Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Programming with MATLAB por parte de Universidad Vanderbilt

4.8
estrellas
16,199 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Principales reseñas

IK

19 de dic. de 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

KB

23 de jun. de 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 4,206 revisiones para Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

por Chris V

22 de dic. de 2020

This course was just excellent! I learnt not only programming in MATLAB, but solving problems also. Definitely one of the best courses Coursera could have. The instructor is an amazing person with a lot of experience and skills and he encourages people not to give up. His way of explaining things is unique. One of the best teachers I had in my life for sure! I feel very pride for my self for completing this course cause it's not easy. I can assure you that anyone who complete this course knows for sure how to programming in MATLAB. Thank you for all istructor Mike Fitzpatrick! You're a unique person and an excellent teacher! Special thanks to Vanderbilt University for making these course!

por Irfan Y

5 de may. de 2021

I must say the professor's explanation is great. Although you feel that every assessment from midway through the course is impossible. But trust me, give it some it, some thought, you are going to make it. The teaching staff is also excellent. I got my answers very rapid. They are very helpful. Week 7,8 and 9 is long, which compensated because from week 1 to week 6 will be a smooth flow. A suggestion would be to constantly seek for help in the discussion forum and also see if you have the same problem that anyone else faced earlier and the staff answered it. This method makes the whole process a lot faster. THANKS to VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY and COURSERA!

Until next time, Adios everyone!

por Sunil K G

8 de jun. de 2019

This in the best course on MATLAB Programming for beginners. The beauty of this course is the well framed Structure of the Course modules. Learner keeps on grasping things that are required in a systematic manner.Assignments given to the Learner are quite satisfying and important in terms of Main Tutor Prof.Fitzpatrick is quite energetic and motivating. Would like to see one more course on SIMULINK & Stateflow by the same Professors if its possible. Finally, I would sincerely like to thank Coursera, Coursera Community and last but not the least Profs. Mike Fitzpatrick & Akos Ledeczi for the excellent course which is benefiting Students and academicians all around world.

por 108-SANGALE S S

30 de jun. de 2020

Greetings!!!

I'm a student of mechanical engineering and I'm well aware of importance of computers and computer programming in all fields of engineering - especially MECH. ENGG.

Computer programming was always a topic which would grab my attention towards it anytime. But I used to look at it as very complicated and must be requiring higher prerequisites. But when I started this course all my confusions and doubts were cleared.

I know this was just a small figment of computer programming, but with this course a door has been opened to complete new world with lots of fun and interesting things to learn.

Thank you all my dear teachers for making my learning EASY and FUN!

por Shraddha

30 de dic. de 2019

This course is really good. This course came handy for me for my post-graduation project. Because of this course now I can see or think through various aspects of the problem cause the solution is just lying there. Though I left this course in between cause I stuck on an assignment problem however I completed this course at last. Discussion forums are really helpful. Questions asked are quality questions. The answers or hints provided by staff are very well informed. They change your view of the problem. I really want to say Thank you to Mr. Mike Fitzpatrick, Akos Ledeczi, Brandon Armstrong (Teaching Staff) and the coursera team for this awesome course.

por Radkhan S

17 de ago. de 2018

I really liked the course. It really forced me to use a lot of logical thinking in some cases. But, from one hand, this probably was one minor drawback of this course. I understand that it was mostly related to basics, but probably you can add more problems to Files IO in the future or cell and struct as well. Otherwise, sometimes I got a feeling that I was solving similar questions that were getting a bit harder from week to week. Nevertheless, great job! Thank you very much. I really liked that you are keeping forums from previous sessions, so you could gain a lot of different information that could actually help to solve question.

por Filipp Z

30 de abr. de 2019

When I started this course, I literally had no idea about neither programming nor basic programming concepts. But after completing it, now I feel confident that I can develop my own programs for transport modeling. It was a tough course but totally worth it. The coolest thing about it is that you can take it without having prior programming knowledge, but at the end of it, you will be able to do whatever you want to do.

A BIG thank you to Vanderbilt University and to professors who run this course. They are people who know how to teach and how to transfer knowledge to others!!!

