Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
5,959 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Aspectos destacados
Applicable teachings

(121 reseñas)

Creatively designed course

(270 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

AA

21 de jun. de 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

AS

29 de dic. de 2021

I enjoyed taking this course. Even though I don't like the peer-grading system in general, within this course it makes sense. It is always interesting to hear other people's opinions and experiences.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 1,780 revisiones para Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

por ELENA S

19 de may. de 2020

It was absolutely great time for me! It was extrememly interesting to observe how teaching approaches were pendulum swinging from one to another depending on the historical changes. So, it not only brings unvalued proffinecy enhancing but broadens your mind. I got to know a lot of fascinating stories about Ford Company and Navajo Code. I highly recommend this course in order to improve your teaching skills, to become more confident in teaching and to simply enjoy listening and reading such a pithy content.

por Jennifer M

18 de ene. de 2021

I enjoyed how Dr. Shane changed his characters in every language approach discussed! It was really challenging learning via online or self-paced but I felt whenever I watched the videos, Miss Jessica and Dr. Shane were really alive especially when they were playing as Jack and Jill, giving their commentaries. Though, I already learned those way back in college, it's just sink in my mind just now.

I might say, they walk their talk. They really practice what they preached in every lesson.

Kudos!

por Hina M

20 de ago. de 2020

A heartfelt thanks to everyone who is part of putting this course together. Learning about eight approaches to language teaching can be simply overwhelming and tedious, but hats off to the most interesting way it has been done. No one is ever going to forget the tutor, Dr. Shane. What an extraordinary teacher and actor. Thanks to Justin Shewell who designed this course. Jessica Cinco's cheerful personality also keeps you glued to the videos. Fantastic Course!! A superlative effort by all!!

por 利平 L 卢 L

5 de jul. de 2017

Thanks a lot for such great courses, i learned a lot, not because of the info or knowledge but also beacause of such course that my past experience and knowledge became quite clear and organized, which really helped me in my current job as an english learning coach. I am willing to take the next course to finish all TESOL classes suggested, then something to string all those scattered thoughts try my best to be a good english teacher. Thank you!

por Valentina G

26 de sep. de 2019

This course is just amazing. I found out how important to understand the purpose of learning the language of your students. And choose the most appropriate approach to the teaching process according to that. Also, I was introduced to 8 different approaches to teaching. Understanding of those methods helps to create content that is accurate for the individual needs of my students and use the most suitable techniques for each specific case.

por Hayeong C

8 de ene. de 2016

In my university, I had to spend the whole semester only to study the theories of second language acquisition; my old-fashioned professors made me write down what they say and memorize all of them. And after 5 years of graduation, I don't remember a thing. BUT this course brought my old memories back and get them classified in a very simple and clear way; plus it didn't take so much time! I really enjoyed the course. Thank you Dr Shane!

por Geraldine H

31 de mar. de 2020

Good day to a dynamic Team,

Goodness me; talk about a Rollercoaster, this is my second course and I’m still trying to apply brakes. I found the course fun and professionally put together. I had to extend myself beyond my own imagination. I found the structure user friendly and the content enlightening, forcing one to think out of the box, and you can only grow! I am excited to start the next course! Thank you all for your dedication.

por Marinko B

27 de ago. de 2017

This course definitely elucidates that teaching is not just a one-way approach. There is much one can gather from this course, from why languages were taught a certain why, what purposes they served, who the students were, and what we can learn from those different approaches. Most importantly, every teacher can come out of this course with an appreciation of different strengths and weaknesses that any particular method may have.

por Dr. G R

15 de ago. de 2016

Really wonderful course in many different ways..... how it was laid out, the instructors unique way of coverage, content provided, nature of assignment and of course Coursera platform adds that ease of use and trust-quotient....

I wonder if they can find some course on "speech analysis" or "acoustic phonetics" or "Praat programme". For language teachers this situate them quite nicely into framework of various language theories....

por Inna Z

16 de ago. de 2018

That was my second course of the Teach English Now! programme. This course had given me a deeper insight on my current way of teaching. And I'm very grateful to the whole team of the course that managed to present such a complicated subject in an inspiring and really spectacular way. After having finished each of the modules, I was looking forward to continuing my studies and my interest towards this course is still insatiable.

por Trung H H

27 de dic. de 2020

Full of information, yet still manageable. The lecturers are amazingly good and can be real models. I really appreciate the way they use metaphors, videos, and stories to convey the messages. The course is well organized so that all the knowledge is delivered effectively and students can have a deeper understanding of the subjects through assignments, review sessions, and retrieval parts at the beginning of each new lesson.

por James J

1 de nov. de 2019

I am a practical person. I think theories often have little to do with application. However, this course presents both teaching theory and the relevant applications in a fun way. I also like the style of this course. This course presents information in bite sized pieces. It asks for you to critically think about the information provided.

