Chevron Left
Volver a Machine Design Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Machine Design Part I por parte de Instituto de Tecnología de Georgia

4.8
estrellas
1,912 calificaciones
532 reseña

Acerca del Curso

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Principales reseñas

ZZ

16 de feb. de 2017

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

IP

13 de may. de 2021

Very illustrative presentation, with clever exercises. You can learn easily basic concepts of machine design that otherwise you would need much more time to undestand them on your own or at a college.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 524 revisiones para Machine Design Part I

por manish B

23 de mar. de 2022

Excellent content which covered real life example problems. I can relate and apply the theoritcal concept taught in this course to my work area (automotive domain). I recommend every analyst in CAE/Design domain to go through the course , it will be very useful in their work area.

por Abdulrahman H

17 de abr. de 2017

Literally, It's one of the best courses i have ever taken. I have learned through out this course how to be precise and accurate in my calculation and the attention to details. The instructor is amazing and i really have learned a lot from her. However, her exams are not easy :) !

por ChandBasha S

14 de dic. de 2019

This course was good, I enjoyed learning topics like Number designation of metals, Static & Fatigue Failure, their theories, Stress concentration Factors, Endurance, and Life of Rotation of parts. I have also learned a lot more things that are mandatory for every Design engineer.

por Hossam S M

30 de ago. de 2017

This course is well structured and covers most of the topics you need to know about stresses and failures.

You will need to have good background about materials and mechanics of materials to gain as much of this course.

Thank you Dr. Wingate for your efforts to deliver this course

por Wedyn N

24 de abr. de 2020

The course touched very useful topics that were explained in a very clear and easy to understand manner. The course instructor taught the course with a good use of interesting cases as well as a good set off problems. The course was on the whole very enjoyable and informative.

por Jonathan A

5 de jun. de 2017

fantastic class and great teacher,

I studied this material years ago in my academic studies and wanted to refresh my memory and knowledge.

I got a better understanding of the material now than from when I was a student.

lecture is very clear and professional. highly recommended

por SAYOOJ P

26 de ago. de 2021

This course was really wonderful. After this course I got a lot of knowledge and ideas about machine design and what all things we need to consider while selecting a material for design etc. Each classes was really helpful and informative for me. I really enjoyed this course

por JAYANTH A R

11 de jun. de 2020

This course is very useful for design bases, which covers a lot many formulae and theory as well.

At the same time, this course has very good assessments to test your deeper understanding of concepts.

Thanks to Georgia Tech and Coursera for offering this pretty good course.

por Shayan B

27 de ene. de 2019

This according to me was a very well put and organized course teaching from the very basic thereby making our concepts clear and increasing our confidence in Machine Design. I would personally recommend this course to my peers and am eagerly waiting for it's second part.

por Dhandhukia J A

1 de ago. de 2020

the Best Course Ever. Explained Everything with details and explained very easily. I have become the fan of this course. The explanation was outstanding. I hope i get lot more courses like this from Coursera as well as Georgia Institute of Technology. Thank You so Much.

por Simone I

8 de mar. de 2022

Exceptional course! Topics are thoroughly analized but at the same time explained in a clear and easy manner. I would recommended it to anyone from undergraduates who are starting to cope with this subject or graduates who want to refresh or consolidate their knowledge

por Raúl M S

12 de sep. de 2020

Excellent course about fundamentals of fatigue and mechanical components design. Well organized and perfectly explained. The duration of each video is perfect. Quizzes are also very useful. I strongly recommend this course and her great teacher. Thank you from Spain.

por Dnyandeep M

9 de ago. de 2017

I am very grateful, that I got this chance of completing this course. Dr. Kathryn Wingate was very persuasive throughout the course and the way she taught is completely commendable. I got the complete knowledge about the machine design process with all minute detail.

por Ramajigalu M P

18 de feb. de 2018

I brushed up my basics by taking this course. Dr.Wingate's teaching was to the point. It was easy to understand. The quiz made me to apply the my theoretical knowledge to solve problems. Case study made us relate the theoretical problems to the real life problems.

por Rahmi A

8 de feb. de 2018

The Machine Design Part I covers a huge amount of basic concepts/theories in a short time.It was very useful to get a clear understanding of engineering design. Dr. Kathryn Wingate used a clear language and I appreciate her. I am looking forward to MD Part II. :)

por Rob I

11 de jun. de 2017

Excellent course. Well taught and presented, I very much like the format. It would be good to get course notes rather than taking screenshots. I would also prefer if the answers given were exact and not rounded as this has confused me throughout. Thanks very much.

por Joylene H D

28 de jun. de 2019

Great course. Helps brush up previous knowledge on Strength and Mechanics of materials. Although one thing id like them to improve is certain values being assumed in solving problems in worksheets for fatigue. Great course though. Waiting for Part 2 and 3.

por Suchita B

30 de may. de 2020

Hello, I liked the course, the content and the teaching style is very good. And I got my certificate also. But the professor's signature is not very clear in fact, it is very blurred.

I would appreciate if it can be mended in the certificate.

Thanking you.

por José D P C

28 de feb. de 2020

Muy buen curso, me resulto demasiado útil, me sirvió para ampliar mi visión en el diseño de sistemas mecánicos, el material proporcionado complementado con la teoría sirve de guía para complementar los análisis que se desarrollan cuando se esta diseñando.

por Ángel A B

21 de ene. de 2017

Great course that reviews different faliure modes of mechanical components, from static failure of ductile and brittle materials to fatigue failure. The practical approach to the subject provides a very useful toolset for the design of machine components.

por Tanuj N

18 de sep. de 2018

Dr. Kathryn Wingate, is a great teacher, the course was amazing it helped me building concept & clearly understanding them, Quiz & Worksheet helped me in revision & deep understanding.

I would like to thank Dr. Kathryn Wingate & Coursera team.

Thanks.

por Ankit S

8 de may. de 2020

I very much loved the course.

I have 1 suggestions for the course.

If the xourse includes 1,2 times of components like knuckle joint or screw javk or cotter joinr etc, it would help the students to study the application of these failure theories.

por Charan T

30 de dic. de 2019

the course is well made and presented, the questions can be harder but its great for revising the fundamentals.please add more parts and make it as a specialization.i loved the case studies a lot.loved the way professor Wingate taught the course.

por Dhruvil P

31 de jul. de 2017

This course really help me to enhance my knowledge about machine design and material selection. I hope this course is beneficially to all those who are pursuing their graduation in technical field especially for mechanical engineers.

Thank you

por Shouvik B

30 de jun. de 2018

Concepts were nicely touched upon. The course material really helped me to get an in depth understanding of the fundamentals of machine design at an introductory level. Th quizzes were exciting and helpful too. THANKS COURSERA AND DR. WINGATE.