Chevron Left
Volver a Machine Design Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Machine Design Part I por parte de Instituto de Tecnología de Georgia

4.8
853 calificaciones
224 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Principales revisiones

ZZ

Feb 17, 2017

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

SG

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you so much. I liked your teaching style.You gave me a clear understanding about each and every topic covered in this course.I enjoyed the learning.Hope we will be in touch for further courses.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 216 revisiones para Machine Design Part I

por Rahul K C

Jun 18, 2019

One of the best courses for University or college students who want to get knowledge of Machine Design and how to design a mechanical component.

por Vivek K

Nov 10, 2016

Enjoyable course, have to apply the fundamentals while solving problems and the instructor given the real world example of the failures and looking waiting for Machine Design part 2 and part 3.

por Vinay R V

Mar 18, 2018

The professor is good in communicating the concepts. But you may need to go through the text book before you begin the course. The best part about the course is the emphasis on the examples and the real life application of Machine Design principles. The best part of the entire course is the part on fatigue. I have not seen any book that has explained the concept of fatigue so well. The course will be finished with a breeze if you have your Mechanics of Material and Mechanics of rigid bodies in good command

por sabir h

Dec 07, 2018

great job..

por Sari M

Dec 21, 2018

Easy to follow and well structured course on machine design. Great as a refresher course or a supplementary to standard university courses.

por Jamat J P H

Dec 23, 2018

excelente curso

por Shayan B

Jan 27, 2019

This according to me was a very well put and organized course teaching from the very basic thereby making our concepts clear and increasing our confidence in Machine Design. I would personally recommend this course to my peers and am eagerly waiting for it's second part.

por pragyendra b

Feb 01, 2019

This is really a good course for people looking basic design analysis and introduction to machine design. The examples provided are apt and really interesting, like the hip surgery and Boeing airplane testing. The references are great, I have always followed metric units but the course is neutral grounds for people so I did not find any troubles on that part. I believe more courses of this series would be fun to complete. And for everyone looking forward to this course, I would say definitely do it, it would not take much of your time and the skills you would acquire are must for knowledge prospect.

por Hafeez A

Nov 07, 2018

Great oppertunity to learn

por Abhinandan

Nov 14, 2018

really nice

por Omar A M O

Jan 19, 2019

One of the best professors I have ever had. Clear explanations, covering so much in such a short time, very effectively.

por Mohummed D

Jan 08, 2019

impressive teacher i like her teaching method

por Bruno E P S

Jan 08, 2019

This course is very interesting, we are expecting for course 2.

por Pagadala B

Feb 10, 2019

Very Good Knowledge i got it

por Syed R H

Feb 13, 2019

Course content was good but found instructors presence in discussion forum somewhat lacking.Questions asked in the forum remain unanswered more so related to case studies.Coursera certificate design is also sub par with the instructor’s signature barely legible(only artifacts) and no watermark.Would request Georgia Inst. and coursera to at least look into the certificate aspect.

por Tejas B

Feb 26, 2019

Loved this course. Very informative and challenging. This course taught me concepts that are usually avoided in my collegeand the ssignments enabled me to get my fundamentals clear.

por Asfand Y S

Mar 05, 2019

It was a great learning experience. It should have a part 2 as well.

por Brian M

Mar 05, 2019

The modules were thourough, well organized, and easy to follow. The professor was very good at explaining the concepts.

por Shivam P

Mar 06, 2019

really good synchronization..... i will consider this as good crash course of machine design to align all concepts together. Thank you:)

por Shivam P

Mar 11, 2019

thanks

por Gajjar D

Mar 12, 2019

It's very nice xperiance of learning Machine design fundamentals in very deep and now i can think much higher end also the quality of assignment is upto the mark what i expected. it was a nice experince learning with Dr. Kathryn Wingate.

por Yogendra S

Mar 18, 2019

great explanations and really in a simple way.

por M Y K

Nov 16, 2018

Just Love this Course

por Aditya K

Mar 22, 2019

Course material is well organized. Real case analysis is perfectly solved. A lot to learn. Overall very good course for Industry and Students both.

Thank you Prof. Kate W.

por

Mar 21, 2019

ITS VERY GOOD COURSE AND I GOT OUTSTANDING DEEP KNOWLEDGE OF DESIGN AND MATERIAL PROPERTY.