Chevron Left
Volver a Linear Regression in R for Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Linear Regression in R for Public Health por parte de Imperial College London

4.8
estrellas
313 calificaciones
65 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Linear Regression in R for Public Health! Public Health has been defined as “the art and science of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organized efforts of society”. Knowing what causes disease and what makes it worse are clearly vital parts of this. This requires the development of statistical models that describe how patient and environmental factors affect our chances of getting ill. This course will show you how to create such models from scratch, beginning with introducing you to the concept of correlation and linear regression before walking you through importing and examining your data, and then showing you how to fit models. Using the example of respiratory disease, these models will describe how patient and other factors affect outcomes such as lung function. Linear regression is one of a family of regression models, and the other courses in this series will cover two further members. Regression models have many things in common with each other, though the mathematical details differ. This course will show you how to prepare the data, assess how well the model fits the data, and test its underlying assumptions – vital tasks with any type of regression. You will use the free and versatile software package R, used by statisticians and data scientists in academia, governments and industry worldwide....

Principales reseñas

MK
3 de abr. de 2020

This is an excellent course to learn how to think statistically with respect to linear regression. The course covers a lot of materials and equips one to further explore this vast area.

MW
3 de oct. de 2019

The course was really great. The instructor explained the things in a lucid manner. Also the reading materials were great. Thank you so much for this course

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 65 revisiones para Linear Regression in R for Public Health

por William E

12 de jul. de 2019

This course is excellent- if you want a solid understanding of the basics, this is as good as it gets. I would say it is most suited for somebody who wants a more conceptual rather than mathematical understanding of the subject, but its still has a good balance between the both approaches. The videos are very well presented, the lecturer is very professional and has clear and engaging style [not like most stats teachers ;) ]. My only difficulty was that I am already quite an experienced R user and the coding methods were quite different to my style, that's not a criticism really as there are numerous ways to remove the outer layer of a feline, as they say. There a decent number of typos and I was a little frustrated with some of the answers to the questions being wrong (I was convinced on a couple of occasions that I had it right and they didn't). I'm not the expert so they were almost certainly right it's just the explanation to the answer didn't really help me understand. Also for extra browny points it would great if the R code was formatted in a codey way in the reading lesson- like in stackoverflow. It kind of gets lost in the text. In summary if you are reading this chances are you want to know whether or not to do this course. DO IT The end

por Rashidul H

30 de may. de 2019

An excellent Coursera content provided from such a renowned faculty with so much organized and systematic instructions. I truly enjoyed the whole course to learn the concept and had ample opportunity with tasks to practice analysis skills with the provided example data. I would really recommend anyone to participate on this course. Best wishes to Imperial faculty for offering such a great course.

por Rashmi M

22 de sep. de 2019

Excellent course. We get a lot of hands on training in building regression models and crystal clear concepts.

por Sergio P

20 de sep. de 2019

Excellent course, with great classes and a large data set for you to test your computational skills.

por Brenda Y

2 de jul. de 2020

I loved the step-by-step approach and learned a lot in this course! I only wish that activities could be assessed (perhaps by peer review, as I have seen in other courses), so I could know if I am on the right track, or how to troubleshoot certain issues (still struggling with interaction terms...). Otherwise, definitely a great course with great materials teaching very useful skills :)

por Kalyango E

21 de dic. de 2019

Initially I was scared of R programming and statistics because i thought it was for data scientists, but this course was easy to follow and the exercises are rigorous. You come out of this course confident in your analytic skills. Wonderful teachers and thanks for sharing your knowledge.

por SAVINO S

24 de sep. de 2020

Interesting and well planned. It follows the path laid down in the previous course, alternating short videos and moments of personal reading and reflection, followed by feedbacks. Plus the chance to see some real data processing, both guided and do-it-yourself. Good!

por Tommy G

15 de ago. de 2019

Excellent course! Very hard in some aspects but very engaging and it provides students with deep knowledge of linear regression, epidemiology with R usage, and biostatistics skills which I consider essential for every Public Health Practitioner today.

por Hector P

18 de sep. de 2020

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken. Congratulations to the design team and the instructors. The level of this course is excellent and the feedback the instructor provided helped me to go further. I am so happy I took this course.

por Swetha J

19 de may. de 2020

The course explained the intricacies of Linear Regression very well. esp. the interaction effect and addressing categorial variables and how to select variables, which is often overseen in most content/ courses. Excellent course!

por Sabine F

10 de dic. de 2019

In a matter of days I was able to understand linear regression using R. Great videos and homework assignments that are doable and can be applied directly to own research. This course is a must for any Phd student in healthcare.

por Qusai A K A A

22 de oct. de 2020

This is a fantastic course that does give you a solid R foundation to build on, I am glad I took it and I am looking forward to practice more and sharpen my R skills, I would like to thank everyone who worked on this course!

por Michael K

4 de abr. de 2020

This is an excellent course to learn how to think statistically with respect to linear regression. The course covers a lot of materials and equips one to further explore this vast area.

por MOHAMMAD R W

4 de oct. de 2019

The course was really great. The instructor explained the things in a lucid manner. Also the reading materials were great. Thank you so much for this course

por Chenxuan Y

7 de nov. de 2020

I love Victoria and the way she focuses on the important parts of the course while leaving the other parts to be discovered by yourself

por John A

30 de oct. de 2020

Great step by step explanation of the linear regression model-building process. Very clear. Also highlights pitfalls to avoid.

por Victor I M

9 de sep. de 2020

Very good explanations, I have learnt a lot of statistics as a science student, but I learnt way more thanks to this course

por Fidel G

22 de dic. de 2019

Great course that takes you step by step on how to create model selection in R which you can be apply into the real world.

por Rebecca E

17 de ago. de 2020

Excellent online course with plenty of learning to now take away and apply to other datasets to enhance this learning.

por Dawn D

30 de abr. de 2020

Thorough explanation of linear regression, building on the basics right up to model building. Highly recommend! :)

por Kelly B

21 de abr. de 2020

The course was really well put together and fitted really nicely taught in the first course in the specialisation.

por Mohd. A H

1 de jul. de 2020

I learned a lot from the course even if a lot of areas felt unpolished and glossed over. Definitely recommend it.

por Rodolfo I C S

27 de ago. de 2019

Great Course. For a person wanting to learn coding from scratch it is very friendly and easy to understand.

por Vũ M L

9 de may. de 2020

I love this course. I can understand clearly how linear regression work and apply this in real situation

por Don A E

5 de jul. de 2020

Great Refresher or first course. Videos were the right length. The difficulty the right level.