Chevron Left
Volver a Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Matrix Algebra for Engineers por parte de Universidad Científica y Tecnológica de Hong Kong

4.8
estrellas
2,059 calificaciones
564 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. The mathematics in this course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students should take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but students are expected to have attained a sufficient level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. The course contains 38 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve after each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of four weeks in the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Lecture notes can be downloaded from http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf...

Principales reseñas

RH
6 de nov. de 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

DL
30 de abr. de 2020

Very in-depth class for matrix algebra. I am a biochemistry student and have learned this in the past but re-taking this online course again has revamped my learning for linear algebra.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 558 revisiones para Matrix Algebra for Engineers

por Joel M

13 de jun. de 2019

Jeff Chasnov teaches matrix algebra in a way that avoids almost all abstraction. He simplifies things, and presents tangible examples. This is a great preparation course for studying systems of linear differential equations as well.

por Christos G

3 de mar. de 2019

Chasnov is outstanding! You will love the course but above all you will adore the way Chasnov marches on through the course and you are acquiring knowledge... He is a real instructor!

por David S

1 de feb. de 2020

I'll give course five stars because it really does offer excellent value, a competent personal and well-organized professor, and a manual of lecture notes and exercises. At the same I think prospective students need to be aware of the amount of content covered and previous knowledge required. As I understand it, this Coursera offering covers half a semester of a second year university course. In other words it covers in one month what students cover in about two and a half months. And in the universiry syllabus, this course has math prerequisites. So while basic concepts are introduced, they are done so in a way that I found to imply previous familiarity. And once a concept is introduced, the material assumes students understand and can manipulate it. Whoosh! This course moves quickly.

The prof is personable and lectures in an engaging manner. Lectures are well set out. It was great that he facilitates screen capture at the end of each lecture.

The text and exercises are sparse but adequate. It is great to have both in pdf form included with the course. This comment is not to complain, but to encourage a little more filling out of details in the lectures and worked examples of the problem sets.

In conclusion if you have completed senior high or secondary school math and are willing to put in the effort, or want a concise review of matrix algebra, this is a worthwhile course.

por 胡齐琦

15 de jul. de 2019

The presentations of the lecturer are very clear with support of those simple but vivid examples. I do get a better understanding of linear algebra. This course is kind of short, only the core ideas are introduced. Many questiona of mine is unsolved especially the whys behind the matrices. I will continue to learn to a better grasp of the matrices.

por Dennis L

1 de may. de 2020

Very in-depth class for matrix algebra. I am a biochemistry student and have learned this in the past but re-taking this online course again has revamped my learning for linear algebra.

por Robert H

7 de nov. de 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

por Rongfa Z

5 de oct. de 2019

The professor’s dedication and explanation of the problem are great. This course is a basic course for advanced mathematics for engineers and is a good introduction to linear algebra.

por Swati A

6 de abr. de 2019

Very informative and well organized. The faculty is very responsive when it comes to queries. This is the second course that I have taken by this faculty. Looking forward to more!

por Kenza G

23 de jun. de 2019

Jeffrey R. Chasnov, is a very good teacher. He teaches very clearly, enthusiastically and answer efficiently to the questions. We approach fundamental concepts, step by step, in a way to have a big picture in the end. The exercises help to better understand and assimilate the lectures. Thank you!

I strongly recommend this course to people who have, at least, a high school level in mathematics and want to get a full introduction in Matrix Algebra.

por Gaurav V

5 de jun. de 2019

One of the finest and well-structured course I have ever taken on Matrix Algebra. Professors Chasnov's way of teaching will certainly make you fall in love with matrices. The course starts from scratch and then cover some advanced topics in linear algebra also. One of the most exciting thing about this course is it has the answer to all the question except the grades quizzes to understand your learning of the subject.

por James B

5 de jun. de 2019

Professor Jeffrey Chasnov patiently demonstrates and explains many sorts of common matrix operations. The practice problems are quite useful. I enjoyed the course and look forward to going through his next course, Differential Equations for Engineers.

por Jeffrey A B

29 de may. de 2019

Excellent course! Lectures were succinct and illuminating. I enjoyed taking it and learned some new concepts along the way. Highly recommended. Any chance a multivariate calculus course is coming?Thanks!

por Okto T

5 de ene. de 2020

Very good and straight-forward course. Very engineering-oriented (not many proofs). I had already learnt matrix algebra before so this was a good way to recall my previous knowledge.

por MAYANK K

5 de nov. de 2020

This is very useful to the school and engineering college students. Jeffrey’s explanation is very good. Easily understandable to learners.

I am engineering graduate but I got some additional knowledge of null space range space Lu decomposition methods.

This course covers all about matrices, and briefly covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. Professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) described the Gaussian elimination algorithm used to solve systems of linear equations and the corresponding LU decomposition of a matrix. He explained concept of vector spaces very well.

Ultimately Excellent course, thank you so much! This is fantastic fact that the videos were backed by a comprehensive set lecture notes with problems and solutions, including proofs. This made consuming the concepts much easier and this is the butter of this course. Jeff Thank you!

