Chevron Left
Volver a Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners por parte de Universidad de Shanghái Jiao Tong

4.8
estrellas
745 calificaciones
146 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for beginners is a beginner's course of Mandarin Chinese. It uses lectures, short plays, interactive exercises and cultural tips to help learners build a fundamental capability of oral Chinese in real-life situations. At the end of the 5-week course, the learners will reach the following proficiency: ♦ 150 words ♦ 20 language points ♦ handling 5 real-life situations This is a beginners' course, therefore no prerequisite is required....

Principales revisiones

NA

Apr 23, 2020

So I learned more things from here. Not only about the Chinese language but I really like Chinese culture and food too. This course is useful for everyone. Thank you so much.\n\nMr.Navin ARUNRAT

RA

May 15, 2020

I was auditing the course. I finished every assignment I was allowed. The course says overdue. It is apparently a bug since there is nothing to complete.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 141 revisiones para Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

por Patricia F

Apr 03, 2019

Only because my money was invested in this course i stayed.

Introductory indeed, thanks to this course I knew where to start with my Chinese Language acquisition. The sentences given can be used in the real world. But there was a lot to be desired.....

I don't live in a place where I can get much practice face to face and so feel that there should have been more in depth lessons to help what I was learning to stick.

For example, more cultural backgrounds, how one word or phrase could differ in different places, a number of realistic conversations in regular speed not just one scenario using students of the language like myself (I would've been more accepting if the demonstrators weren't so unnatural). There was a lot of things that detracted from the videos.

At times the accent of the instructors from the lesson videos took away from the message, though i wasn't distracted, I wasn't totally present either It took much effort to stay focused. Delivery is important for such a complicated subject.

The App was convenient, I could download the video lessons, and do some of the tests then have them submitted when I had internet access again. But there were some bugs, especially on the new vocabulary page.

The PDF lesson sheets had valuable information in them, I just wish there was a way to have been tested more on those. It was like pouring information into my lap and asking me to learn, and correct myself. I've learned that can hurt language acquisition.

Lastly, the community in my opinion is almost purposeless. I've seen comments sit unanswered and conversations unexplored for months on end. This would have been no big deal if my grade didn't depend on another persons involvement in the course. The final Peer Review was a pain to wait through. One can submit their assignment in 10 minutes but must wait a month for it to be graded by another. I've noted too (because I did it myself) When someone finally does check the assignment they are not obligated to give marks based on criteria. I could just give full marks without checking with no consequence. When I did pay attention to what I was listening to, I heard many mistakes in pronunciation and grammar but could still give full marks because that wasn't the criteria for the assignment. Whats worse is that I'm not aware of other mistakes a native speaker could pick up, and yet...I could still give ...full marks. That needs to be corrected or removed entirely.

Sadly this review is filled with criticism, but only because I believe it has the potential to be better.

por Harsh V B

Sep 01, 2019

I'm really satisfied with the course. It helps you learn all the basic chinese words you need to make short conversatiosn with people.

por Stephen P

Dec 13, 2018

It's a little frustrating that I need a VPN (because I live in China) for this MOOC. However this course is nicely balanced and timed. I feel i am picking things up. You can download so you can get home/offline practice and the pace is nice and steady (not too fast).

por ANIK C

Apr 16, 2020

It is always a difficult task to learn a new language from scratch but the teachers and their teaching methods were so cool that I learned very easily from them i loved the course as it would also be a new feather in my resume and enable me to find a better job

por Jamie B

Aug 04, 2017

I've used several resources to try to learn Chinese on my own. This course is incredibly well structured, the audio-video content is clear, and I appreciate the ability to get feedback. I look forward to the other courses in this series.

por Navin A

Apr 23, 2020

So I learned more things from here. Not only about the Chinese language but I really like Chinese culture and food too. This course is useful for everyone. Thank you so much.

Mr.Navin ARUNRAT

por Manuel E

Nov 09, 2017

This a great course to learn Chinese for real-life purposes. The pace is perfect for adult learners. It's also fun and not stressful at all.

por Beyers F D W S

May 24, 2018

Excellent! If anyone can teach a 68-year-old "geyser" Mandarin, they deserve 5 stars. Will be going on to next course!

por Pijitra T

Apr 26, 2020

I have been learn this course when I am on quarantine days at my home. I set my mind to study for 2 days because I think Chinese language is very important for everyone who need to work or study. This course is the first step that fun and a lot of knowledge ;moreover, I can adapted conversation to talk with my friends or family. That's wonderful everyone need to study like my course and sure I advised them to study. Of course the next station is second one that I won't miss. See you next chapter guy.

por Shivam K

Sep 15, 2017

Course was good. Instructor was dedicated and professional. She kept me engaged throughout the course and never let me feel bored. Course content was sufficient and well organised too. My overall experience was fantastic and it delivered everything, I had expected from this course. I look forward to take other leading courses on Chinese too.