Best regards,

Filipp Zarov, Msc Student, KTH, Stockholm

por Guo F

6 de dic. de 2020

This is truly a great introductory course to programming, and note, not only in Matlab. I can feel that the course is created with ❤️ from Vanderbilt. Lectures are very comprehensive, and the textbook is very readable. You can get proper help from Brandon if you get stuck. Although for more experienced learners, getting the hang of Matlab basics is quite easy, the programming assignments are well chosen and would give learners some good practice (and insights). I've learnt several other languages before, so I get this done quite quick, but I still find it fascinating that the whole language(functions, operator) is matrix -based.

por Nanevie K E O A

6 de abr. de 2022

On the form, this course is simply brilliant. The pedagogy and enthusiasm with which Dr. Mike Fitzpatrick delivered this course make it one of the best courses I have taken on this platform. At no time did I get bored or have the impression of making a great mental effort, it seemed to me more like a hot one worthy of the best onemanshow. The content helped me to understand and acquire notions in scientific computing. It also helped me to have enough self-confidence to take other courses related to engineering and computational sciences such as courses in machine learning, numerical analysis and computational neuroscience.

por samson r

24 de jul. de 2020

To be honest this is one of the best courses available for Matlab. The content that was put together for this course was great and the assignments were the best part of the course and last but not least the instructors were great and Mike made the course really interesting with jokes in between the video lectures which didn't make the long video lectures boring and the mentors and forums were really helpful in clearing any doubts which I had. Also loved the little intro before each video lecture. Overall just loved the course and would really like it if there was advanced programming with Matlab from Vanderbilt University.

por faracarina

11 de dic. de 2019

I love it because currently I am in a lab(on my fourth year of degree) and coming from a background with no basic programming skills, this course have helped me a lot to try to program and also learn about matlab more. I honestly can't say how much I appreciate this course for existing to help those people like me. Honestly, trust me, all those readings and searching on websites are not as helpful as this course. I wish I have all the money to learn everything I am interested to learn on cousera... kudos to all the professors that invested their time and knowledge to help create something so beneficial like this..Love it!

por Hoashalarajh R

11 de abr. de 2022

I came to this course as a beginner in MATLAB and I have gained a sound knowledge in not only MATLAB programming but also in critical thinkig, problem solving and algorithmic thinking. The course was very niceand easy to start but as it progressed I was able to gain much more challenging programming problems specially from week 8 and week 9. Eventhough they were cahllenging, after I solved them; they were rewarding as well. Learnt a lot from course and through solving prolems. The instructor explains every programming techniques with patience and at the same time they were also crystal clear. Thanks to Coursera.

por Jeyson R

20 de sep. de 2019

This is a remarkably useful and interesting course. Its usefulness becomes more noticeable as you progress through the course and you can use what you have learned to solve problems the way you can think of, and realize that in real life there are problems for which, when creating a series of steps, (the one that suits you or that you like the most), after reasoning a bit, and by executing them, you can give them a solution.

Apart from this, the assignments are quite entertaining and challenging.

Finally, the teacher's ability to explain, in addition to his patience and humor, attests to his experience teaching.

por Vasilis X

17 de dic. de 2020

An excellent introductory course from an insiring teacher. I took the course for 2nd time. My first was back in 2014. I decided to watch it again, prior as a refreshing in my knowledge for matlab use, because I plan to take the full specialization that Vanderbild offers. I enjoyed, again all the lectures and I recomment this course to anyone who wants to learn the fundamentals in computer programming and to use of Matlab programming language. Finaly I want to thank the instructors of this course for the high quality presentation of the subject as for the ever going effort towards the evolution of the course.

por Arthur

1 de mar. de 2020

Amazing course! Mike Fitzpatrick explains very well all the concepts covered in the videos and manages to make most of the material interesting. The overall structure of the course is well organized and makes sense.

I gave 5 stars but hesitated to give only 4 because I find the assignments (especially at the end) too difficult. It takes ages to complete them, which is a problem for those who don't 70h to spend on this course. In addition, we don't have explanations and solutions for all assignments after completing them.

Despite those issues, I really loved this course. Thank you Mike, Akos Ledeczi and team!

por Megha M

14 de mar. de 2017

I am from biology background and used to have least interest in programming. But the Course is very good. The best instructors ever I can have. They started from scratch so that even a new one can understand. Gradually I got good hands in programming at least in MATLAB.

The best part is the assignment. Brain storming assignments which were very helpful to learn the language. Also the mentors and instructors were great who were quick in responses to our queries. All that was very helpful. Thank you so much. I would appreciate if you can make such a great course with python also.

Thank you.

