Chevron Left
Volver a Magic in the Middle Ages

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Magic in the Middle Ages por parte de Universitat de Barcelona

4.6
estrellas
886 calificaciones
255 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Principales revisiones

BW

Mar 24, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

CP

Jul 06, 2017

When i read the title of this course, i could not imagine what it is about. So i took it. It's a great course, with different perspectives and with a really clear language. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 251 revisiones para Magic in the Middle Ages

por Brett B

Jun 05, 2019

Very informative and helpful in understanding some of the unexplained areas of Anthropology. However there are too many videos (which can be hard for the hearing impaired considering the accompanying text is in need of improvement), not enough faculty and instructor support and the syllabus is in need of detail and structure.

por Yannis R

Mar 18, 2018

A lot of the material felt like little more than a bombardment of names. The first assignment was awful, there was no way to infer what was required from us from the assignment's description. People have been saying this for over a year, yet there was no attempt to fix the assignment. Quite a few of the videos were of very poor quality. The sand video in the Geomancy module, for example, was amongst the worst I've seen on Coursera.

por Daniela G

Jun 21, 2019

A pretty intereseing course. Personally I liked it and it shed some light on the concept of Magic, Sorcery, Witchcraft, and the implications of the church or the views of the church on it. It does take a political turn. The concept pretty much was, if a child was ill, he/she was better left to die, to try to heal/treat the child via magic methods. Interesting. I can see the Biblical implications, however, with the arival of the inquisitors (which were leading some kind of rituals in secret) under the supervision of the Pope... This part is shows the political implications. Apparently, there was nu jurisdiction that these inquisitors had, therefore, it was a matter of beliefs in the end. Believing in God, vs. Witchcraft. So the freedom of religion in a way is not necessarily existant since persecution takes place. Interesting course. I would recommend it if you want to learn more about Magic and the arrival or the notion of such.

por Catherine H B

Apr 07, 2019

I learnt a lot from this module. The lessons are incredibly interesting especially for those who are interested in the Medieval Ages and the beliefs of the people back then

por James A H

Dec 30, 2019

A fascinating look into magic in the Middle Ages, without it being a western-centric or judgemental way of examining the subject. The lecturers always maintained their descriptivist perspective, and succeeded in teaching a lot of different sections in a very short space of time. I particularly enjoyed the look into Astrology & geomancy, because with the current trends around popular astrology, it was fascinating to look into the history behind these practices. Magic in Islam, too, was a brilliant section. Many thanks to the university of Barcelona for offering the course.

por Olena Z

Apr 28, 2019

Thank you for the course, it was interesting and exiting, and it's a pity it ended so quickly. On some topics I would like to get more information, and now I know in what direction to look and which sources to use.

I would also like to see in the text under videos the time, when the illustrations are included in the video. Because my English level is not enough to understand all the lectors speech, I more read text under the video than watch the video itself. And I would like to know at what timestamp I can find the included illustration.

por Amy M

Jun 26, 2017

I greatly appreciated the erudite content and approach of the lecture and the quality of links and supporting material. The lecturers were all outstanding. Since I am living in a country that seems to be embracing ignorance at warp speed, it was also refreshing and reassuring to hear the words of European scholars who value scholarship and critical thinking. This course has spurred my interest in the anthropological and historical examination of magic. I actually want to review the material of the course a second time! Thank you so much!

por Holly F

May 20, 2019

A well-organized class that breaks down different attitudes of 'magic' throughout the Middle Ages- with emphasis on the clergy, as well as a unit specifically dedicated to Islamic Magic (which should be a course in itself as there was much to be covered). Much of what was covered was a reinforcement of what I have previously studied as someone who is interested in magic because of my background as an archaeologist and anthropologist- so this was a nice aspect. In sum, it was enjoyable.

por Laura O

Oct 16, 2016

Outstanding quality of the professors, really pedagogically and atractive classes (not a display of presentations, this is eye-to-eye- kind of presence), comprehensive but extremelly compacted information, comprehensive bibliography that includes all the topic treated or barely mentioned. It's an enjoyable trip to the concept of magic and the social understanding of that word, in the Middle Ages throught the eyes of Catholic, Jewish and Astro-Scientists of the period.

por Pamela S

Jun 14, 2017

There was a lot of information that was interesting to me, especially the lesson on Islamic Magic. A new approach for me was using documents from the period to understand the cultural and societal context of the people for magic and superstitions. The subtitles and printed transcript of the lectures came in handy if I had difficulty understanding the spoken word. This was an enjoyable experience for me and I will refer to my notes in the future.

por Justin W

Sep 04, 2016

It was an incredibly interesting and insightful course, which opened up a lot of interesting avenues and ways of looking at medieval magic, the time and people and beliefs. The course was well organized, and the lectures were interesting and easy to follow along. I liked the course work with the quizzes and the written part and peer review as well. Thank you very much for the time and effort that went into this very cool and interesting course.

por Heather w

Apr 27, 2017

loved it but have not received my certificate.

