm looking forward to more courses from JetBrains, especially one on coroutines.

At first it bothered me a little that Svetlana was speaking freely (i.e. not reading a script), because she often interrupts mid-sentence and starts over. But in the end I'm thankful that she did it that way, because it's a refreshing difference to the often sterile presentations found with other courses. You can almost "hear" her thinking. There's this one moment somewhere in week 5, where you can hear her frustration over not being able to transform her thought into speech at first try. It feels authentic.

For me, the time estimates given for the assignments in Week 4 and especially 5 was too low. It took me more time. The assignments were not too difficult, but the pursuit of finding an idiomatic solution took more time.

por Faisal M

Jan 20, 2019

It was a wonderful experience to learn Kotlin from Kotlin designers. I am now a big fan of Andrey Breslav and Svetlana Isakova. Thank you guys! Completing this course was not an easy job for me although I have prior experience in Java. The assignments were comprehensive and required a lot of effort in terms of algorithms and Kotlin syntax. I am feeling happy that I have learnt core concepts of Kotlin as well as functional programming. Besides the syllabus of this course, I also watch Andrey on Youtube to get to know about the latest addition in Kotlin "the coroutines". I'll also try to convince my colleagues and management to give Kotlin a try. Let's see!

por Marcin I

Nov 18, 2018

It was fun to play with Kotlin for the first time. The course is short but seems to cover everything I need to start writing code in Kotlin. The material is well-structured and the exercises quite entertaining. Svetlana is active on the forum and helps to solve all technical difficulties one might face. Highly recommend everyone who wants to take their first steps in Kotlin. Thank you very much for the course! I enjoyed it a lot. PS I'd love to see more courses like that from JetBrains i.e. covering coroutines and Kotlin Native.

por Jörg V

Oct 31, 2018

I think the course videos explain everything very well! The tasks are fortunately not too simple, so you are forced to code (what's good). I recommend this course for all developers with programming experience who want to get to know a really nice programming language.

One comment to this Guy who has only awarded one star due to linguistic deficiencies: How does it matter? I come from Germany and of course I have a German accent, so what? I understood everything Svetlana explained, I guess you did too!

por Stefan Z

Mar 28, 2020

I learned a lot about Kotlin from this course. This course talks about the features of the language such as extension functions, safe casts, data classes, etc; it also teaches a lot of useful techniques to use this language in its proper functional manner. I highly recommend this course to those who have experience with Java and would like to add a new direction to their skills. It is a major plus that this course is taught directly by the creators of Kotlin themselves.

por Alexander S

Apr 08, 2019

After taking this course I fell like I have a deeper understanding in how to develop real-world application in Kotlin. The content is very exhaustive and very well covered. Short quizzes inside the videos help to instantly repeat and deepen the understanding of important concepts. The assignments are challenging but also help deepen the knowledge. I would also call them quite near to real-problems. The Integration into IntelliJ makes working on the assignments a breeze.

por Jade F

Dec 07, 2018

This is a course featuring explanations by Kotlin's core designers! It utilizes an educational plugin for intellij that allows for you to submit assignments from the ide.

This course is fun, the videos are concise and concrete, and the insight you gain from Andrey Breslav about the design philosophy of Kotlin is valuable. I would recommend the course, but be forewarned that it requires some investment in study so you understand and remember the language syntax.

por Iskandar M

Jun 11, 2019

Well-built course, informative, very useful in-video understading-check questions & also the playgrounds between videos. Weekly assignments are fulfilling and cover much of the needed knowledge & skills to be gained. All in all, I got much deeper understanding of Kotlin & Java also.

Looking forward for more courses from JetBrains, especially about Kotlin for Android & web/servers. Might , as well, use "Kotlin Everywhere" afterwards.

por Yuri S

Mar 23, 2020

I learned many concepts and fundamentals that will be useful for me to stand out in a job interview regarding the Kotlin language, such as:

- The history of Kotlin

- Variables

- Functions

- Named and default arguments

- When

- In checks and ranges

- Exceptions

- Extensions

- Kotlin nullable types

- Kotlin functional programming

The material was very good and helped me a lot throughout the course.