Regards

Megha Malhotra

por Andres O S S

26 de may. de 2020

Excellent course to learn programming. I do think it is necessary to make the problem statement more clear. especially the last problems are really hard to understand what they are asking. I would suggest adding some examples of what expected output one should get. That way the students can have a better idea of what they need to do to solve te problem. That will also save you guys having to answer too many emails about similar questions. Nonetheless, I am very happy i took this programming course. I now feel confident enough to challenge myself further in MatLab. Thanks for the pleasant experience

por Ekaterina S

5 de abr. de 2020

Amazing course! This was my first programming experience and both Mr. Mike and Mr. Brandon are extraordinary teachers! Lectures are great and the material is explained thoroughly, easily understandable, and with awesome jokes! The assignments are exciting because they are well applicable in real life and unveil the mystery behind some computer processes we often take for granted. This especially refers to the final tests: was so much fun to make my brain crush while doing them! I am so grateful to the Vanderbilt University for sharing so talented professors and such a wonderful course with public!

por Siddhesh S B

30 de may. de 2020

MATLAB is a very important software and computational tool for engineering students like myself. This course gave a great overview of all the basic yet crucial aspects of the language and MATLAB environment. The assignments were challenging yet not so difficult that they were discouraging. The instructor is also very engaging and has a unique content delivery style. I have certainly become a more proficient MATLAB programmer after taking this course and I urge all those who are interested in computation work or even those who want to learn the basics of programming to start off with this course!

por Yash J

27 de may. de 2020

A great course, offered by very good teaching faculty ( humourous too I might add) with easy understanding of MATLAB.

It helped me a lot in also enhancing my critical thinking ability in last few assignments. Especially the second the last was very tough for me. But all in all it taught good problem solving skills and and will help in analysing many real world problems of physics. Now it's just a start but I plan on further enhance my knowledge using the textbook and other sources too.

Great initiative and work by Coursera, the professor and forum team. Kudos to you guys. And a final Thank you

por Haoyang Z

24 de jul. de 2019

The instructor explained the core concepts in MATLAB very clearly, with delightful anecdotes and encouragements embedded throughout the course. As an intro course, the course contents and practice problems are rather simple, but they lead the way to more advanced problems and applications.

One suggestion is that it would be even better to learn some more functions, especially ones that operate on matrices so that loops can be avoided or simplified. Many such functions are included in answers to specific problems, but still it would be nice to listen to the explanations from the instructor.

por Mazen T

8 de ene. de 2018

Wonderful Course, I enjoyed the lectures tremendously. The homework problems were very useful and challenging and some of them took hours to program. The gratification of getting “Your solution is correct.” on the screen after working for hours is just immense. It is clear to me that a lot of time and effort have been invested in this course over the years. The course is a very valuable resource on programming and MATLAB. Now that I am done, I will miss the lectures: from the introductory music to the closing credits. But, most of all, I will miss the lecturer himself, a true teacher.

por Andrew H N

25 de dic. de 2020

Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University was an excellent course! I would like to thank the Lead Instructor, Mike Fitzpatrick, Curriculum Designer, Akos Ledeczi, and Grading Technologist Robert Tairas for teaching me and thousands of others how to use Matlab through this Coursera course. I completed both the 2015 and 2020 versions of this course, and they were well worth the modest time and effort needed to accomplish them. Completing this MATLAB course is certain to open up many opportunities to its graduates going forward. Thanks Coursera!

Best regards, AN

por Harshit K G

19 de jun. de 2020

This is an intro-level, beginner-friendly and an amazing course on Introduction to Programming with MATLAB. With this course, I have learned a lot on MATLAB as a programming language. Though it does not cover the entire MATLAB (only covers upto functions and file-handling), but whatever is covered has been taken in depth. This is certainly the best course to get started with MATLAB according to me.

I am totally amazed with the course, and the way this course has been delivered, though virtually! Getting a free 9-weeks subscription to MATLAB programming adds more value to the course.

por Jesús R M C

29 de jul. de 2020

A year ago I hated programming MATLAB, I struggled a lot with my first semester programming classes, my grades of the first semester of university in programming class was 85; then I got this course, now I am first in my class, I got an 98 final grade of my second semester programming class, I really enjoy programming, this course helped me with my confidence, my grades, my knowledge, now I am helping my classroom friends with MATLAB and I am really grateful for the opportunity to accomplish this great course, Mike Fitzpatrick is just one of the greatest programming teachers!