Chevron Left
Volver a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.7
estrellas
4,392 calificaciones
1,334 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Principales revisiones

HA

Aug 18, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

VF

Jun 22, 2020

The explanation of each module was perfect, every bit was understood. The mentor was also very helpful in the forum. I wish there was a part 2 of the course to keep learning with the same professors.

Filtrar por:

1051 - 1075 de 1,315 revisiones para Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

por Terrance C

Mar 22, 2018

Love it!

por SABA N

May 28, 2020

awesome

por Sanghyun C

Feb 08, 2018

awesome

por Pranav P

Dec 30, 2016

AMAZING

por Dingyanshen M

Aug 15, 2019

useful

por Shashank P

Nov 09, 2017

Thanks

por Pritam K

May 03, 2020

Great

por nayancy g

May 08, 2019

GOOD.

por Stephen R

Jan 28, 2019

Great

por Ching-Jui S

Dec 23, 2017

great

por Yara F

Oct 27, 2017

great

por Leo J M M

Jul 23, 2017

great

por Pramod K G

Jun 16, 2020

Good

por Stefan B

May 15, 2019

F

u

n

!

por Satheeshkumar M

Dec 27, 2017

good

por Samuel W

Nov 24, 2016

Nice

por 杨豆豆

Aug 19, 2017

挺好的

por Netravati G

Jul 26, 2020

--

por Shivesh C

Apr 06, 2020

i

por Zubaer K

Jan 04, 2018

IF YOU'RE NEW TO PROGRAMMING, READ THIS. The course was helpful in getting started understanding the fundamentals of programming. However, what was waaaaay more helpful was the textbook written by the teachers of this course.

If you rely on this course alone to teach you anything, unless you already have an in-depth understanding of programming in another language, you will be completely lost. Honestly, I don't even understand how someone could pretend that this is a viable approach to learning programming. It's probably why I've failed at learning so many times before.

A much more helpful approach is to get the textbook, PRACTICAL PROGRAMMING - AN INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTER SCIENCE USING PYTHON 3, and read the chapters before watching the videos. Almost all of the weeks of the course line up perfectly with the chapters of the textbook, so you don't have to read too far ahead. The course covers chapters 1-11, although not everything is covered. One other helpful trick is to look at the course documents for the week - they often show what chapter and section they are covering, so you can read that specific part before watching the videos.

I just finished the course and I am excited to finally have figured out how to get started on coding. Hoping and crossing fingers and toes that the second course in this series is as good as the first.

por Aretina C

May 05, 2020

For someone who has absolutely no background on math, or anything programming. I DID IT AND SO CAN YOU.

-The course is taught in small chunks.

...I agree that Paul explains things a bit too fast, compared to Jen who really talks through each line of code. But use this as a time to really pause, and deconstruct the code for yourself.

-The quizzes were a little tough at times, but I learned so much from them.

...Make sure you read up on the textbook (free pdf) for guidance. I appreciate the freedom to redo quizzes and assignments, which helped me learn a lot while not feeling pressured or intimidated.

-The assignments were really fun to do.

...I learned so much from them, and it gave me freedom to code how I wanted to. The third assignment was tough, but in a satisfying way, when it all clicks.

-How I got the most out of my experience: I asked questions on the discussion forum, I used the rubber ducky technique to untangle my code, and I tinkered with python while learning the topics.

por Taylor

Jun 03, 2020

I learned a lot completing this course. However, the course went from 0-100 in week 5 and the video lectures reduce in time and the intermittent quizzes expect you to to look up things occasionally that weren't even mentioned in the lectures. The end-of-week assessments from week 5 onwards are MUCH harder than the previous weeks and treat you like a uni student, I.e they expect you to not rely on the videos. It will feel overwhelming and you may become frustrated at the course because of how much time you spend Googling things in order to piece together what you need to know. However, THAT IS WHAT PROGRAMMERS DO. It is an incredibly valuable skill to learn in it's own right, so do not underestimate that. If you are brand new to Python persists through this entire course YOU WILL DEFINITELY FEEL ACCOMPLISHED AT THE END! I do recommend this course, but be prepared to feel frustrated and uncomfortable. That said if you are comfortable, are you learning much?

por Bjørn F

Apr 30, 2017

Fair. I liked the lectures, though being non-native english speaking i had to look some termanology, as some of it was not explained futher than a brief staint of the right side of the page. Previous knowledge with MATLAB helped a lot, as I figured out a lot of the workings, but people starting from scratch might have more difficulties, as I struggled quite a bit with the read and write. I figure maybe it wouldn't be bad to have more throwbacks to previous stuff in the tests, as to really make it connect. Some of it sits pretty loosely in the memory.

But overall, I was quite happy with the course! I really liked the assignments - If anything, consider putting in a assignments at the end, that might be a bit bigger and incoorperates more different things from the various courses, and let the course-goer try out what they learned, and maybe have some tools for help, such that everyone walks away with the feeling of having "written a program" :)

por Anthony P

Mar 02, 2018

This is the first full course I've taken on programming. As such, I cannot rate the course material as it relates to "real world" use of python for things like data analysis or web design or machine learning (obviously). My rating is reflective of the content and the material related to that content. I quizzes and assignments are challenging enough to get you branching out of the provided materials (i.e., using Stack Oveflow or GitHub or Python forums) to understand things. The mentor for the course was helpful without spoonfeeding information. I found the course to be challenging and rewarding to complete. I would have loved more supplemental materials and more thorough explanations of how things like loops are executed or explicit discussions about different ways to approach a task. In all, I feel like I learned a lot and am ready to take the follow up course.

por Adrianne R B

Jun 09, 2020

This is a great place to start with python coding without any experience. I have a small comment for the organizers. It is very difficult to improve learning by way of the review of quizzes as they stand. It only says if it was right or wrong; you can't even see the available answers, or what input was provided. Understanding that it is undesirable to simply give the answer as the question may be recycled in subsequent attempts, if feedback were to be provided explaining why an answer was wrong, it would be far more meaningful. This would be particularly helpful with the written answers where one is left to wonder if it is a simple syntax error, or something grosser. For the multi-answer questions that are wrong, giving partial credit would also be better guidance so you know that you answer is incomplete, rather than wrong.