Special thanks for: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf

por IBE, E J (

23 de mar. de 2020

Matrix Algebra for Engineers is fun it is accessible and easy. Flexible environment because studying online gives you more flexibility and less stress. The online class is more fun because you can work anytime you want and unlimited takes of the quizzes and practice exams

Matrix Algebra for Engineers is fun it is accessible and easy. Flexible environment because studying online gives you more flexibility and less stress. The online class is more fun because you can work anytime you want and unlimited takes of the quizzes and practice exams

Matrix Algebra for Engineers is fun it is accessible and easy. Flexible environment because studying online gives you more flexibility and less stress. The online class is more fun because you can work anytime you want and unlimited takes of the quizzes and practice exams

por Sher M

2 de jul. de 2020

i enjoyed a lot with this course as wrll as with sir jaff chasnou.i m really impressed of this course and course teacher.the course were easy and applicative in the field of mathematics and engineering.assignments were from the course learned and were comfortable if you took part with spirit in thus course.i am thankful to coursera and sir jaff chasnou who provided me opportunity to take this course on financial aid.really appreciable work by subject teacher.the quality of video was the best with no sound issue.i am really surprised to get such a valued course in very short time.i consider this degree as the best degree of my life.From coursera especially sir jaff chasnou i have known that the mathematics is just fun and like game,it s enjoyable.

por Косюк О М

10 de may. de 2020

It's very strong, detailed and well-prepaired course. Despite that I had been learning the matrix algebra for near 7 months, when I had started this course, I've learned some new useful things, which my univercity program(I'm a computer science student) doesn't contain. All new topics were explained very simple and understandable by professor Chasnov and have been speaking English very clearly so I think you will understand him even if you dont have Intermidiate level. Its also very good that you will be able to check if your training exersises' answers are valid because the course contains a PDF file with all answers and explanations. I'm very greatful to prof. Chasnov for that course.

por Justin L

1 de mar. de 2020

The lecturer was very good, and the material covered was quite broad, covering a lot of the main aspects found in typical Linear Algebra textbooks. I learned a lot, but much of it was revision for me. I might suggest that this course is excellent for those wishing to revise or "brush up" on their Linear Algebra skills, or those students wanting to be exposed quickly to much of Linear Algebra, particularly as it relates to practical applications in engineering. However, I do feel that this course on its own is not enough to become proficient at Linear Algebra, but it certainly helps you become familiar with the essence of it.

por John R

1 de abr. de 2019

The course was very well presented in three ways. The first, the educator was very clear and the presentation technique through the use of a window board was excellent. The educator's hands on approach through exposition and examples is to be commended. The second the material is presented in a fashion that was not simple but not too hard to grasp given effort. The reinforcement through the use of quizzes, with solved examples, and examination though the use of tests, without solved examples, works.The Third, the excellent text accompanying the course is first class.

This is a high quality course.

por Jasmin

2 de may. de 2020

it's high quality course which can really help me to pick up keys to unlock Matrix's questions. It's so well organised and clear that I can handle the essential Matrix Algebra for sure, though all lectures are very short. The Panic of Matrix's QUESTIONS has disappeared by this course, I feel I'm really relaxed to solve Matrix questions in my following entrance exam.yes, even with lots of fun. I hope i can pass the important exam next Tuesday! by the way, the written style of this professor is really pretty fresh and cool. I like this course!!!

por Mallikarjunadas C

24 de oct. de 2020

This a course that give you both the architectural as well as plumbing view of matrix algebra. While it's a hard grind to work through all the problems (and one may never do some of the calculations again as the computer would take care of it in the real world), it is beneficial. I have had several false starts in my attempts to learn linear algebra over the last couple of years. This was the first time I was able to reach the finish line. I think doing this very visceral course prepares me to tackle more abstract topics. Highly recommended!

por Katherine J B

17 de sep. de 2020

An excellent course. Very well organized and the notes were quite helpful. There was just the right amount of abstraction and he never failed to relate it to more concrete concepts. This stretched my understanding of the topic. The instructor replied promptly to my questions with useful feedback. The 'Readings' were actually more like homework problems and served to reinforce the material studied. They were straightforward and not overwhelming, as they easily could have been. I look forward to taking another course from Jeff again.

por Chris L

16 de may. de 2019

This course gives a really good overview of matrix algebra. The practice problems and quizzes follow the lectures pretty closely and allowed me to directly apply the lecture topics. I'm using this course as a starting point for further linear algebra studies, and feel that this course has prepared me and has made me even more interested in the subject. This was a very enjoyable course for me. Professor Chasnov did an excellent job and I hope to take his other courses!

por Manisha C

2 de jun. de 2020

I would like to Thanks Jeffrey Chasnov for his valuable and informative short videos. I like the course structure as well. Topics like null space, row and column space is explained in a very interesting way. I would like to coursera for this wonderful initiative during the pandemic. But why this purchase certificate is coming as it's free for learners during the worldwide pandemic. Please provide the course completion certificate. Thanks

por Pui C W

18 de mar. de 2020

This course help me to learn a lot of matrix knowledge. The matrix basic talk about some compare of matrix, inverse matric and transpose. Also, there is Gaussian elimination to solve the unknown varible in matrix. Some vector in the vector space are having connection each other. And finally, eigenvalues and eigenvectors can show me the laplace expansion caclulate the det(A), Leibniz formula caclulate and power of matrix.