Chevron Left
Volver a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.7
2,945 calificaciones
896 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Principales revisiones

HA

Aug 18, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

CV

Nov 17, 2017

This is a introductory course i would recommend. I especially liked that the instructors took the time to go through the python visualizer and try to unveil some of the background workings in python.

Filtrar por:

851 - 875 de 880 revisiones para Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

por TILOK C

Sep 11, 2019

Very interesting, a good course for beginner. Looking forward for course on python + GIS.

por Eivind F

Sep 15, 2019

I started learning programming two years ago and are constantly looking for ways to improve my skills. In my search to good resources, this is one of them.

I found this course good because it focused on the building blocks for learning to code. It thoroughly explains the different datatypes, loops, functions/definitions, how the interpreter works and how to build a functional program.

This said, I believe that there exists better courses / books / tutorials if you have absolutely no experience in programming. If you have some experience in python or from another language, than this is a good course.

Cheers and enjoy learningl

por Fady S R S

Sep 12, 2019

it was a very good source for me as a beginner. the sequence also motivated me to keep going week after week. thanks for your efforts

por jatin u

Sep 18, 2019

It's an excellent program to start learning python.

por Benedict A

Sep 18, 2019

I am a beginner to programming. I took longer than the stated time to complete all the assignments and quizzes. On the second and third attempts i came closer to the stated time. Some of the questions in the assignment, quizzes and exam are not clear. This led to more or unnecessary time to complete these sections.

Overall I learned a lot and my speed started to increase as I grasped the fundamentals of programming and data structures. It would be great if their are additional or optional assignments that are available to do. I find that learning is greatly enhance and reinforced when I am able to apply the knowledge and skills.

Also, I purchased the book. It would be great if there were suggestions for the next steps to continue in reading the book.

Thank you

por Syed A A

Sep 22, 2019

Very nicely paced introductory course on python. Even newbies can catch the jargon easily.

por Krystal

Oct 30, 2017

Couldn't follow because they were using Mac OS Python Shell

por Fábio D S P

Jun 21, 2017

Few chances to practice before the assignments!

por Vanessa W

Feb 04, 2017

Assignments and assessments took at least 2 to 3 times as long as described.

por Brett M M

Jul 19, 2017

Good introduction to Python but very basic, not for anyone with programming experience as you could learn all this in about an hour.

Audio Quality was quite poor.

por Yitong Z

Apr 20, 2017

This course is very basic

por Karolis M

Apr 08, 2017

Very few programming assignments..

por 黄嘉鑫

May 19, 2017

not so good, no so bas

por Sebastian D

Jul 16, 2017

it's well explained, but it's lacking some incentives/ideas for the student to get started with some programming himself/herself. Like the crossword assignment, but as something optional, e.g., with some helper files and ideas how to get started. ("program a labyrinth game - we give you code for detecting keyboard strokes and creating temporary printouts to the screen, etc." / "we prepared a parser that creates wikipedia-like websites. you have to write functions that define formatting etc." / ...)

dunno. maybe I am the wrong candidate for the course because even though python is new to me, i know the concept of programming quite well. But even if not

por Bharti T

Mar 12, 2018

I really liked the course as an introduction to python programming. It would have even more great if we could have had more programming assignments for practice.

por Vladimir G

Mar 15, 2017

Should provide more examples and exercises for every topic. Research the web for additional exercises if you want to learn something here.

por Sean C

Oct 10, 2018

The course material (lecture videos and readings) and the assignments are clear, concise, and informative. I found these to be engaging, bite-sized means of absorbing critical concepts. All of my problems with the course are rooted in the quizzes. I found the interface clunky, as I could not quickly switch between the quiz and IDLE or copy/paste code portions to easily try them out. Additionally, Having to repeat a quiz again (and again), without any ability to view the nature of the mistakes was very frustrating. When I make a mistake, I expect to be able to review it and assess how I can improve—I do not merely want to be informed that my answer was incorrect, and instructed to repeat the entire quiz. There is not a learning moment there and I found that to be an impediment to my experience. I also feel that, while there are multiple correct answers to many coding problems, expecting multiples of correct answers to be marked was unnecessarily complicated for an introductory course. Ultimately, I think the quizzes could be eliminated and, instead, replaced with more smaller assignments. Still, I will consider taking the next course.

por Aaron G

Jul 20, 2019

Me no like

por Karime A C

Dec 07, 2017

To many quizes per video and too much Teory

por Shahab A

Aug 06, 2017

You're quiz question are too long and too ambiguously worded. I spend more time trying to understand paragraphs than actual code

por Giuseppe B

Aug 31, 2017

I just finished Lesson 1 and I have already found some issues:

They said that if you divide 2 int you will always get a float number... That is incorrect because it depends on your Python's version.

Ex: Python 2.7.13 (default, Jan 19 2017, 14:48:08)

[GCC 6.3.0 20170118] on linux2

>>> 8 / 7

1

EXAM Questions

What is the value of x after this statement x = 12 / 3.

I answered 4 and the system considered my answer wrong. I presume the correct answer was x=4

What is the value after executing this round(45.342).

I answered 45.0 and again, the system considered it wrong. (This is really unacceptable that the system is unaware that 45 == 45.0)

I will give this course the benefit of the doubt and keep going on with my next lesson.

por Emma L

Jul 21, 2017

The course should include more examples and tasks for students. Also all the question areas in quiz'es and tests should be covered by the open lectures. Felt like incomplete course.

por abdallah m

Nov 13, 2017

instructors use simple examples and put difficult ones in the quiz which most of them does not describe how it can be answered in the right way, also it focuses on tricky questions not practical trials for real life situations....overall i found alot better tracks on different sites which made me feel that i wasted alot of time here on coursera.

por Sergio S

Aug 21, 2017

There are issues with this course. My biggest gripe is that if you do not pass the tests on your first try, the questions and answers will change on your second time around. Obviously this is fine for the questions that you got wrong however it also changes the ones you got right. This makes the tests take MUCH longer than necessary and there isn't necessarily any extra learning gained from this.

However, even with the problems with this course, you WILL learn how to use Python. I feel that the course succeeded in that regard - but I'm not sure that this course provides any benefits over following some YouTube tutorials.

In conclusion, if you would like to learn how to use Python and don't mind something that is challenging and time consuming, take this course.