Continue providing high-quality courses :)

por Andrew B

Sep 25, 2020

This course does a good job of explaining how Kotlin is different from Java and covers important compatibility issues. There were a number of project assignments I found challenging and provided a good opportunity to apply material covered in the course. Overall, I discovered programming in Kotlin can be fun and also I gained new insights in into how a computer language can have a positive impact on productivity and quality.

por yohan m

Mar 21, 2020

great contents, I really love this course, jetbrains guys are the right ones to introduce us into kotlin, I found the assignments kind of complicated to accomplish in 5h, sometimes it takes much more time because you need no dig a lot into videos and kotlin official documentation to fulfill the requirements, but at the end of the day the provided tests helps a lot to create the solutions in a TDD way, Great work!

por satish

May 01, 2020

This is best course in the world as i learn a lots of new skill and new topics like lambda and Extensions Functions and best practice of code and make code efficient and best way to code and great things is i learn methods when i show video and give answer the question is the best i learn a lot from this methods and great things is weekly assignments also. thank you very much to Coursera and Team of this course.

por Бондарев И

Jul 17, 2020

This course is great. It is very pleasant to listen to the lecturer, there are many detailed and well-developed examples. However, the complexity of the tasks performed changes too quickly. You may be asked to repeat what the lecturer just said, and then asked to write a dozen functions through lambdas. Although, I think this is just my personal experience. I give 5 and recommend to all Java developers.

por md. g r t

Jan 12, 2020

I started coding in Kotlin a few months back. And to give myself a comprehensive and detailed foundation in Kotlin I decided to complete this course of Coursera provided by Jetbrains. I must say this is an excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands-on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

por Dizzer S

Jan 11, 2020

Als kompletter Neuling in Kotlin, aber mit reichlich Erfahrung mit Java und PHP, finde ich diesen Kurs gut. Ich finde die Sachen sind ausreichend erklärt. Dass die Videos so kurz gehalten sind (5-8 Minuten) macht es einfacher, mitzufolgen und danach zu verarbeiten. Die kurzen Programmieraufgaben zwischendurch oder auch die Fragen zwischen den Videos tragen zu dem Verständnis sehr viel bei!

por David M H

Oct 02, 2019

Great course for those coming from a strong Java development background. This course is very information-dense and respects the developer's time by assuming students are _experienced_ Java developers. Because Kotlin is a JVM language, language features and implementation are explored using Java as a point of reference. The projects are driven by unit tests and are well-structured.

por Gustavo T V

Feb 09, 2019

Awesome course! Clear and straightforward introduction to Kotlin, covering a wide range of features the language can provide. Challenging and fun assignments, very practical, perhaps a bit underestimated in terms of the effort required (they definitely took me more time than what had been estimated). Great course, JetBrains! I'm looking forward to the next chapters.

por Joachim H

Apr 18, 2019

It was a real pleasure to complete this course. You can clearly tell that the people at Jetbrains put a lot of effort into it (thanks!). Improvements suggested on the discussion forums were taken very seriously and the class was improved accordingly. Very much appreciated! Looking forward to using Kotlin for my next projects...

por Zhehui Z

Sep 01, 2020

A clear and comprehensive introduction to Kotlin. Lots of (way more than anticipated) concepts and features are covered in this course. Assignments are well designed as well, with emphasis on the mixed programming paradigm (OO & FP). I hope the promised Advanced Kotlin & Kotlin Coroutine courses are to be released soon!

por Daniel G

Sep 05, 2020

Nice introduction to Kotlin. You learn the programming language and some pragmatic usage patterns. It has the perfect pace for experienced developers. Although beginners will have a hard time. The assignments are challenging. You definitively have to dig into the Kotlin reference manuals for complete understanding.

por Kaushik S

Jun 22, 2019

Best course for Kotlin from the very best Jetbrains. Suitable for those who have worked with Java before (as the title states). The last exercise was pretty hard, almost died in the end. All in all, it is really helpful. I wish Jetbrains would come up with an advanced course promised in the conclusion video.

por Roman T

Sep 09, 2020

Course is very practical and easy to understand. It really helps a lot to acquire new language much faster when you learn based on your existing knowledge of another language. Definitely recommend this course and looking forward to complete more advanced Kotlin courses from JetBrains when they are launched

por SUSHANTO H

May 23, 2019

Great course. Very detailed oriented on why features are implemented and what are the use cases of the same. Common Operations on Collection and Auxiliary functions could be explained in more detailed since these two are important for coding. So better to have a very clear concept on these two.

por Morten O

Sep 26, 2019

Very informative and interesting course. Requires a solid background in programming, and even though some assignments could be explained a bit better as not all of us has a background in maths (hint: permutations), the videos are excellent, both in quality of production and content.

Thumbs up!