Additionally a little focus on the Chinese Script would have a cherry on the cake.

Thank you

Shivam Kumar

por Nina B

Oct 21, 2019

I really enjoyed the course! It was easy to follow the instructions and fun to learn. I liked the structure and selection of vocabulary. At the end of the topic, there is a video about cultural differences that I found were important to know. Language knowledge is nothing without understanding the culture. I found all the handouts from the book useful and I will recommend this course to others.

por Lily H

Mar 04, 2017

Excellent course! It helps me learn a lot in a best way. The topics including greeting, asking time, shopping, family and ordering food are quiet basic and useful. The causes are well-paced and i like the way the teacher speaks Chinese. The practice and quizzes help me keep track of what i have learned. I will recommend this course to anyone who wants to start to learn Chinese!

por Pedro J R

Aug 27, 2019

Es una excelente forma de aprender desde cero el mandarín. El curso permite entrenar habilidades básicas como el escuchar, pronunciar con entonación y hasta escribir! Recomiendo el curso a aquellas personas que no han tenido un acercamiento anterior al idioma y a la cultura de China. PD: Los tips culturales son una sección muy enriquecedora del curso.

por Iann A

Feb 18, 2017

This course is very useful for people who just started to learn Chinese. This course is very good. I have learnt much in a best way. The topics are useful and the vocabulary and grammar that we learn are at HSK 1 level. The quizzes are short and the deadlines motivate you and help you keep track. Thanks to Coursera for providing this course.

por sanjay d

Dec 19, 2017

For me this has been an excellent program. One may add that since Chinese is a tonal language and English language as practiced today, does not have ways and means to capture nuances of the Chinese language, it takes some time and effort to get understanding of it. I would like to complete the next stages of the course.

por Eric M E

May 20, 2020

Great course! Recommend to take the entire specialization. Very helpful, especially if you study all the characters and try to learn how to read/write as well as speak it. I've added a Mandarin keyboard to my phone and computer and keep practicing whenever possible! Loved the course.

por blondie

Jan 07, 2020

Fantastic to gain a quick introduction to basic Chinese. It does not focus on grammar but the vocabulary introduced is highly useful! The ability to practice speaking sentences and vocab and phonetics segments are really handy to build a foundation in Chinese pronounciation.

por Andrew H

Feb 18, 2017

Thanks a lot to this course of great practicality. Lessons are quite clear and easily-understood. Practice and quiz with each lesson are really good for reviewing. I have acquired some daily and useful expressions through 3-week study.

por Margaret

Feb 05, 2018

This course is very helpful. You have given us some of the most important phrases that we might use in everyday basis. I really recommend this course for anybody that's interested in Chinese and eventually become fluent in Chinese.

por Garima R P

Sep 21, 2019

This is a very useful course for people who wish to learn the basics of Mandarin Chinese language and hope to / will be visiting China someday and are thus seeking to gather some rudimentary skills for managing themselves there.

por Jason S C

Mar 26, 2017

In talking to a friend about learning Chinese, I surprised myself with how much information I've retained from this course. The teaching curriculum is fun and evidently effective. I highly recommend this course.

por Tanveer A S

Jun 19, 2018

It was a great opportunity for beginners to learn about the basic mandarin Chinese. By taking this course now I am able to speak about myself, my family and daily life conversation.Thanks for making this course.

por Stanley M

Mar 04, 2017

This course is very elementary and provides you with all you need to start learning Chinese. The material is very well structured. My pronunciation has improved a lot. Thank you for such an amazing course!

por César A A

Jun 05, 2017

This course is very effectively designed to instruct beginners on the basic vocabulary, grammar and oral comprehension of Chinese language in context. I highly enjoyed it.

por Susan S

Feb 03, 2017

this course is very good and beneficial for my Chinese learning. the professor is very kind and I learn a lot of sentences which will be practical in my daily life.