I think 5-star reviews should be rarely given. However, this course deserves all 5.

por Srinidhi

10 de jul. de 2018

It takes us along in the time travel back to 1880 to 1980 to brief different teaching methods. The caricature videos of teachers from different periods explaining their methodologies are a visual treat and concisely give us the crux of each method. The discussions about the pros and cons of each strategy give us valuable take home message and a great insight to figure out our own teaching principles and goals.

por Kathy A

13 de dic. de 2016

This course was so helpful. I could see the why of how classes were set up with VIPKID and which theories were in place. I also gained valuable insight in how to implement strategies for different learning styles. The course was easy to follow, and the assessment at the end of each lesson helped in organizing the information I learned for future recall. Thank you Coursera for offering this opportunity.

por SULIMAN A S A

27 de dic. de 2015

Honestly, It's one of the best course in the world. I've enjoyed and learned a lot from this amazing course. In addition, I was a bit confusing about teaching approach, but after finishing the course, I can work with different approaches in teaching, moreover, I can choose which approach is suitable for my students and which not capable for them. However, I would love to thank you all teachers, classmates.

por Nataliya K

11 de mar. de 2016

Great course! I highly recommend it to everyone who is interested in ESL teaching and learning. Dr. Shawn Dixon is not an instructor - he is a real actor. He turns on his lectures into shows. It was my 15th course on Coursera, all of them were interesting and useful, but it was the funniest one! I have never seen a complex and boring theory outlining so exciting. Believe me, you will enjoy this course!

por Adalto F d G

1 de jun. de 2016

The high level of the content and the teachers able to inspire, are maybe the best reason to do this course. I never saw so good teachers as they have here and the ability to teach and give valuable information to the learners as done here. In another situation, this course should cost a lot of money.

Thanks to professors Shane Dixon, Jessica Cinco and Justin. More than teach, you are able to inspire!

por Rosa F

25 de oct. de 2020

Even if as teachers we already know about the different approaches and the use of its techniques and strategies, the way you use to explain the contents, has helped me a lot. Now I'm learning in the good and right sense. I have more clear how to help my students and its helped me also to auto reflect where and who i am and where and how i want to go from here in my teaching-learning process.

Thanks!

por Rachel G

10 de jul. de 2017

By studying the history of teaching approaches, I learned both the purposes behind teaching techniques throughout history and why the do or do not work based on a learner's purpose for learning a language. And, as a bonus, as a second language learner, I learned new learner strategies too. The information was clear, and the method of presentation made it both entertaining and memorable. Thanks.

por TRAN A K

19 de ago. de 2021

Very nice concept with the time machine and using caricatures! Just one observation: I've noticed that the "Why" question in the time machine videos is different from the "Why" in the sheets. While in the video the caricature was asked "Why do we teach language", the question in the sheet seems to be "Why do we use this approach". The two overlap, but sometimes there are differences to consider!

por Aaron T

29 de nov. de 2020

The lessons are engaging and interesting to say the least. It is interesting to learn all of the approaches that have been used throughout history. I will take what is useful from the approaches, discard what is useless and finally, make an approach that is truly mine! I recommend this course to anyone who is keen on the theories of 2nd language acquisition or on language acquisition in general!

por Esther A

17 de ene. de 2021

I'd like to say special “Thank you!” to my main dearest American teachers and all members of team of this wonderful, and, very useful for people around the world, course. Thank you for your unreal help for such women like me. Your great program really changes for better a lot of lives. You make me a person, who is full of happy and hope for better fate in the future. Love you all very much!

por Ariel S M

27 de feb. de 2016

Like the course before this one, Theories of Second Language Acquistion was exceptional. I love how the professors creatively distill very important facts and information in a format that is enjoyable and refreshing for students. I wish all Coursera Courses were carefully planned and presented like this course - how you present it is just as important as the content that you are presenting.

por Ayhan Y

24 de jul. de 2022

Hello,

I take this course as a base to revise my teaching techniques as I particaipated the course without any pain and it encourged me to continue step by step. Content is also very charming with its devil and angel debates, teacher's accurate and fluent performances like an actor. And materials are so user friendly that everyone can start to use immediately. Thanks for the opportunity.

por Kirsten M

2 de abr. de 2020

An excellent overview of the history of ESL teaching methods. Presented as vignettes using simple caricatures, it is easy to follow and the exaggerated style makes each theory memorable. The graphic organizer that the course provides keeps your notes in place, and will come in handy at Final Exam time. This is not an easy course; you will work and you will learn, but you will also enjoy.