Chevron Left
Volver a Machine Design Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Machine Design Part I por parte de Instituto de Tecnología de Georgia

4.8
estrellas
1,999 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Principales reseñas

IP

13 de may. de 2021

Very illustrative presentation, with clever exercises. You can learn easily basic concepts of machine design that otherwise you would need much more time to undestand them on your own or at a college.

RS

17 de ago. de 2022

Great method of explaining mechanical design fundamentals with real-life examples. Thank you for your work and waiting the other parts of the series hoping it goes into depth of the designing process!

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 544 revisiones para Machine Design Part I

por abdullah a h a

25 de mar. de 2021

good

por Jorge A G C

7 de feb. de 2021

good

por 121810801003 U V V

2 de dic. de 2020

NICE

por Rakesh L

27 de oct. de 2020

good

por VARUN . S

30 de sep. de 2020

good

por shahillram .

9 de ago. de 2020

nice

por SHIVAKUMAR P

19 de may. de 2020

Good

por Nenavath N K

19 de may. de 2020

Good

por Abhinavnayakini

19 de may. de 2020

Good

por Sai k

18 de may. de 2020

Good

por Upendra P

4 de may. de 2020

good

por Sathish r

3 de may. de 2020

good

por Purighella N B

1 de may. de 2020

good

por KATRU V

25 de abr. de 2020

Good

por Utkarsh K S

9 de abr. de 2019

good

por Fhareza A

12 de sep. de 2020

wow

por Pratik Y P

27 de sep. de 2020

00

por Mohamed S M

10 de feb. de 2018

<3

por Jan G

20 de nov. de 2019

V

por Jim B

25 de ene. de 2023

This class is more organized than most. In other classes, you can only download a computer transcription of the lecture, with no corrections or alterations made to it by the instructor. It certainly cannot stand on it's own as a learning tool. Also, you take the quizzes, you submit your answers, and it tells you which answers are right or wrong.

In this class you can download the slides she uses, and after you get the quiz 100% correct you can download the answer sheet (in case you just guessed at an answer and see how it was supposed to have been done).

But it's not perfect. Some slides are missing from the downloads. And in the week 5 lectures the downloaded additional notes have the equations used but are all missing the =, +, and - symbols, which makes using them for reference a pain.

Another annoying thing is that if you don't score well enough on an exam (like I didn't because I used the wrong equation for the area of a circle) you have to wait 24 hours to take it again. And there is no real time clock - when you come back the next day it still says you have to wait 24 hours and not the actual hour or two. This should be changed.

And don't bother to leave a question on the material or an exam - there is no one to answer your note. You're on your own kid.

And this is only Part 1. A Part 2 and 3 was promised 6 years ago but has so far not shown up.

I did learn some things from this class even though I'm an engineer with 20 years of experience and took it as a refresher class. But if I do see a Part 2 or 3 I'll be taking it.

por Isaac S

9 de ago. de 2019

I enjoyed the course, it was good to recap on areas that I'd forgotten, and also learn some new skills. The lecture videos were very clear and concise and all the material was well explained.

Negatives - There did seem to be some errors (in my opinion) in some of the combined stress questions (or at the very least some bad explanation / errors in the solutions documents which seemed to be contrary to what was taught in Georgia Tech's Mechanics of Materials IV course on coursera). Also, the lecture slide pdfs were sometimes missing bits that were in the videos. There were also seperate pdfs for each short video, so there are around 40 pdfs that cover all the course material which was a bit of a pain, I think It would've been much easier to have a pdf of all the slides for each week.

por Gary U

23 de dic. de 2016

A good introductory course to gain an appreciation of some of the theory and techniques that goes into designing mechanical systems in our modern world. Real world cases are discussed, and I have become aware of some of the failure mechanisms in airplanes and in the body skeleton, so I am a bit more leary of taking airplane flights , and not jumping off high places while twirling. You need to be familiar with basic theory of stress and strain before taking this course, there is a series of courses available on Coursea as pre-requisite. The way the quizzes are scheduled makes it advantageous to watch the videos early in the week and take the quiz as soon as possible, since you get only one attempt every 24 hours. Enjoyed the course.

por Orynbekov A

28 de may. de 2020

Pretty well-made course with a lot of different practical examples. Teaching is very professional and straight forward. All exercises are great, however there could be more of them. Course has some small mistakes, which off course were not intentional. Main inconvinience is that you are adviced to go throught three other courses to fully understand the content of this course, but I think it is normal. In total, this is a good course that gives you a better understanding of the processes happening in machine design field.

por Carlos A C C

6 de jun. de 2019

El curso fue muy bueno para recordar y mejorar algunas de las habilidades en el ambito de la ingenieria estructural. A pesar de ser un curso introductorio fue muy bueno, puesto que lo aprendido es la base para continuar con conceptos mucho mas complejos. Me agrado mucho la metodologia, y la forma de ensenanza de parte de la profesora la cual intenta por todos los medios que se entienda la materia. Ahora estoy en espera de que en algun momento se abra un curso de Machine Design II.

por Sunny M

7 de feb. de 2020

I'm giving 4 stars based on this course specifically, matter will different if considered never coming part 2. this course did not include any machine elements but was very good with failure classes both static and fatigue. I really need the part 2 or a different course as DESIGN OF MACHINE ELEMENTS, which would include gears, gear trains, clutches, brakes, etc.

(I left one star because i felt content wasn't enough)