Dear Heather wright,

Thank you for your purchase.

RECEIPT

Coursera Inc.

381 E. Evelyn Avenue

Mountain View, CA 94041 USA

04-06-2017

Order Number: 5419588

Product Details Price Qty

Course Certificate for Magic in the Middle Ages USD 49.00 1

TOTAL (USD): 49.00

Please keep this receipt as record of your payment.

View our refund policy.

View your purchase history.

Happy Learning!

por Diana L

Sep 13, 2016

I have loved this course. Very interesting, informative, intellectually honest and rigorously taught; entertaining, as well. I am grateful for this opportunity. A dilettante in the study of history, I have been delighted to discover the many ways in which this study of magic in the Middle Ages has opened so many doors to a broader understanding of the forces at play in the human experience. Sincerest thanks!

por Feliza G B

Feb 23, 2017

A deeply satisfying course to anyone who is passionate about symbolism, magic and the occult, from a historical and anthropological perspective. The professors are quite passionate about the the subjects in the lectures, and the content is informative and well researched. This course provides a solid framework for finding accurate and objective information on the subject, and learning how to interpret this data.

por Junah K

Feb 23, 2019

Very interesting concept about magic in the Middle Ages, touching upon natural vs. demonic magic, heresy, mythology of witchcraft, astrology, and much more! Compact lectures (which may be a lot of first, but better to get more information than just a simple overview) that covered interesting points of the subject and inspired a different point of view of magic during that time.

por Nazire C

Mar 05, 2017

This course was great! I thoroughly enjoyed my time and the information given in this course. The videos are short, maximum of about 10 minutes, but they're packed. I learned so much of what I had never known before. The videos were well formed and outlined, without leaving the student watching and rewatching the video to understand what was being said. I wish it was longer!

por Eduardo E M V

Mar 28, 2018

Very interesting course. It give the student a panoramic view of magic and witchcraft in the middle ages specially in the geographic locations of Europe (Spain, France and Italy) and the Arabic domains. I liked very much the course because It let me interact with ancient books and documents and also it let me know about arabic alchemy and some details of arabic Spain.

por Daniel F A

Apr 22, 2017

My ignorance or Magic, middle ages, early religions, is enormous. This course was a huge eye opener. In Stephen Kings novel, 11/22/63 he often writes about things turning on a dime. My brain was just spun like a top on the dime "Magic in the Middle Ages" and I will never be the same again, in a good enlightened way. Thanks to all involved with creating this course.

por Adam J

Sep 03, 2017

This was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the fast pace of the course. The week on magic in Islam was nice to see because it introduced me to an unfamiliar aspect of the age. I particularly enjoyed the Geomancy module and found the general demonstration of the method interesting. Also, the peer graded assignments made me really consider the material in a different context.

por Heloisa A

Dec 31, 2016

This course is super interesting and amazing!! The content is deep and complete. The instructors are engaging. I honestly think is one of the best courses I ever took here. I'm only sorry that they took out some videos available in the last edition and the page external to coursera where they were posted doesn't work =/

por Reetika G

Jan 27, 2017

The course material was quite insightful giving glimpses of what magic was perceived as during the Middle Ages. I particularly liked the material on witchcraft and Astrology. I hope there will be second part to this course! Thank you all the professors and other members of the team. I enjoyed every part of it!

por Melvin R W

Jan 11, 2019

Insightful and entertaining journey into the world of magic in the Middle Ages. It corrected some misconceptions I had and offered new information on changing positions of church and gender as it relates to the material. I especially appreciated the points of view from Judaic, Christian and Islamic faiths.

por Myvanwy W

Dec 08, 2019

I really loved this course, it was really well structured and the content was fascinating. I liked that it created a well rounded picture and didn't just list a lot of facts to memorise. The instructors gave instruction about the practice of studying history and not just the history itself.

por Nicole D

Aug 30, 2016

Very accessible and insightful course. I do wish that suggested prompts were created for the forums, that's my only "complaint." I found the videos rich with historical context and the list of resources to be very valuable. I have already recommended the course to my friends.

por Hagai

Nov 29, 2016

I really liked the course.

It was very interesting and the two instructors conveyed the information in an interesting way, highlighting the important topics/keywords/people..

It showed another aspect of the middle ages that I was not aware off.

Hagai Pettel