Chevron Left
Volver a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.7
estrellas
5,283 calificaciones
1,560 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Principales reseñas

HA
17 de ago. de 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

AG
15 de dic. de 2020

Great course for refreshing your python basics, and any beginner looking to pick up Python basics will be in a comfortable spot after completing this course and a bit of practice with the assignments.

Filtrar por:

1526 - 1549 de 1,549 revisiones para Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

por Sergio S

20 de ago. de 2017

There are issues with this course. My biggest gripe is that if you do not pass the tests on your first try, the questions and answers will change on your second time around. Obviously this is fine for the questions that you got wrong however it also changes the ones you got right. This makes the tests take MUCH longer than necessary and there isn't necessarily any extra learning gained from this.

However, even with the problems with this course, you WILL learn how to use Python. I feel that the course succeeded in that regard - but I'm not sure that this course provides any benefits over following some YouTube tutorials.

In conclusion, if you would like to learn how to use Python and don't mind something that is challenging and time consuming, take this course.

por Giuseppe B

31 de ago. de 2017

I just finished Lesson 1 and I have already found some issues:

They said that if you divide 2 int you will always get a float number... That is incorrect because it depends on your Python's version.

Ex: Python 2.7.13 (default, Jan 19 2017, 14:48:08)

[GCC 6.3.0 20170118] on linux2

>>> 8 / 7

1

EXAM Questions

What is the value of x after this statement x = 12 / 3.

I answered 4 and the system considered my answer wrong. I presume the correct answer was x=4

What is the value after executing this round(45.342).

I answered 45.0 and again, the system considered it wrong. (This is really unacceptable that the system is unaware that 45 == 45.0)

I will give this course the benefit of the doubt and keep going on with my next lesson.

por Alina K

5 de ene. de 2022

If you are an absolute beginner, do not waste your time. Course material covers the basics of python, but quizzes are more extensive and require extra preparation. Good if you have someone to guide you through and provide with extra explanations on what and how to solve the questions; or have enough time and self-confidence to look for extra resources on your own.

I also found code-windows within questionnaires during videos and quizzes quite annoying (due to double scroll bars: - one in the code window and another in question window. This prevented from seeing the entire question/possible solutions).

por Jen Y

24 de nov. de 2020

As a complete beginner, I was disheartened to have the same questions as others from as far back as 4 years ago in the course discussion forum and have the material presented not updated to reflect the information to answer these questions. It's frustrating and shows me a lack of actual involvement of the instructors that they won't update their course material. If I wanted to have to research all the answers to my questions, I wouldn't have taken a course.

por Edward A A L

2 de ene. de 2022

The course is indeed good with outstanding professors, yet the version of python taught in this class is very old. I would love, that the University of Toronto update its course to a recent version of python because for some students said version does not work on their updated laptops

por Sam Y

1 de ene. de 2022

Vague and moves far too quickly. Feels like a supplement for an on campus course to be used with a now out of date textbook. For a no experience needed course, I feel like I need some experience, especially with the vocabulary, to understand what's going on.

por Nate P

11 de ene. de 2020

Largely uses less efficient, outdated, and counter-intuitive code to teach Python. If I had someone who learned Python from this course added to my team it would take months to correct the bad behavior they learned here.

por Greg T

30 de ene. de 2017

Very rushed, incomplete examples and gaps in content. I'm not sure what audience Coursera is aiming for, but it doesn't seem to be anyone who doesn't already know a programming language.

por Emma L

21 de jul. de 2017

The course should include more examples and tasks for students. Also all the question areas in quiz'es and tests should be covered by the open lectures. Felt like incomplete course.

por Ruben P

12 de nov. de 2021

Que haya ejercicios y pruebas para avanzar esta muy bien, pero muy flojo el curso y muy básico.

por JAIDEN G W E

14 de dic. de 2020

Not as expected. I find it hard to keep up with the pace and the assignments.

por Cipriano E M

11 de jun. de 2018

It complicates things that are supposed to be simple and explainable.

por Boray E

6 de feb. de 2020

Material presented is good for beginners but the courses are boring.

por Esam A A M

13 de mar. de 2021

Is there’s any mistake in the test number 2

por Karime A C

6 de dic. de 2017

To many quizes per video and too much Teory

por 19BCA180-VIJAYA S R B

18 de sep. de 2020

I could not get my course certificate

por Islam T

6 de abr. de 2020

Очень непонятные задания.

por Deleted A

9 de may. de 2020

The video tutorial test questions focus in on details irrelevant to programming which can cause a beginner programmer to totally lose focus on coding, and instead become discouraged by their strength in mathematics. Spend more time on exploring the basics of Python, and less time giving users trouble over petty mathematical discrepancies during the interactive potion of the video tutorials.. or at least offer greater detail in righting an incorrect response. This shakes the confidence of beginner users and makes them feel like programming is beyond their ability and understanding, just because they cannot rearrange a math question in the desired order, when at the end of the day, Python can solve the expression regardless as to whether the user enter multiplication or division first!

por moustafa

21 de jul. de 2020

outdated ,

video lectures are from 8 years ago , which is like a century in terms of programming.

although the material maybe useful , most of the programming exercises deal with an IDLE that is in 2012 so features are different than IDLE in 2020 . I don't want to spend most of my time trying to figure how they did something in 2012.

por Ana M

20 de oct. de 2020

Very poorly designed course, they only focus on mac and don't even explain that everything works differently on windows, yet they take time to make you listen to elementary school level math in the first week materials.

por ishita m

27 de oct. de 2020

i would like a refund, not a well-designed course at all.

Extremely disappointed

por Damien M

10 de feb. de 2017

10/10 would program again

por Narendhiran S

27 de nov. de 2020

nil

por Winston

8 de feb. de 2017

bad